We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not worth the money, sorry”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Elmia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Elmia
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Jyvaskyla, Finland
2 reviews
“Not worth the money, sorry”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayded at the hotel Scandic Elmia with kids and got a room from the groud floor from the farest corner ever (a long walk from the reseption and restorant exc, with small kids that is not nive experience). Service was also quite poor also. We only had few questions for the staff at the reseption, but did not get service/answer any of those.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    145
    98
    42
    13
See reviews for
132
60
13
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nynashamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here during a swimming competition in summertime 2013. It is very worn down but the beds are Ok. Not more than that. The breakfast had everything you could wish for and was fresh. They are renovating at the moment so I think it will be in good shape soon. Since it is summer and the old rooms don't have air conditioning it is very warm.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank POJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jonkoping hotels

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

It is true the rooms are very old. It is very far away from the centre. However it is as with most scandics very clean with very friendly staff and not a hardship to stay at. Looking forward to the new modern extension which should be opening very soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Major M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Scnadic Elmia has a really nice staff. Our check in was nice and the extra help was given when needed. Room for 4 people was very small but did what we were expecting. Breakfast was very nice with lot of options. Room fare was very reasonable for 4 persons.

If you're up to the fairs or the ice hockey, it's fine. Otherwise it's far from the centre and you need to use taxi.

We were happy after all.

There is also Spa for the extra money. It was nice also after exhausting evening and the night :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpmelville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

I've staid in this hotel for the second time in June 2012 when visiting the Dreamhack Summer event.

The Hotel is very convenient if you visit an event at Elmia, cause it's close.
There's enough parking, rooms are nice and breakfast is very good.

The only drawback is that the hotel bar closes quite early ;-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dasali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
108 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

Old-style hotel with a renovation being planned for the immidiate future. Good location for those attending a trade fair at "Elmia", otherwise far away from everything. Small, stuffy rooms with hardly any amenities. Will not stay here again until it has been completely renovated.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gold2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rødovre, Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We had to stay just 1 night in Jonköping so we took this hotel a little outside the city. It was still walking distance if you are young and the walk took you past the big lake and was very beautiful.

Good:
Nice staff

Bad:
We were 3 people together and the room was very small


In conlusion, it is a fine transit hotel but I wouldn't stay there for a longer time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sune J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jonkoping hotels
2.1 mi away
Vox Hotel
Vox Hotel
#1 of 16 in Jonkoping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
2.5 mi away
Scandic Hotel Portalen
Scandic Hotel Portalen
#8 of 16 in Jonkoping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria
2.7 mi away
Comfort Hotel Jonkoping
Comfort Hotel Jonkoping
#6 of 16 in Jonkoping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
2.2 mi away
Elite Stora Hotellet Jonkoping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Elmia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Elmia

Property: Scandic Elmia
Address: 8 Elmiavaegen, Jonkoping 554 54, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Jonkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Elmia 3*
Number of rooms: 287
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three-story Motor Hotel located in recreational area on the E4 Highway, at approach to the city, near Elmia & Roselunds Hallen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Elmia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Elmia Jonkoping

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing