We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty hotel in lovely location but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Slottshotellet
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalmar
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked via Kalmar tourist information and the room was described as a "junior suite" with 2 rooms. It's a lovely, pretty hotel in a fantastic location but it was just too small for us and really not worth the money we paid - £185 - the most expensive of the 3 hotels we stayed in whilst in Sweden. There was a double room squeezed up one end of the room and an open doorway (no doors) into a living area with sofa bed. A camp bed had been left there for us. By the time we put that up we could hardly move. Free dinner was chicken pasta salad, plenty of bread, tea coffee etc which was very welcome. Breakfast too was ok. Not suitable for a large family. When we checked out they tried to charge us for the extra bed. The confirmation had clearly said there was no charge for this. They agreed to take it up with tourist information.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crapihari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Slottshotellet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 171 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

Historic hotel located very close to the city center. Very quiet and peaceful surroundings though, so we got a good nights sleep. Very friendly and helpful staff that answered the questions we had about Kalmar. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in Slottshotellet Budget for 3 nights in the last week of June as a couple with our child of 11 years. It’s at a prime location about 250 m from the Kalmar castle. Beautiful Oland and the Glasriket areas of Sweden are easily accessible by car from here.

There is reserved but paid parking (75SEK/24 hr) in a private lot behind the hotel and also on the street. You could try and save money if you get street parking between 3 PM and 9 AM on week-days and all day on week-ends.

Lady at the reception was helpful, courteous and welcoming. She even made calls for us on her cell when we wanted to know certain timings for a museum at out next destination in another city and personally delivered third set of towels missing from our room. Free tea/coffee is available all the time in the beautiful lounge at the reception.

Breakfast was quite a nice buffet, though limited in number of items, with both hot and cold dishes. The evening dinner is definitely a money saver and is quite filling. It was again a limited (number of items) buffet. On the first evening, there was mushroom soup, greek salad and pasta. On the second evening there was asparagus soup, green salad, rice (paella). On the third and last evening there was asparagus soup, cabbage salad, boiled potatoes, rice (paella).

The budget rooms are in a 2 storied building across the street while the expensive ones are in the main hotel. There is no lift but a small flight of stairs. Our budget room was basic but very clean and quite spacious. We had a view of the garden behind the building. Main entrances to the building are always locked and you get the key along with the one for your room. We did keep the window open for fresh air but were disturbed by a group who had taken up some chairs in the garden just outside our window, so had to shut it to prevent the noise. The room had two single and one folding bed, had parquet flooring, a writing desk with chair, a 1+1 seater sofa set, small TV set, an additional stool and a hair dryer. Wifi signal was ok in the room. There wasn’t any room telephone, no coffee-maker, no iron for pressing clothes, no minibar, no wardrobe (just space with hangars) and no air-conditioning (luckily it was quite cool during our visit).

Washroom/ toilet was big but without toiletries (there was a soap dispenser). Tea-coffee is always available at the reception along with some cookies.
The room price was probably the most reasonable of all the towns we stayed in Sweden.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunkool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

A lovely historic hotel that includes a great Swedish breakfast. Our room looked over the beautiful gardens and is across the street from the Kalmar Slot, the castle
It has a lovely courtyard and you can set out there and have a glass of wine. There is the main hotel and then some other buildings. We stayed in another building and our room was lovely. The flowers and landscaping is beautiful. It is very close to the train station. You can walk right over. You can walk around the old town area and admire all the lovely gradens. We found a beautiful garden nearby with a lunch room and areas to set down and just enjoy. This is such a wonderful, relaxing and beautiful ares.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KJHLawton_OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The hotel is well placed for the castle, a lovely park, the station, and walking access to the old city. The rooms vary in size and the one we had upstairs in the separate building was roomy, with a sofa (other people in our group had much smaller rooms). We were in Kalmar for 9 days in early summer when it gets light at 4.00am so some dark opaque curtains would have been better than the yellow ones (waking that early is a bit of a shock). Breakfasts were quite good for the level of the hotel with a range of cereals, yoghurts, bread, cheeses, jams and eggs. The free evening meal is a nice idea. The menu reminded me of my student camp days: basic limited choice of acceptable dishes. Staff were generally reserved at first but responded well to cheerful approaches.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRL622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding together with my fiancee.

Staff wasn't very helpful upon checking in. We needed early access to a room, which I had called and alerted beforehand. However they wouldn't go out of their way to help accomodate us early. Fortunately one room was available so we could change for the wedding.

Our room was small and worn. Pink floor and tiles in the bathroom. However really nice surroundings in the neighbourhood.

The rooms are not soundproof at all. I woke up numerous times from staff/people walking around in the hallways. Every time they opened a door it sounded as if it was inside our room. Had a really bad night's sleep, even though the bed was comfy.

Breakfast was a joke with everything running out an hour before breakfast end, and no staff wanting to refill it unless we asked them.

I wouldn't stay here again, there are better hotels for the same price in the city.

Room Tip: Stay out of room 32.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed in budget part of the hotel for the weekend. The service (reception and kitchen staff) were friendly. Breakfast ok. However, "budget" doesn't mean that a guest should expect a dirty room. Lists dusty. Lampshades had clearly not been dusted in weeks. Bathroom very clean upon arrival though. Kitchenette in room was functional but not all dishes and pots were clean.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kfair82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalmar hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Packhuset
0.5 mi away
ProfilHotels Calmar Stadshotell
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalmarsund Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scandic Kalmar West
Scandic Kalmar West
#3 of 11 in Kalmar
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
First Hotel Witt
First Hotel Witt
#9 of 11 in Kalmar
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Frimurare Hotellet
Frimurare Hotellet
#6 of 11 in Kalmar
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slottshotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slottshotellet

Address: 7 Slottsvaegen | Slottsv 7, Kalmar 392 33, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Kalmar County > Kalmar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalmar
Price Range: $110 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Slottshotellet 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Slottshotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slottshotellet Hotel Kalmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing