We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayfair Hotel Tunneln

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great hotel with large bedroom & bath. They has a very nice breakfast spread, though we wished breakfast would have stayed open longer & had all drinks placed in a convenient area. We like to drink water & it took us several walks around the spread to find where they put it.
They had a nice sitting room where you could do work or use your computer, & they offered free coffee & cookies.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    282
    61
    9
    1
See reviews for
121
373
49
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I had a good stay here back at the end of Summer 2012 towards the end of our trip to Denmark and south Sweden. It is located in a fantastic location, just a couple of streets away from the train station, which means it is very convenient for day trips (Lund and Ystad are two very good little towns close by). Even Kastrup (Copenhagen's airport) is located less than 30 mins away over the bridge (with regular train services).

The rooms were reasonably sized and gave off a certain old-world charm. Lots of historic memorabilia made for interesting walks around the interior of the hotel, and breakfast was served in the atmospheric cellars and enjoyable. Had no problems with the service either.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

In the heart of the old town, this old majestic hotel is in a fantastic location. The room was big and clean with beds that could recline with a touch of the button! Very cool! There was no bathtub but its a minor point. The hotel had too many steps to go through to get from the reception to the room and could use some refurbishing. The best part of the hotel is the breakfast which is one of the best I've ever had - including pancakes with caviar!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is quite a nice hotel with a lot of character. It is situated very close to the central square and has comfortable although somewhat unexciting rooms. There is a lot of local historical information in the lobby and an anecdote about members of Beatles who were found sitting in the hotel bar in the 60s. The breakfast is good and especially the basement restaurant where it is served is fantastic in its design. There seem to be some issues from other reviewers about its high price - we were actually able to get a family room for around 200 USD so we had no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Batuta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel for 5 nights for an event. We compared hotels and prices after arriving in Malmo and found that per night charges were on average 2.5 times higher at this hotel than comparable or better hotels in the same area (one was across the street and was more than 300% less.) Management was inflexible and arrogant about refunding . We discovered that others had the same experience with extremely high room rates for this class of hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMMX, General Manager at Mayfair Hotel Tunneln, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest

I am sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasent stay with us.

You did indeed pay more than the usual rate, this you did in order to be ensured availability in a otherwise full town.

We do not lower the rates upon arrval, nor do we raise them for the guests that have booked for a lesser rate than the day rate....

I am happy to read that you found an alternative solution and hope that the rest of your stay in Malmö was a pleasent one.

Sincerely

U Storm
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Small and charming hotel with excellent location near all facilities. The price of 4500,- for a doubleroom is all too much, though. Hopefully this was due to the fact that it was Eurovision Song Contest in Malmø this weekend which is also why I travelled in the first place.Special thanks to the very sweet and helpful lady at the reception:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kai N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMMX, General Manager at Mayfair Hotel Tunneln, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking your time to write on tripadvisor.

We did indeed have very high rates during the final of the Eurovision. Our usual weekend rate is an very affordable 1095,- for the de lux room.

I am happy to read that you have a pleasant stay here in our little hotel.

Sincerely


U. Storm
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The location of this lovely old hotel is excellent for arriving by train in the City of Malmo. It has tasteful Swedish/baroque décor such as roll-top desks, opulent gilt-framed mirrors, and chandeliers as well as centuries of history, and a friendly, attentive staff. Our room was located above the former stables of the building and was not without quirks such as step up into the picture-perfect but miniature bathroom and a step down one had to remember if traversing the room in the dark. The included full breakfast buffet was served in the interesting catacomb-like basement of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank createwks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Hotel Master Johan
#2 of 38 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel View
#3 of 38 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel Tunneln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel Tunneln

Property: Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Address: 4 Adelgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malmo
#2 Best Value Hotel in Malmo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#4 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel Tunneln 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfair Hotel Tunnlen, is an award winning hotel, situated in the absolute center of Malmö. 150m from the train staion, and 50m form the main shopping street. The building dates back to 1307 and is full of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Mayfair Hotel Tunneln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing