We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a must for visitors”

Marine Museum Karlskrona
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Karlskrona
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plano, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely a must for visitors”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This museum is definitely at the top of the list of attractions in Karlskrona. Don't forget to get the audio tour - gives a lot more info than what the signs throughout the museum gives you.
The displays are well done that tells a story and The figurehead hall is impressive. There are a few interactive displays also.

Note that during the fall/winter/spring, admission is free (including the audio tour).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiverguyPlano_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    164
    32
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Fabulous exhibits and with great artefacts. Some of the displays only in Swedish, would be lovely if its in English as well. The librarian Catrin Petersson was very helpful when we needed help in our research.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gwen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great museum if you are interested in ships”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The many models of ships were impressive. Also enjoyed the hall of figure heads and the underwater tunnel. Many hands-on activities for the kids-- navigate a ship, shoot cannons at those terrible Danes :-)(Video game of course), and even a ship interior with bunks, radios, ropes to climb and balance on, clothing to try out, etc.

Helpful?
Thank KatieVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unique naval museum”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is an interesting museum with many different types of exhibitions such as the Figurehead hall and the Underwater tunnel. There's also a restaurant as well as a shop where you can buy some souvenirs, toys, books and more.. Free admission from october to april.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank johanna_borg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“a stellar spot on this planet”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

As a former New Yorker and one that has had the good fortune of seeing many a wonderful spot all over this fabulous world of ours, I can heartily recommend this absolute GEM of a MUSEUM AND the lovely NAVAL TOWN of Karlskrona in Sweden.
I actually lived in Karlskrona for about a year-and I spent many a pleasant hour going again and again to this museum.
While the entirety of the museum is extremely interesting( and I am not even particularly interested IN anything naval or marine) it is the one room at the end of the museum that houses a large display of figureheads off of the fronts of historical ships that aesthetically will absolutely take your breath away.... Set in a double height floor to ceiling glassed in room with exquisite views of the Karlskrona Harbour, the mounted figureheads form a VISUAL FEAST for the eyes- unparalleled anywhere else ( at least that I have ever seen.) One can spend quite a fair bit of time absolutely mesmerized by the beauty of this room, and the thrill of going to this spot never fades in my memory. Having moved on from this town, every time the opportunity presents itself to visit- I am drawn like a bee to honey to get there.
I can only equate it with perhaps the Botticelli Room at the Uffizi Museum in Firenze- which I am also drawn to anytime I am within range of getting there. The beauty and visual aesthetics of both will blow you away!
I can promise you- without a doubt this room alone is worth the trip from far and wide - to spend some time in this lovely Naval Village, to see the Harbour and the surrounding archipaelago.The combination is absolutely NOT TO BE MISSED- and the room of figureheads is the finest CHERRY on TOP of a visit to this UNESCO World Heritage Town!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank titousmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marine Museum Karlskrona also viewed

Karlskrona, Blekinge County
Karlskrona, Blekinge County
 
Karlskrona, Blekinge County
Karlskrona, Blekinge County
 

Been to Marine Museum Karlskrona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing