We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with a bite.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
CITY HOTEL, Familjen Ericsson
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a few nights while attending Dreamhack Summer 2013. Greeted by the friendly lady at the counter. Pleasantly surprised by the nice room.

A couple of days after checking out I discovered I was covered in horrific bed bug bites that swelled up quite badly. I emailed them regarding them having a bed bug infestation but never heard back.

So you take your chances I guess. Hopefully this will make them do something about it. I guess this is a risk you take staying at random hotels.

Buyer beware. You may end up being a feast to the resident bed bugs. A shame really as everything else was good.

Room Tip: Avoid room #108. Bitten by bed bugs at the end of June 2013.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BravoJulietSierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpe924, Ägare at CITY HOTEL, Familjen Ericsson, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello BravoJulietSierra!

Thank you for taking your time writing this review here in TripAdvisor.

I really do apologize for what has occurred and we have taken into account your constructive feedback regarding the incidence and I can inform you that we have done an inspection on all our rooms after your stay. But even during cleaning on regular basis.

As you mentioned, getting invaded by bed bugs is not something you expect, both at hotels and even at your home. So that’s why it’s really simplifies our job if our guests inform us directly to the reception than days after. Shortly said, we have now fixed the issue and we do hope you give us the opportunity to show you what a real Familjen Ericsson City has got to offer.

Lars Ericsson
Hotellägare

+46 (0)36 71 92 80
info@cityhotel.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 108 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

Lovely hotel. We had room 121A which was actually two rooms merged into one making it a lovely suite for the same cost of a standard twin room. This meant we had a large shower wet room, cloak room, nice lounge area, and separate twin bedroom. The trip was for business so we were early out and late back in each day. Issues to consider are:

a) No blackout curtains meaning the few hours of darkness you get during the summer are rudely interrupted by a very early sunrise.

b) Parking is a nightmare as once the reception closes at midnight or earlier at the weekend, then you cannot get the key fob from reception to enter the carpark. We found that the only way to park was send someone down into the carpark, wedge the door to be able to get back in (as you also need to buz reception to get back through to the stairwell) and then press the code to vacate the carpark from the inside which opens the garage door. Nightmare!

Plus side however was the room was recently refurbished, nice and clean and tidy (par rusty dirty pipes exposed int he shower). Breakfast was excellent with a large selection of continental offerings plus tasty bacon and scrambled eggs. also our view was of a lovely old building I think something to do with the colleges or university as our first night saw a large graduation ceremony with all the students appearing in suits and white dresses with captain hats on! This also meant we had a beautiful view of the lake between the buildings.

Overall would recommend this hotel, close to the city center and had nothing to complain about although there were the few annoying factors to consider.

Room Tip: Try to get room 121!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bendyspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpe924, Ägare at CITY HOTEL, Familjen Ericsson, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Bendyspoon!

Thank you for taking your time writing and sharing this review with the world here in TripAdvisor.

Parking in the garage isn’t as complicated as you may have thought it was. By just informing us that you are could be arriving late, you could have called us so that we could open the other entrance door on the entry and then leave the garage keys in your room. I think there isn’t other way to make this process simpler.

Unfortunately we didn’t have curtains at that time, but we have installed some thicker curtains on some rooms.

Anyways, it’s a pleasure to have you for staying with us at Familjen Ericsson City Hotel and we do hope to see you soon :) .

Lars Ericsson
Hotellägare

+46 (0)36 71 92 80
info@cityhotel.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

The hotel is uncomplicated and the staff was very helpful to me.

The bathroom was recently renovated and even though the room was relatively small, it was clean and stylish.

The absolutely great location in the city of Jönköping is a great plus. Prices normal Swedish level.

The breakfast was included and it was good standard quality

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tunkete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpe924, Ägare at CITY HOTEL, Familjen Ericsson, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Greetings tunkete!

I am happy to hear that your stay with us back at 2013 has been good.

The location is for sure one of the best locations here in Jönköping.

If you have your way past Sweden and Jönköping please do feel free to stay at our hotel.

Lars Ericsson
Hotellägare

+46 (0)36 71 92 80
info@cityhotel.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel is very average with an old construction and small rooms. I did not feel the bathroom was up to the mark. The room was overpriced for what was offered - the wifi connectivity was poor and the breakfast average.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asbedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpe924, Ägare at CITY HOTEL, Familjen Ericsson, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello asbedi

I would like to thank you for the review that you have shared on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay at Familjen Ericsson City Hotel.

I can agree with you that the rooms and bathrooms were a bit of date, however we have done a lot of changes since your last stay which was on February 6 2013. The rooms, bathrooms, corridors and yes basically almost the whole hotel.

The Wi-Fi connectivity is supposed to as fast as 94 Mbits/s, which I believe is fast enough.

You are always warm welcome to us too anytime in the near future.

Lars Ericsson
Hotellägare

+46 (0)36 71 92 80
info@cityhotel.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The instructions to find the hotel itself were intelligent and we received a warm welcome. The entrance to the car park (cost is extra) is not intuitive but the owner of the hotel who was passing was helpful. The hotel had a good atmosphere and our room was pleasant with a good view and compact bathroom. Breakfast was included in the room rate. It is opposite a very interesting match museum which traces the origin and history of the match industry in Sweden as well as its decline.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosalindLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpe924, Ägare at CITY HOTEL, Familjen Ericsson, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi RosalindLondon!



Thank you for the wonderful review about Familjen Ericsson City Hotel that you have recently shared on TripAdvisor following on your stay.

It delights me to hear that everything with your stay with us has been lovely as we had wished for you.

We do hope to see you again in the near future again! Warm welcome.

Lars Ericsson
Hotellägare

+46 (0)36 71 92 80
info@cityhotel.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

After touring around Sweden, Denmark, Estonia and Finland, i think this was my favourite hotel. I absolutely loved Jonkoping, and this hotel was brilliant. It's location is literally a 2minute walk from the central station and a short walk from the main centre! The breakfast was brilliant, (they even had pancakes!!) and we used the spa which was absolutely lovely. We were the only ones in there and there was a cd player so we could play music, it was honestly perfect! Ohhh and the lady who works there is called Agnetha which made my day! There is free tea and coffee in reception, and biscuits and the hotel has a hotel dog, which was sooo cute! This hotel was expensive, but it seemed like everything in Jonkoping is expensive hotel wise, maybe because it is quite small there arent as many hotels but i'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Innocent_Eyes13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpe924, Ägare at CITY HOTEL, Familjen Ericsson, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago


Hi Innocent_Eyes13!

Wow absolutely wonderful review you have written for us. I really do appreciate for you taking your time writing this and sharing your experience with the world on TripAdvisor. I must say that this is one of the best reviews we have received.

We do hope to check you in again the next time you’re on a tour to the Scandinavia.

I will definitely pass on your words to Agneta :)

Lars Ericsson
Hotellägare

+46 (0)36 71 92 80
info@cityhotel.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We recently stayed at this hotel for a night and whilst we had a lovely visit, the hotel is tired. The breakfast was great and there was a cooked option, the staff were friendly and rooms were all fine but not our favourite hotel!

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank RachSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lpe924, Ägare at CITY HOTEL, Familjen Ericsson, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Greetings RachSB!

Thank you for the wonderful review about Familjen Ericsson City Hotel that you have recently shared on TripAdvisor following on your stay.

It delights me to hear that everything with your stay with us has been lovely as we had wished for you.

I can understand for you that the hotel was at that time a bit "tired", however I can please you to say that there has been some changes since then. We have renovated on most part of the hotel and the rest is expected to be done by Chritmas of 2018.

You are most welcome to check in again in the near future.

Best regards,

Lars Ericsson
Hotel Owner
+46 (0)36 71 92 80
info@cityhotel.se

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jonkoping hotels
0.6 mi away
Vox Hotel
Vox Hotel
#2 of 16 in Jonkoping
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria
0.5 mi away
Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Hotel Portalen
Scandic Hotel Portalen
#9 of 16 in Jonkoping
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Jonkoping
Comfort Hotel Jonkoping
#7 of 16 in Jonkoping
502 reviews
2.6 mi away
Scandic Elmia
Scandic Elmia
#4 of 16 in Jonkoping
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CITY HOTEL, Familjen Ericsson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CITY HOTEL, Familjen Ericsson

Address: 25 A Vaestra Storgatan, Jonkoping 553 15, Sweden (Formerly City Hotel Familjen Ericsson)
Location: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Jonkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Price Range: $104 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — CITY HOTEL, Familjen Ericsson 3.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CITY HOTEL, Familjen Ericsson is located in the western city of Jonkoping. 3 minutes from the railway station, right on the city buses. The family Ericsson, with staff, runs the hotel because they love to work with, and among, others. To spread the thrill we feel is the finest we know. Come you also and be pampered and feel the warm kindness of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your CITY HOTEL, Familjen Ericsson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing