We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Loads of atmosphere in this historic hotel. Large room with lots of character. Central location. Great breakfast. Friendly and efficient staff. We close the 2nd cheapest room category. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (905)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 905 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

What a great hotel. I higly recccomend it to anyone. The whole hotel was very romantic and "old school". Very beautiful rooms, very helpful personel and very good breakfast in the fantastic charming cellar surrounded by arches.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikkel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Spent a conference night here and felt as if I was visiting my grandmother. The rooms are grand in a slightly worn Edwardian fashion except for the bar, which catapults you back to the eighties; mirrored walls, mirrored columns, red leather couches and all. So if you feel like time travelling and can’t wait for science to catch up – this is the place to go. The central Station is a five minute walk and the hotel is right around the corner from Malmö’s old town squares and streets. The hotel oozes history and there are little quizzes scattered around the hotel, so you can test yourself on the knowledge you can pick up from studying the pictures, maps and other historic knickknacks found adorning the hotel. Amusing, rather like visiting Stephen Fry, I should imagine. Unfortunately my bed also followed the historic theme being old and sagging like two hammocks bound together. This left me perching in the middle like a Dutch windmill on a dyke. My room (416) was otherwise cosy; queen size bed, bath room with tub and a tea tray. The room faced the street and there was quite a lot of traffic noise; the streets are cobbled, so you can hear the cars quite clearly. The breakfast was good and served in the vaulted cellar, dating back to the fourteenth century I believe. So watch your head, it was not built for prancing about getting scrambled eggs and coffee.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smallish_mermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed in a single room for three nights in early November. The first warning is that Scandinavia is expensive, and hotel rates are no exception. I chose Mayfair because of the price, ratings, and the fact that it is within walking distance to the train station.

While the bedroom and bathroom were quite small--especially for three nights, I'm giving the Mayfair an excellent rating because what they offer goes far beyond.

1. The front desk staff are AMAZING. Each time I came to get my key they remembered my room number without having to ask. Recommendations for restaurants were spot on.
2. The bed was amazingly comfortable. Wow.
3. The breakfast is more than adequate, offering something for everyone.
4. Wifi reception was incredibly strong.
5. Finally, the little sitting area on the main floor with free coffee, tea, and croissants is a very nice touch.

I wished they had more hangers or a place to hang up clothes properly. I had business meetings and had to hang multiple suits on a single hanger. Not a huge deal, but it's an easy fix in my opinion.

Small tip: If you're leaving on an early train, the actual station is closed so you have to walk around to the other side to access the platforms. This isn't entirely intuitive, especially at 5 in the morning!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xtine27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We chose the Mayfair for a short break in Malmo on the basis of the positive reviews and the fact they offered a breakfast inclusive tariff. We arrived by train from Copenhagen and easily found the hotel a very short walking distance from the station in a quiet street. Although we had only booked standard double rooms they were a good size with comfortable beds and quite large bathrooms with 'wet room' type showers. Because of the age of the building the floors are quite noisy so if you have a partner who wanders in the middle of the night they are likely to wake you but otherwise the rooms were quiet. Refreshments were always available in the lounge and a good breakfast was served in the cellar - be careful some of the tables at the side provide very limited space for tall people. Reception staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. I left a scarf behind and when I emailed to ask if it had been found I got a very swift reply and the scarf was posted back to me within 3 days. There are some nice restaurants close to the hotel and it is only a short walk from Stortorget and lila torg where there are many places to eat. A little further on is the main shopping area of Malmo so the hotel is very conveniently situated. If we return to Malmo, we would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank murphpop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Booking:
Went smooth and easy. Called and spoke to a Danish receptionist who gave me the room at a good price for two night.
Room price:
Fair.
Location:
Central and yet not too busy.
Parking facilities:
Good, but be prepared that bringing a car to Malmø will cost you 245 SEK a day on weekdays and 195 SEK a day on weekends!
Check in:
The swedish male receptionist could have been more smiling, other than that everything went smoothly.
Room:
The room was simply great. I asked for something according to specific needs and got something even better.
Minibar:
Poor. And be ware, beer is extremely expensive in Malmø.
Breakfast:
Quite good. A buffet with both continental and English breakfast + a fair selection of ham, cheese, sausage - even scrimps and herrings!
Sleep quality: Very good. But if I had stayed in another floor or room at hotel it might not have been that good.
Cleanliness: Very satisfactory.
Staff in general: Friendly, but in the Scandinavian way which means that there are not overdoing anything.
I would not hesitate to go back to this hotel if I could be sure to get the same room next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spirits-in-the-night
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I always enjoy my stay at this hotel, it is different to the usual hotel, the rooms are strange shapes and depending where your room is, you have to wind your way along corridors and up and down little stairways. The breakfast room has got nice character as it is in the old cellar / basement.
I have also found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and this hotel is very close to the central station and the 'small square' of Malmo where there are some really good eating venues.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChRoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Malmo Live
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
0.2 mi away
MJ's Hotel
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Malmo
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#12 of 37 in Malmo
1,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Noble House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel Tunneln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel Tunneln

Address: 4 Adelgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malmo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#2 Best Value Hotel in Malmo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#4 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: $99 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel Tunneln 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfair Hotel Tunnlen, is an award winning hotel, situated in the absolute center of Malmö. 150m from the train staion, and 50m from the main shopping street. The building dates back to 1307 and is full of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mayfair Hotel Tunneln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing