We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably Malmö's best Italian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria qui

Osteria qui
Ranked #105 of 792 Restaurants in Malmo
Cuisines: Italian, European, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Patan (Lalitpur), Nepal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Probably Malmö's best Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We've been probably a half-dozen times and will likely go a half-dozen more. It's a little pricier than many other restaurants in Malmö, but I feel it's well worth it for the quality of food. The wait staff is helpful with walking customers through the menu and offering wine pairings. The manager brews a mean espresso!

Downsides? We were once squeezed into a space that was a sort of improvised table. I found myself between another couple's conversation to my left and a rambunctious 8 year old to my right, all on a shared bench. To their credit, they squeezed us in at the last minute on a weekend, but had I known, I'd have just called it for another night. It points to a larger problem which is the overall layout of the place. There's hardly a table that isn't next to a large family or in the flight path of the waitresses.

This is all fine though, because the food is just that good. It will continue to be my go-to when I need some terrific Italian food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    40
    17
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
264 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Probably the best Italian restaurant in Malmö”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Having lived two years in Italy it can be hard to find really good Italian restaurants. This place really has the ambition to serve very good food and wine. Came here with my wife and our 2 daughters (6 and 9 years old).
Table reservations are needed weekend evenings, not a verly large place. Tried an antipasto with different types of delicious salumes. The girls had pizzas and we had Angus steak and ribs with tomato sallad and grilled vegetables. All was perfect. Staff was friendly. Will definitely come back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterXXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic italian buffet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

(disclaimer: I am italian)
This restaurant comes as a real surprise. I went for the buffet brunch. The variety of the offer is huge, but it's the quality that makes everything special. Freshly made food with a good variety of meat, lasagne, crostini with alici, mozzarella, focaccia, grilled veggie and much more. Ah and the cakes were absolutely great!
The price is also very inviting (150 SEK) but again, my enthusiasm is not about the quality/price ratio: it's about the food quality itself which, regardless of the price, is definitely worth a try. You cannot easily find anything better than this, not just in Malmö but in Scandinavia in general.

The waiter having their meal in the same room as the customer was not very professional in my opinion.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
121 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A bit unfortunate dinner, but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The restaurant, located near a fancy residential area in Malmö, is called Osteria Qui.
The place is quite cosy, although the environment is modern, but it surely is not exactly looking like a traditional Osteria.
The food served though is quite simple, the menu gives me really the sensation of an Osteria menu.

Me and and my husband decided to go for the Christmas menu, which included a marinated anchovies, tortellini in broth or spaghetti with parsley, garlic and anchovies for primo, lamb racks or cod for secondo. And on top of that, there was a ricotta pudding.
My mother took instead penne all'arrabbiata and a caprese salad.

In general the food was actually quite tasty and quite genuine. My broth was very very tasty and both the two secondo were worthy waiting.
However, the penne of my mother dish were most likely pre-cooked, which was a pity because the tomato sauce, although enriched with a bit too much garlic, was very good.
The main issue we encountered with the food was that the portions were too small for our appetite. Especially my tortellini dish. It is not that we went out starving, but we took a complete menu and we were still hungry when we went home.
I didn't appreciate fully the dessert, a bit too much touched by some liquor, while my husband enjoyed it.

In general, it was a quite ok evening, but for us, it took about 2 hours and something to get through the food and between each dish we waited too long time. That was also having a bad effect on little daughter's patience, of course.
But we were also very unfortunate with the ventilation. Something went wrong and at a certain point the whole restaurant was filled with a thick "grilling" smoke. The only way to solve the problem was to let us freeze a bit, opening the main door, but on our way home: we all smelled like grilled meat.

So, a positive experience considering that the restaurant have been opened for three months, but the price/portion ration can be improved and they surely need to speed up the service and fix the ventilation!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AriannaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice at Lunch and nice at Dinner.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have visit this resturant (Osteria) at lunch x 3 ,
at dinner x 2 and take away x 3 -
You can have a NICE lunch for 65:-!!!
The resturant has nice prizes and 25% discount
on take away Pizza!
I like the pizza but I would like to have pizza thinner
A fun thing you can try is the Grappa Test at a low
cost of 4 x 1.5 Cl for 100:- for a standard Grappa or
150:- 4 x 1.5 Cl for better brand Grappa

It´s Family owned Osteria and you the service is lovely.

As soon as we have a vacent Saterday we will try
the Brunch 12.00 – 15.00

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gilla-mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria qui also viewed

Malmo, Skane County
Malmo, Skane County
 
Malmo, Skane County
 

Been to Osteria qui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing