We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury hotel for good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Hotel Portalen
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Luxury hotel placed in the the heart of the city, just 500 meters from lake, and small port wher all restaurants are placed and night life is taking place.
I had a single room, it was good, but little to small for me, will be great if will ahve maybe 2 square meters more. Rooms designed in modern style. You can see hand of swedish designers - everything elegant but minimalistic - without a shining and brightning stuff - perfect for me. Nice bathroom, comfortable to use, good hotle cosmetics.
Great service. Fantastic breakfasts, great choice of food, from hot to cold. I stayed there for one week and there was no need to eat same thing, it was enough good choice to try everyday something new.
Hotel offer also underground parking with additional price, and this is good especially if there is really difficult to find parking place around hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jak1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 518 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2010

As the title says, the hotel is in a great central location and on-street parking is free after 6pm. Very friendly receptionist who gave us some general info and maps of the city. Most importantly, she gave a great restaurant reccomendation for "Twin City" just along the road. Room was up to the usual Scandic standard.

Our last night in Sweden and a very enjoyable night in the restaurant followed by a 5 mins stroll back to the hotel. It's also worth a short walk to the harbour area - more restaurants and very quaint.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIK-Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Clean room with work desk and a bed. Nothing extra ordinary as most Scandic Hotels, but comfortable and I slept very well. Very helpful staff and a plentyful breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Swede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks whilst visiting my daughter. It was very comfortable and staff were very helpful. They put on a fantastic breakfast with anything you would want...with healthy options including organic and gluten free. You can even pack your own lunch at a small cost, although no one seemed to worry about charging for this. Good central location but it can be noisy on the street below, so you could ask for a room above the 5th floor and on the side street if you want a good nights sleep. Free wireless in rooms and in reception works well. No restaurant at the hotel but it adjoined Karlssons which was open most nights I think and was very good also.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevPerthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2005

The hotel is ok, good value for money. However, the location is next to a pedestrian area with pubs and discos, which makes it quite noisy on weekends (we stayed there Friday - Saturday).

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Necator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Scandic Hotels
Thank LilyZ05
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jonas E, Manager at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Fredrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonas E, Manager at Scandic Hotel Portalen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jonkoping hotels
0.4 mi away
Vox Hotel
Vox Hotel
#1 of 16 in Jonkoping
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria
0.2 mi away
Elite Stora Hotellet Jonkoping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Scandic Elmia
Scandic Elmia
#5 of 16 in Jonkoping
496 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Jonkoping
Comfort Hotel Jonkoping
#6 of 16 in Jonkoping
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Hotel Portalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Portalen

Address: 6 Barnarpsgatan, Jonkoping 553 16, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Jonkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Price Range: $101 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Hotel Portalen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Portalen ligger mitt i centrum med narhet till centralstationen, shopping och Jonkopings nojesliv. Hotellet har 201 rum varav 3 sviter och mojlighet till konferens. Scandic Portalen samarbetar med Nordic Wellness Atlatis Spa som ligger i direkt anslutning till hotellet. Dar kan du boka in traning, behandlingar eller bara slappna av i bubbelpoolen. Vi har ingen egen restaurang men samarbetar med Karlsson's salonger som ligger vagg i vagg med hotellet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Scandic Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Hotel Portalen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing