We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money in Kalmar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kalmar
burntwood, staffs
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Value for money in Kalmar”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I have recently spent 5 nights at this hotel in the lovely coastal resort of Kalmar.

The rooms are quite basic but well finished and my only critisisms would be that air con would be a boon as the rooms are quite warm and although you can request tea and coffee for your room it would be nice to have that facility as a standard.

The buffet breakfast was fine, but the rear dining room appears to be a bit more like a staff rest room than a guest area.

The sauna and jacuzzi were very welcome - could do with being open all day though.

We did pay for the onsite parking which was great until we return back to the hotel on Saturday night and there were no hotel spaces left and had to park in one of the other reserved bays.

Kalmar and Oland are lovely places to visit and we have driven some miles around Sweden during this trip.

I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel as it was well placed for all amenities in Kalmar and a good base for exploring.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nhat206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    92
    46
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
48
5
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Göteborg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and went sight seeing around Kalmar and Öland. The hotel is small and well maintained. There is no AC in the rooms which is not a big deal unless the sun actually remembers about Sweden. :-) The breakfast was standard, nothing ground-breaking but the food was fresh and tasty. The room we had was clean and spacious. The hotel staff had a little "laissez-faire" approach to management of their guests but that is not necessarily a bad thing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEDBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye, NY
Level Contributor
260 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The Kalmarsund Hotel is located right next to the old city walls and within an easy walking distance of all sites. Our room was a typical size for a European hotel with adequate storage space and free bottled water daily. The breakfast buffet was also comparable to what we have found at other similarly priced hotels: breads, pastries, cereals, juices and a few choices of hot foods. The staff were also quite friendly and helpful. We had a car and chose to pay the extra (about $14.) to avoid having to move the car daily.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are quite far from the elevator, so if the walk would be an issue, you might reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jj435Rye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

Decent service, wifi via the cloud thus cost money. Good breakfast buffet!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobsterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed 5 nights while visiting relatives in the area. The hotel was clean, comfortable and convenient. We had a double and a connecting single room on the second floor, facing the side street. The bed was very comfortable. There was a small refrigerator in the room, and a small flat screen TV. There was a desk with a desk chair, and another upholstered chair. The double room was adequate in size and well laid out, but the single room was much smaller. The bathroom had a large tiled walk-in shower. A dispenser by the sink and in the shower provided all purpose soap gel, and no other bar soap or shampoo was provided. There was no coffee maker in the room, but coffee was avaliable in the lobby. The included breakfast buffet had a variety of cold meats, cheeses, tomatoes, cucumber, bread, yogurt, muesli, juices, and hot scrambled eggs and bacon. The location was perfect -- easy walking to the shops and restaurants of down town, but on a quiet side street. Also walking distance from train. We thought that this location was superior to, for example, the Slottshotellet, which is on the other side of the railroad station away from the down town area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C1andG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

I had a very good and spacious room on the third floor. It felt very modern and must've been newly refurbished because it was a very nice room. The room didn't face the main street outside the hotel and was very quiet - no noise from outside the hotel.

Comfortable bed.

Neat and clean room.

The wireless network worked really well.

Breakfast included, a nice selection of cold cuts and a few hot items as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a third floor room. They have airconditioning and are also refurbished recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maxisweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed just one night while travelling through. The hotel has very nice location in a couple of old buildings in the old area of Kalmar, near the castle. We had a room in the third floor, which was kind of "atticky", in a nice way. Some stupid details in the planning, like waterboiler but no cups (or tea/coffee). The free wireless internet required a registration but worked well. Good beds, very clean. The breakfast was ok, but maybe a slight disapointment. The hotel offered parking in a underground parking lot. Very convenient, but the parking lot was one of the scariest I have ever driven in. Great location for exploring old Kalmar.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mleivo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalmar
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Packhuset
0.2 mi away
ProfilHotels Calmar Stadshotell
0.3 mi away
Hotel Slottshotellet
Hotel Slottshotellet
#6 of 12 in Kalmar
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Witt
First Hotel Witt
#10 of 12 in Kalmar
361 reviews
0.1 mi away
Frimurare Hotellet
Frimurare Hotellet
#5 of 12 in Kalmar
92 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Skansen
Hotel Skansen
#1 of 1 in Farjestaden
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell
Address: 5 Fiskaregatan, Kalmar 392 32, Sweden (Formerly Sweden Hotel)
Location: Sweden > Kalmar County > Kalmar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kalmar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell The BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell is a pleasant 4 Star hotel with a personal and friendly atmosphere. We are located in the city center, close to shopping, interesting sights and the Congress Center. For your comfort we have our oasis on the roof, a relaxing environment with hot tub and sauna. Our restaurant and bar is an appreciated meeting place for hotel guests as well as local people, who value good food and personal service. At the BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell, after a good night sleep in our comfortable bedding, you will wake up to a complimentary full breakfast buffet. The BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell is an eco-friendly, 100% non-smoking hotel and labeled with the Swedish Svanen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Kalmarsund Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kalmar
Kalmar Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing