We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very, very nice staff and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
First Hotel Carlshamn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karlshamn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel and each time I am amazed by the friendly and smiling staff. The rooms needs A renovation and are not up to date.
Rooms for improvements: better working desk, more plugs for charging pc, phones, iPads etc, The internet is free, but VERY complicated to access as You need A code for each devise and The code is valid for 24 hours. Last stay
I managed to connect only The first Day. The hangers Can not be removed from the closet, which is anoying. Coffee in The room would be apprecisted as butter at The breakfast buffet would be ( instead of only Margarine/ Bregott.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErikMollerMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for First Hotel Carlshamn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 221 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spend some time here on a business trip in March 2013. Had two nights in this hotel and it was okay for that short stay. Rooms are quite big with king size bed, bathroom is old-fashioned as the furniture. Reception, hall and restaurant is modern and inviting. Service was fine and well organized.

Room Tip: stay away from the rooms next to the elevators
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk_HH_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This is a very basic hotel with limited restaurant options. It is within walking distance of the city square and several restaurants. Vegetarians: There is a Chinese restaurant up the street that will prepare tofu for you upon request.

I'm not sure what else is available in the area, but I would investigate other options before staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nashville_dog_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I've just came back from Sweden. I must say that I stayed in better hotel previously.
It is a very pleasant structure to be to see something different. I mean, each of the floor has a common balcony (some of the rooms have a view to the inside court) from which you can see the restaurant on the ground floor. Each of the floor is characterized by a different colour: pink, green, light blue.
I slept in an amazing way, but i should recommend to renovate the bathrooms.
I heard from all of my colleagues that they had problem with the shower...
Please do it!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelersAngelsTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Run of the mill Swedish hotel. Cleanliness leaves something to be desired: black mould patches developing in the shower, breakfast tables so and so. Worst pancakes ever. Staff friendly though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luc1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Nice staff, good (and big) brakefastbuffé, free wi-fi and free parking. Nice!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2008

Stayed at the hotel on a business trip and could not fault it. Room was good; good wireless internet access; dinner and breakfast were great; and the staff were pleasant and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Karlshamn
1.6 mi away
Best Western Hotell Karlshamn
0.5 mi away
Port Hotel
Port Hotel
#2 of 3 in Karlshamn
57 reviews
5.5 mi away
Eriksberg Hotel & Nature Reserve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Ronneby Brunn Hotel Spa Resort
15.0 mi away
First Hotel Olofstrom
First Hotel Olofstrom
#1 of 1 in Olofstrom
69 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nya Stan Bed & Breakfast
Nya Stan Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Karlshamn
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Carlshamn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Carlshamn

Address: 1 Varvsgatan, Karlshamn 374 35, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Blekinge County > Karlshamn
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Karlshamn
Price Range: $123 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Carlshamn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your First Hotel Carlshamn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing