We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good enough (and great location)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Slottshotellet
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalmar
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Note that this is a review of Slottshotellet's Annex, which is their budget accommodation.

The room as such was large enough for us (two adults, one child) and the beds were good enough. And "good enough" could be used as an over all label for the general experience of the Annex.

What then should they do to get a Very Good (4) for the money paid?

Well, in no particular order they need more than three clothes-hangers in a three-person room; somewhere to place the toiletry kit except on the bathroom floor; and perhaps somewhere to place clothes when showering. A bedside table or two would come in handy, too, instead of having to have reading material, phone/alarm clock or glass down on the floor, and a guest folder detailing local restaurants that still exist wouldn't come amiss either.
And I've stayed at cheaper hotels that still offer a small fridge - it doesn't need to be a minibar facility.

Also I might be a perfectionist but I expect signs of previous guests being removed from a hotel room, such as the old fries found under an armchair.

The breakfast is decent and the staff is service minded - this helps the general impression and is a marked improvement from my previous stay.

In evenings a light dinner is served, courtesy of the hotel. Husband, who all in all thinks higher of this hotel than I do, have stayed here while travelling alone and according to him this dinner is decent enough if you're just after food. This would come in nice if your stay is due to work.

The location is great, close to both town, railway station and bus station, and practically IN the castle park/city park, and across the street from the art museum. We have never experienced problems with parking.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Busifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Slottshotellet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 171 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

The Slottshotellet is just a five minute's walk from Kalmar Slott.
We did not book a room in the Slottshotellet, but in the Budget Accommodation just across the street.
Our room was not very large, but had a little balcony with a nice view into the park just behind the building.
Only the bed was a little bit deceiving because is was at the wall, so that one person in the dubble bed did not have a sweet or any space to walk around the bed.
The breakfast was good and what we did not knew in advance: the dinner was also included.
As dinner, they serve every evening another meal with different trimmings and salads.
The meal was quite delicious and some soft drinks were also included. You could buy beer or other alcoholic drinks for a normal Swedish price.
The reception is engaged at all time and the staff is very friendly.

-> Good hotel with a central location.

Room Tip: If you just stay for one night and arrive in the afternoon and plan to leave before 9 am the next mo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karithana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent one night at this beautiful place at the same time as the Kalmar Ironman so the place was full. The central location (close to the city centre and the castle is just a 5 min walk away) could not get any better and it is still quiet to boot.

Rooms are clean and comfortable but a little small. A good dinner meal was included with the room, which we had on a cozy outdoor terrace, and all-in-all this hotel is very good value for money. Though, If you are staying more than one night, parking might be a bit of a nuisance if the hotel parking lot is full, as the surrounding streets only offer time-limited parking (no fee but only 2 or 3 hours parking within working hours).

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGNCph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at Slottshotellet in september. I was given a single room, which was quite small. A really small bathroom, whith shower. Very clean though. Breakfast is between 7:00-10:00 which is really late if you´re of to work before 7:30

Service was only ok, and sometimes a bit grumpy. THe location is really nice, just across the art museum and castle. And very close to the bus and train station.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saltyfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Slottshotellet has a great location on a lovely tree-lined street across from a park in Kalmar Old Town. The area is charming and is generally quiet although there is occasional noise from the nearby rail line. From the hotel, it is only a short walk to the castle or to downtown Kalmar. The hotel has some off-street parking available which must be reserved in advance to guarantee space.
We stayed in a deluxe room in the main building. The room was comfortable and quite large with a separate sitting area but would not be categorized as deluxe by most standards.
There is an outdoor patio with tables next to the main building. The patio is a pleasant place to enjoy a beverage or the included breakfast and light dinner buffet. We found the breakfast to be below-average in quality and variety. The dinner did not look at all appetizing so we did not partake. Instead we ate at the charming Soderport Café which has cozy outdoor seating and is located only a short walk down the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2BBandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Good Hotel for reasnoble prices. Quiet area a short walk from center of the city. A small buffe is served in the evening but not reccomended if you have higher expectations. The hotell bar is cosy and serves beaverages like beer, wine, coffe & tee.
Nice trail for jogging along the ocean. try to get a room in the main building.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingsalesrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in the budget room across the road from the main building which was surprisingly good.

Pros:
- nothing "budget" about the room. It was clean, modern and big with kitchenette which you need to request for upon booking
- quiet (our room was facing the garden)
- alfresco dining possible
- delicious all-you-can-eat light dinner included everyday which normally includes 2 salads and a soup
- great location along a beautiful tree-lined street. Walking distance to city and the slott
- good for a day trip to Oeland or the glass factories

Cons:
- breakfast spread was a little limited

Overall great value!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kopi-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kalmar hotels
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Packhuset
0.5 mi away
ProfilHotels Calmar Stadshotell
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Kalmarsund Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scandic Kalmar West
Scandic Kalmar West
#3 of 11 in Kalmar
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Frimurare Hotellet
Frimurare Hotellet
#6 of 11 in Kalmar
112 reviews
0.5 mi away
First Hotel Witt
First Hotel Witt
#9 of 11 in Kalmar
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Slottshotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Slottshotellet

Address: 7 Slottsvaegen | Slottsv 7, Kalmar 392 33, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Kalmar County > Kalmar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Kalmar
Price Range: $110 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Slottshotellet 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Slottshotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slottshotellet Hotel Kalmar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing