We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but cold”
Review of Kalmar Castle

Kalmar Castle
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Kalmar
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The history of this legendary castle goes back 800 years. For a long time, Kalmar Castle was an important fortification and known as the key to the kingdom because of its strategical location. The Swedish-Danish border was located only a short distance to the south, because Scania and Blekinge were Danish territories at the time. Kalmar Castle was given its current design during the 16th century, when the Vasa kings Gustav, Erik XIV and Johan III rebuilt the medieval castle and made it into a Renaissance palace, furnished and decorated in continental fashion. Even before then the castle had played an important role in Nordic politics, for example as the location for the signing of the Kalmar Union in 1397. This event was celebrated during the whole year of 1997, the union's 600th anniversary. Kalmar Castle is a symbol for Kalmar. The castle's history features international politics, court intrigues, fiery sieges and fierce battles. Today the castle is vibrant and lively place where many people visit.
Reviewed April 12, 2018 via mobile

The castle itself is very nice. Without any fee you can walk around it atop the outer ringwall.
If you want to see the inner rooms and exhibitions you have to pay a fee (70 kr/student). Especially the king's quarters are impressive. If you visit the castle in winter or early spring you should wear a thick jacket. Most of the rooms are quite cold. We left in the middle of our visit to warm up in the sun, before we did the second half.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Bergmann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tove S, Informationsansvarig at Kalmar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Kalmar Castle. Thanks for sharing the tip about wearing the jacket indoor in winter time. We can just imagine how it must have been to sleep in the castle in the winter back then. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"guided tour"
in 18 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 14 reviews
"swedish history"
in 8 reviews
"few hours"
in 8 reviews
"meatballs"
in 3 reviews
"sunny day"
in 3 reviews
"treasure hunt"
in 3 reviews
"period dress"
in 3 reviews
"kids activities"
in 3 reviews
"young kids"
in 3 reviews
"great visit"
in 4 reviews
"whole family"
in 3 reviews
"baltic sea"
in 3 reviews
"interesting exhibition"
in 3 reviews
"rooms"
in 24 reviews
"sweden"
in 33 reviews
"ramparts"
in 12 reviews
Filter

28 - 32 of 679 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

A lovely place to visit, there is a lift/elevator if needed, but lots of level changes between rooms if mobility is an issue. Interesting displays and very helpful and friendly staff.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank ShineyFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tove S, Informationsansvarig at Kalmar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Thank you for giving us nice feedback! We are glad to hear that our staff were helpful and that you enjoyed your visit here at Kalmar Castle. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2018

The castle is on the coast. It seems to float on the surrounding water and is an arresting sight. At 800 years old it is apparently the oldest intact castle in Europe. We arrived late afternoon so there wasn't enough time to look inside. It was enough to cross on  the moat bridge to the central courtyard with painted walls and then to walk around the outside to get a sense of the bulk and height of the walls. Apparently the castle has been attacked at least four times but never conquered. 

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tove S, Informationsansvarig at Kalmar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2018

Thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Kalmar Castle. Welcome back for a guided tour inside the castle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

Great tour of this masterpiece. Loved going in all the nooks and crannies and seeing the mannequins dressed in clothing of all the periods. The attached cemetery is beautiful as well. To get a great view take a 10 minute walk to Kalmarsundparken badplats to the right of the castle (facing) through the cemetery.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank niteowljune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tove S, Informationsansvarig at Kalmar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Thank you for giving us nice feedback! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Kalmar Castle. We agree, the view of the castle i fantastic from Kalmarsundsparken. Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2017 via mobile

It was a very nice visit to this very well preserved castle. We spent two hours on the site and could have spent more time if our schedule would have allowed. Cafeteria was also nice anx they served lunch there too.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank JuhaT195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tove S, Informationsansvarig at Kalmar Castle, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2018

Hi Juha! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit at Kalmar Castle. Thank you for giving us nice feedback! Welcome back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalmar Castle also viewed

Kalmar, Kalmar County
 
Kalmar, Kalmar County
Kalmar, Kalmar County
 

Been to Kalmar Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing