We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Excellent guided tour.

We arrived early enough to take a walk around by ourselves and then saw that there was to be a... read more

Reviewed October 14, 2018
davidcZ8663HG
,
Stavanger, Norway
A must if you are in the area

Historically significant for Sweden and the entite nordic region and a beautiful castle. The... read more

Reviewed October 6, 2018
andreasj96
,
Norrkoping, Sweden
via mobile
Read all 679 reviews
  
Reviews (679)
Filter reviews
679 results
Traveler rating
364
268
40
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
364
268
40
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guided tour worth a visit swedish history few hours meatballs sunny day treasure hunt period dress kids activities young kids great visit whole family baltic sea interesting exhibition rooms sweden ramparts
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 679 reviews
Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

Expensive for the visit but the church is worth it , great to see how they used to live. Go in the summer defo

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank ciaobelladonna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tove S, Informationsansvarig at Kalmar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Hi! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, especially the church. The entrance fee includes free admission to our guided tours and entrance to all our exhibitions. Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

Took a day trip to see this very historic castle. One of the oldest in Europe. We went in a Sunday. I recommend taking the 1hr guided tour. It’s free with admission. The tour really explains the full history of the castle. We also at the cafe for lunch. Delicious! The late summer (end of June) they offer A lot of kids activities with chances to dress up in knights and princesses costumes. If you are in Sweden for an extended stay check out this castle. Also to note, the town is really cool. Save some time to walk the square.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Dustau N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tove S, Informationsansvarig at Kalmar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Kalmar Castle. Thank you for giving us nice feedback! Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2018

The castle is the go to place for all. I highly recommend to pay the fee to view the castle from inside, the permanent exhibition is a must for all who want to know about the history of Kalmar, but the temporary exhibitions and concerts are the reason to why I keep coming back (the chapel has amazing acoustics). The surrounding area is also beautiful and during a sunny day you will see both locals and tourists walking around.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank the_stewardess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tove S, Informationsansvarig at Kalmar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2018

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Kalmar Castle. Thank you for giving us nice feedback here at TripAdvisor! Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2018

I and my family (me, my wife and our two sons age 9 and 11) visited the Kalmar castle during Easter 2018. The Kalmar castle is a very charming castle that has played an important role in Swedens history, for example through the Kalmar union 1397 and in the history of Gustav Vasa in the 1520:s. The exhibition is nice and interesting. There is also activities for the children.

You can visit the castle round the year, but if you visit it in the winter period, dress warm. The castle is quite cold also indoors.

There is plenty of parking close to the castle, but it is not far to walk from the center of Kalmar either.

This is a castle well Worth a visit (also the city of Kalmar is very nice).

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Karppen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tove S, Informationsansvarig at Kalmar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Kalmar Castle. Thank you for giving us nice feedback! Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2018

Kalmar Castle is really beautiful, with a beautiful view. You can spend here a few hours, to visit the inner rooms you have to pay a fee, but you can just walk around for free. Nice place to visit!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Rebekka I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tove S, Informationsansvarig at Kalmar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2018

He Rebekka! Thank you for giving us nice feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Kalmar Castle. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews