We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful scenery, delicious dinner!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalmar Castle

Kalmar Castle
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Kalmar
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The history of this legendary castle goes back 800 years. For a long time, Kalmar Castle was an important fortification and known as the key to the kingdom because of its strategical location. The Swedish-Danish border was located only a short distance to the south, because Scania and Blekinge were Danish territories at the time. Kalmar Castle was given its current design during the 16th century, when the Vasa kings Gustav, Erik XIV and Johan III rebuilt the medieval castle and made it into a Renaissance palace, furnished and decorated in continental fashion. Even before then the castle had played an important role in Nordic politics, for example as the location for the signing of the Kalmar Union in 1397. This event was celebrated during the whole year of 1997, the union's 600th anniversary. Kalmar Castle is a symbol for Kalmar. The castle's history features international politics, court intrigues, fiery sieges and fierce battles. Today the castle is vibrant and lively place where many people visit.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
661 reviews
188 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery, delicious dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

The castle can be seen from all around. It is impressive. We took a tour on a Saturday afternoon, which was quite popular. They were conducting all sorts of children's activities in the courtyard and the kids were roaming around dressed up in medieval costume, as were all the staff.

We took one of their free tours, and it was a bit long for the small part of the castle we saw with him. We roamed about on our own for the rest of the afternoon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank WednesdayNightGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    176
    26
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalmar, Sweden
Level Contributor
91 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fancy old castle with good exhibition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Nice to see how a real medieval castle functioned. Exhibition and rooms to view, also activites there. Not so expensive to visit.
In evenings you can stroll outisde for free- do that.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Btorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Nice attraction to see if in area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

Nice and historic castle to visit if you are in Kalmar. Makes for a great 1-2 hour castle visit in a beautiful location.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank V3839FQJason_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
273 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, good guided tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We visited Kalmar Castle on a surprisingly busy Monday afternoon in early July - the whole area was absolutely buzzing with activity! The castle is a beautiful and imposing presence. Admission costs 120 SEK. Free parking is available on the surrounding streets. English tours are offered three times daily in the summer months. Our costumed tour guide was knowledgeable and engaging - I got the sense she was a student of history because she could answer every question in great detail. A particularly interesting part of the castle was the women's prison but what made it really come alive was the exhibition of photographs displayed therein: modern recreations of the various methods of punishment for women (nothing is overtly graphic but perhaps it is not for children!). There is a major focus on entertaining children here, with a very fun-looking jousting match on mechanical horseback - I wanted to try it myself! A good number of rooms are on display with some wonderful furnishings, tapestries and paintings. Lots of stairs! There are some reproductions of coronation garments, one of which I later saw at the Royal Palace in Stockholm and it is a very faithful reproduction. The gift shop is quite nice, and if you complete the visitor survey you receive upon arrival, you will receive some chocolate when you hand it in at the gift shop!

A bit of an aside... there is a lovely cemetery adjacent to the castle (it doesn't seem to be affiliated with the castle) but there is a good chance you will park near it. Do walk through it! I found it unique in that it is fully shaded by mature trees, something I have not seen before.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jameskul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well restored castle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Summer activities for kids, if you know Swedish language. Castle is in quite good condition, interesting exhibition about the Wars between Denmark and Sweden and the Kalmar Union.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gerth6000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalmar Castle also viewed

Kalmar, Kalmar County
Kalmar, Kalmar County
 
Kalmar, Kalmar County
Kalmar, Kalmar County
 

Been to Kalmar Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing