We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City center hotel with big nice rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“City center hotel with big nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

A lovely hotel with modern and stylish stile. The personell i professionell och very helpful. Breakfast is served with normal Swedish ingredients. The hotel is located close to city center and the shopping streets.

Room Tip: Rooms towards Munksjön are bigger and have a good wiew over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    138
    39
    13
    3
See reviews for
52
68
14
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jarvenpaa, Finland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed here for three nights, and enjoyed it a lot. All rooms were super clean and super comfortable. Prices were high, but quality was high as well. Lobby bar with live music was our favorite place to start the night, enjoyed the music and lovely drinks. Location is OK, near city centre and the lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aku L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

If in town for meetings, add 1000SEK to your bill and get an extra living room perfect for meetings in the corner suite. You´ll have a great view of the harbour from the top of the hotel. You get access to a large balcony as well if you ask, or perhaps smoke. I have never met so sweet-spirited reception staff anywhere in Sweden. Hearts of Gold!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Trond B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Went there for DreamHack winter 2013: hotel is really good looking, modern and stylish. Rooms are comfortable, furniture is modern and minimal.

The only average thing was the bathroom, but maybe it's just me that i'm used to something different.

Breakfast is gorgeous !

I'd go there again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SimeoneSergio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

First of all i have to say we didnt have the basic room (heard from our friend is clean, nice but very simply furnished) we had bigger room on 4th floor with the lake view, we liked it a lot! Modern, stylish, clean, big room with nice modern but cosy bathroom. The view was great. The location is the best, close to everything. We even forgot our charger to phone and the reception staff fixed it for us. Really liked the stay.

Room Tip: Definitely try to book the room with the lake view, they suppose to be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights while doing an event in Jonkoping. I come to Jonkoping twice a year; the hotel we normally use in Elmia was under refurbishment so the whole team was put into this hotel closer to the train station. The reception area is quite gorgeous as seen in the attached photo. The rooms were great, we had a three man room and it was spacious enough for the three of us. The best thing about the room (for me) was that it had a wall mounted bottle opener. Epic.

The room also had a huge plasma screen in it - I was able to hook my computer up to it via a HDMI port which was great. The staff are great, very polite and extremely helpful. The place has its own car park as well. Transport links are good, it is a 5 minute walk from the train/bus station, and also has local buses going past.

My only gripe was this - at present they are doing some works to the outside of the building, including scaffolding right outside my window. One morning at 8am the builders started drilling into the wall, which was a rude awakening to say the least! I do think this was an accident though, as they soon stopped, maybe 5min afterwards. These things happen!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hakf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olofstrom, Sweden
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

nice hotel with good location, nice staff, nice small bar, nicely designed, comfortable, clean, nothing to complain about, okay breakfast also. i recommend it anyways. it had a gym but i didn't know about it. i guess its not that cheap, cannot compare it yet with other hotels in the same city, we'll see.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jonkoping hotels
0.1 mi away
Vox Hotel
Vox Hotel
#1 of 16 in Jonkoping
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Victoria
0.1 mi away
Elite Stora Hotellet Jonkoping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
ProfilHotels Savoy Hotel
ProfilHotels Savoy Hotel
#3 of 16 in Jonkoping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Hotel Portalen
Scandic Hotel Portalen
#8 of 16 in Jonkoping
3.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Jonkoping
Comfort Hotel Jonkoping
#5 of 16 in Jonkoping
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel
Address: 15 Soedra Strandgatan, Jonkoping 553 20, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Jonkoping County > Jonkoping
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Jonkoping
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boutique hotel Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel is situated in the very center of Jönköping by the lake Munksjön. There are 105 rooms in the hotel including three Junior Suites and one Grand Suite on top floor with a view of the lake Munksjön. As our guest you will be staying in non-smoking rooms decorated in a tasteful and timeless manor and you will also have free access to Wi-Fi, sauna and gym. Directly adjacent to the hotel is our very own restaurant Ester Kök & Bar and around the corner you will find the best shopping and cafes. Based on availability the hotel offer parking in their private garage for an additional fee. Jönköping is ideally situated between Stockholm, Gothenburg and Malmö. It is easy to get here both by car, bus, train and air. Most welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Best Western Plus John Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jonkoping
jönköping Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing