We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient Location but very noisy on weekends” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frimurare Hotellet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Frimurare Hotellet
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kalmar
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient Location but very noisy on weekends”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Hotel is very conveniently located. Unfortunately, on the weekend drunken discotheque visitors are making tremendous noise and abuse the park in front of the hotel and very close to ground level rooms as bathrooms. We could not sleep until 3 in the morning. Interestingly the hotel provides free earplugs that are not very helpful however. The staff knows about the issues and said the hotel would replace the ancient windows. This would not help in summer as our room was very hot without air condition.
In essence: I rather pay more for a quiet hotel or drive. Never again in this location!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    40
    26
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
42
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This graceful old hotel still retains much charm and is in really good condition. It has lots of atmosphere and many comfortable spots to settle in for a while. Wifi is free but spotty in the rooms, almost always available in the lobby area. The only drawback is that due to it's central location, noise can be a serious issue for the light sleeper. Recommend.

Room Tip: Request as quiet a room as possible when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blacklab1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

This hotel in Kalmar was an amazing surprise. Large, old building, very nicely decorated. Wide staircases, and lovely wide hallways. Lots of nooks and crannies with comfortable, large chairs, books, tea, coffee and cakes all day. Free internet and Wifi, 3 English channels on the TV (which if you are travelling in Europe for any length of time is a really nice change from CNN only). The beds were good and the shower was above average size for Europe. Good location right across the train staion and right at the edge of town. Also a very good breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2011

The Frimurare Hotellet is literally across the street from the train station. The station is on the back side of the hotel, and the front faces an old city square - there's another up the street by the city hall and church. A sports bar across the street can be a bit noisy, so ask for a room on the back if you need quiet. You can walk to the castle if you want, and the shopping and restaurant areas are just a block away across the square. The staff was very helpful, all speaking excellent English, and willing to aid us in any way. We had arranged a rental car for a trip to the glass blowing areas and the hotel asked the rental company to bring it to us, instead of us going to it. And they did. Wow. We requested a superior room and got a lovely room decorated in Victorian antique furniture, double door entry, a very nice bath, and a view onto the park area behind the hotel, paralleling the street with the station. There is coffee available at all hours, and sunroom and outdoor patio in nice weather, and even a small library. Overall, we really enjoyed this unique hotel.

Room Tip: Quieter on the back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballerup, Denmark
Level Contributor
158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed for a weekend (Friday to Monday) and I must say that the noise from the sportsbar across the street was unbearable, especially saturday night!
Really a pity, as everything else was nice. I really liked the lounge/veranda for a coffee break and the small library on the first floor. The staff was very helpful and professional - very quick check-in and -out, and good breakfast.
I can recommend to stay if you are able to get a room away from the square.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 60yarsofage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
257 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

I loved this hotel in the middle of the square in the small town of kalmar. The location was great for walking to the old town or the cathedral square. The downside may be all the noise if you like to get to bed early and if you get a room facing the square. They give you earplugs in your room but it didn't bother us since we went to bed after the ten o'clock end of the show. There was free wi fi and a computer free in the hotel for use. The room was a decent size with a small couch and two windows that opened. There was also a fan supplied since there is no air conditioner. The breakfast was fabulous with gluten free bread, eggs, freshly squeezed juice, yogurt and fresh fruit. There were nice chairs and couched for lounging. There is also a tearoom tomcheck out, delightful for a takeaway lunch , tea or dinner. Apples at the front desk. Free music out front your door.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ackart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europe
Level Contributor
139 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2009

after we had moved out of the skansen hotel on oland only an hour after check-in (see review for reasons) we drove back to kalmar and got us a room in the frimurare hotelett in the center of kalmar.
parking between 6pm and 9 am is free in the streets.
the receptionist was very friendly and let us check the rooms ourselves. we finally ended up in a quiet room (#14) on the ground-floor, facing the green hill behind.
the room is spacious enough, furniture makes a decent impression. only thing that might get annyoing is the strange sound that is turned on anytime somebody enters or leaves the lobby of the hotel.
but the receptionist leaves at 10 pm and switches it off, so the night then is quiet.
the hotel is very centrally located at a square that on nice days might be quite busy and loud at night. some of the restaurants there serve food outside as well.
but there are rooms not facing that square.
from our point of view, provided you get a room less prone to being swept by noise, the hotel is a deal. but they let you check the rooms before you move in - friendly staff that is.

there are some restaurants around, and even one that offers mexican food - tacos, soft and hard and many more tex-mex stuff, all you can eat style (incl. free beer ;-), the place is called ITALIAN.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wolf1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalmar hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Packhuset
0.2 mi away
Hotel Slottshotellet
Hotel Slottshotellet
#6 of 12 in Kalmar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.3 mi away
ProfilHotels Calmar Stadshotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Witt
First Hotel Witt
#10 of 12 in Kalmar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.7 mi away
Scandic Kalmar West
Scandic Kalmar West
#3 of 12 in Kalmar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frimurare Hotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frimurare Hotellet

Property: Frimurare Hotellet
Address: 2 Larmtorget, Kalmar 392 32, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Kalmar County > Kalmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kalmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Frimurare Hotellet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Frimurare Hotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frimurare Hotellet Kalmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing