We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Snowshoe Inn (NWT) Ltd
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Providence
Yellowknife, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and Clean”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

My boyfriend and I had an enjoyable stay at the Snowshoe Inn recently. Linda was friendly and very helpful and arranged for a late check-in for us (it was 11:00 pm by the time we arrived). We also got a stamp in our Deh Cho Travel Connection passport here.

I am still shocked by the cleanliness of the smoking room we were in and although I might poke fun at the 80’s style of the hotel, I thought it was great. The beds were so comfortable, I wish we didn’t have our dogs in the room to wake us up at 6:30 am!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Samantha683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    9
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
2
10
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Linda at the front desk was just about the nicest person I've ever met, which was a nice introduction to Fort Prov. The hotel itself lies on the bank of the Mackenzie, and our room looked right out onto the water (from behind a very necessary mosquito screen, of course). The room was clean and spacious enough, with the bed providing perhaps the best sleep I've had since leaving Vancouver in January (granted, I sleep on an air mattress normally, but you get the idea). The windows feature blinds that do a good job of shutting out the persistent light of summer, and the bathroom has a heat lamp for a quick warm-up in winter.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fregger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

It's the north, so things are pricey. But, if you're looking for exceptional service and fastidiously clean lodgings, you can't go wrong with the snowshoe in. The decor is retro, and the view spectacular.

There's even a heat lamp when you get out of the shower.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GeekinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellowknife
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2010

It's the North - so it's not cheap. But, as Northern hotels go, the Snowshoe always stands out to me as being efficient, friendly and clean. That staff are very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YKIslander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

We've just returned from our winter holiday and wanted to post our thoughts and comments on the various stops we made along our "North of 60" journey - so other travellers - about to tackle Canada's Great White North will know what to expect (and what not to expect).

One of the most memorable parts of our journey was crossing our first ice bridge! Because we were travelling in winter - the ferry service that usually transports the traffice across the Mckenzie River was out of service - and all traffic was directed across this ice bridge! (OH MY!)

And THEN, shortly after getting back onto good, old, solid land we were greeted by a herd of at least 20 buffalo as we drove into the small native community of Fort Providence.

We stayed at the Snowshoe Inn - a motel located directly on the banks of the "Mighty Mckenzie" river - of course it was frozen solid - not much "flowing" at this time of the year but we took an abundant amount of photos of this magnificent waterway just the same (to prove that indeed, we had been there!)

The motel is the first multi-level dwelling that you see when driving in from the main highway. There is ample parking along the front - with vehicle plug-ins available (strange...vehicles don't like that cold weather any more than some unadventorous humans).

For travellers used to staying in holiday resorts - where everything is about glitz and glamour, perhaps this choice of lodging is not for you - HOWEVER - the staff are extremely friendly, they offer all services (including wireless internet at their restuarant - which is just across the street from the motel), the guest rooms were EXTREMELY clean and comfortable. (As Fort Providence had been our first stop along the way we didn't quite appreciate this quaint little motel - only after staying in other small communities did we realize the Snowshoe for it's true value...it's cleanliness being high on the "value" list!)

The rooms are equipped with satellite tv, telephone service and private bath - we stayed in a deluxe suite - which also gave us a small fridge, microwave, coffee maker, a little dining table, queen size bed - and again, a beautiful view of the river (not to mention a few stragglers from the herd of buffalo that met us at the beginnin of town were strolling through the backyard of the motel, going down the snowy banks to the river!

The decor, although by no means as modern as per what you would expect in other areas of Canada, (it ain't no Hilton - haha) but was clean and nicely put together - we were comfortable and cozy in our bed when we at last retired for the evening. And it's fair to mention that there were several hotels/motels where we stopped along the path of our road trip (we travelled the northern highways from Nova Scotia to NWT) that were without a doubt far more "old fashioned", just as expensive, no where near as clean and without the hospitality that we were treated to at the Snowshoe.

The price of the room was a bit high, compared to what we were accustomed to...without looking at our receipts I believe the room was $150 per night which was pretty much the standard for a room in any of the communities we visited.

As mentioned the cafe style restuarant is located across the street from the motel and offers a complete menu of delicious home style cooking. My husband tackled the signature Snowshoe burger (similar in size to a Big Mac - but defnitely much more appealing to your pallet than McDonalds signature burger) while I decided to try a bison burger (a nice lean meat patty full of flavour).

There is a wonderful selection of handicraft at the Snowshoe Arts and Craft shop (located inside the same building as the cafe). Again - pricing of some of these items seemed higher than one would at first expect to pay for a "souvinier" - but after travelling onward, hoping to purchase similar items at lower prices we ended up coming back into Fort Providence on our trip home specifically to stop at the Snowshoe to pick up the moose tufted picture and beaded moccasins I had spied on our initial visit. There were other places that we could have picked up similar items - but none that were of the quality of the things available at Ms. Philipp's (the owner of the Snowshoe) craft shop. The saleslady told us that Ms. Philipp carefully chooses only top quality items from the local craftsmen and ladies who do the tuftings/slippers - and as I said, this was evident after seeing some of the art works available in other places. And, for those who just want a basic souvinier - there are lower priced items including hand painted Christmas ornaments, various items carved from moose antler, and the more "touristy" type of momentos like keychains and mugs.

If you're looking for jacuzzis, room service, air conditioning, etc - you may want to skip by the Snowshoe - but then again - what would it be to travel the north if you were going to this great part of our nation solely to expect the luxury you can find in your own back yard?


Overall we rank the Snowshoe motel at the top of the list for cleanliness, value per dollar and of course - who could forget the friendly staff.

  • Liked — The feeling of being welcomed warmly and honestly.
  • Disliked — It was COLD outside! And we had to leave after only one day...
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LoopyLady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peace River, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2007

For those who must overnight in a hotel on the long haul between Peace River and Yellowknife, the Snowshoe Inn is just about your only choice. They know it, and charge accordingly.

The hotel itself is located just on the edge of the very interesting town of Fort Providence; it's the only multi-storey building in town. The hotel's certainly nothing to look at from the outside, and the view doesn't improve that much indoors, either.

The lobby area is very '70s ski-chalet, and isn't especially inviting with its gross and dated dark wood panelling and faded carpets. I did like the old comfy couches and overstuffed bookshelves, and the staff does its best to make you feel welcome.

Rooms were quite disappointing -- the decor is similar to what you'd find in a shabby summer cottage -- and also hot. If you don't think air conditioning is a definite plus in the NWT at the height of summer you'd be mistaken, as the sun doesn't set until well after midnight and, by early evening, rooms are simply baking. Fortunately, many rooms also have a river view; just forget about the cost of the room and stare at the Mackenzie, which is truly an amazing sight near town.

The hotel does not have any vending machines, so if you don't want to drink the local water, be sure to stock up at the local Northern store (down the street) before it closes for the night. The hotel does have a cafe, and serves edible food at reasonable prices. Dinner was certainly the cheapest thing about my stay at the Snowshoe Inn which, at over $180/night for a double, is not exactly in the budget category and, but for its location, exceedingly poor value for money.

  • Liked — Dogs are allowed; great location
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank davidcalgary29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Fort Providence hotels

Been to Snowshoe Inn (NWT) Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowshoe Inn (NWT) Ltd

Property: Snowshoe Inn (NWT) Ltd
Address: 1 Mackenzie Drive, Fort Providence, Northwest Territories X0E 0L0, Canada
Location: Canada > Northwest Territories > Fort Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fort Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Snowshoe Inn (NWT) Ltd 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly and clean family operated motel. Our main focus is to provide top customer service and guest satisfaction. There is a restaurant,cocktail lounge, gas bar and convenience store located on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Snowshoe Inn (NWT) Ltd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snowshoe Inn (NWT) Ltd Fort Providence, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing