We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need to work on the service”

SOT Steak och Tapas
Ranked #621 of 803 Restaurants in Malmo
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Need to work on the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

The food was very good, though a bit strange that you couldn't get an espresso...

Service, on the other hand, was poor. We asked two questions about the food and instead of asking the chef he/she started to guess. Since we really wanted to know we then sent mail to the restautant, still no anwer. We also had to wait quite a bit several times during the meal.

But if you don't mind non-professional service then SOT has some really fun and good food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jocke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    24
    7
    22
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bara, Sweden
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice surprise in central of Malmö”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

After late shopping can this be concluded that Malmo received another surprise on the menu map, early dinner where the atmosphere is casual and friendly in an inviting wine cellar environment. Menu is simple but the food well so tasteful in its simplicity, tapas are also offered on the menu.

Have not tried a late dinner, but could an option after have tried a after work with tapas tray and champagne – late dining will come after the experience surpassed the tapas tray!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thony_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Expensive but good quality ingredients”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stumbled across SOT after we couldn't get into Basterd and it proved to be a good find. We began with the squid which was excellent and then some tapas cheeses which were adequate. The hanger beef fillet was exceptionally tender and well complemented by the red wine sauce.I found the wine list limited and expensive. The basement location makes for a cozy evening. Overall SOT is a worthwhile visit to try the beef fillet and probably stick to the beers.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
165 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good concept but a few things to improve on”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

SOT is located in a modernly decorated cellar just off Stortorget, and our visit to SOT was on a Saturday night with another couple. We started with a bottle of prosecco, and then got down to business selecting from the menu. As the restaurant name implies, the menu consists of a small selection of tapas (which can also be ordered on boards as a menu), two types of steak, burger and chicken. Our friends ordered the "little brothers" Tapas board to share, and I ordered a steak, whilst my fiancé ordered the grilled chicken, with an entrée of chilli scallops and chorizo.
The tapas board was huge, and our friends were only too keen to offload what they couldn't fit in themselves. The chilli scallops were a highlight, and the steak was cooked as ordered (medium rare) and flavoursome.We had some beers with the meal, and the beer selection is mostly from swedish microbreweries. The bill was bang on, not cheap, but not expensive. Only complaint on an otherwise great night was the service which was not on par with the food or atmosphere. We were a little shocked when we asked for water to be replied to with "That will be 25 kroner".

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MylosReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
87 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Slow service and average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Service was slow on a day when the restaurant was barely a quarter full for dinner. Food was expensive and so so only. There are better places around Lilla Torg that would be a better choice.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hsien Hui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SOT Steak och Tapas also viewed

 
Malmo, Skane County
Malmo, Skane County
 
Malmo, Skane County
 

Been to SOT Steak och Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing