We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet hostel/hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Svanen Hotel & Youth Hostel
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed in a single-room in the hostel section. The room had 2 single beds and a toilet + sink. There were two shared shower rooms in the corridor (also clean).

It is located in Ängö - around 10-15 minutes walk to central Kalmar. Very quiet residential area with one pizzeria a few houses down and a small grocery store a few blocks down. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

The kitchen is shared for the entire hostel and although contains ovens, fridges and microwaves it can get quite crowded when the hostel is full. There is also a lack of proper knives for other utensils. It is fine if one is staying a few days but can be a bother if staying for longer periods (few weeks or months!).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielfernan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Svanen Hotel & Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

Just outside Kalmar, a nice clean hostel.
I would prefer to stay in a place inside the very beautiful Kalmar than in Svanen, but we had a car and the place offers a parking space just outside.
Breakfast is typical, served in a nice hall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with private bathroom, if you don't like public ones.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsiliAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank DB8216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Anne Mari N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Åsa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Pernilllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Rum 122 vandrarhemsrummet
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalmar
1.8 mi away
Scandic Kalmar West
Scandic Kalmar West
#3 of 11 in Kalmar
312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Packhuset
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalmarsund Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ProfilHotels Calmar Stadshotell
4.1 mi away
Hotel Skansen
Hotel Skansen
#1 of 1 in Farjestaden
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Frimurare Hotellet
Frimurare Hotellet
#6 of 11 in Kalmar
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Svanen Hotel & Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Svanen Hotel & Youth Hostel

Address: 1 Rappegatan, Kalmar 392 30, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Kalmar County > Kalmar
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Kalmar
Price Range: $83 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Svanen Hotel and Youthhostel in Kalmar Svanen is located in beautiful Ängö, just 10 minutes walk from Kalmars delightful city centre. We offer many different options for accommodation in various price brackets. We also offer space for meetings of various kinds, and we organise conferences. All guests have access to free parking, free wifi and a guest kitchen. We serve breakfast every day. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Svanen Hotel & Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing