We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific breakfast”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This hotel was a positive surprise, even though I like boutique style hotels. The most impressive part is the historic basement restaurant where they also serve the breakfast. It was one of the best breakfasts I have had in a hotel. They have a lot of fruits and excellent juice.
Rooms were squeaky as one might expect in old buildings, but I think it's just nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    298
    66
    10
    1
See reviews for
130
395
50
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Excellent Hotel, very nice, the bedrooms are clean and large.
Good staff. Amazing breakfast, I have never seen that elsewhere!!!! Everyone can find what he likes, no doubt! Location is ideal, central if you want to visit Malmo, next to the restaurants and shops. The train station to go to Copenhague is almost in front of the Hotel and the bus stop to the airport as well.
I highly recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapsw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

PROS~
The location for this hotel is fantastic and close to everything especially the train station if you are taking the airport bus or the train to Copenhagen

Good breakfast selection

Staff is very friendly and helpful ~ They gave us great recommendations on restaurants and things to do

There's a carpet when you first walk through the doors that change daily that welcome you which I thought was cute!

CONS~
I would have given them an excellent but their room differences for a standard double room were very different. We stayed for a night in room 421 our first night and it was tiny and cramped with a low ceiling then we left and went to Copenhagen and when we returned we stayed in room 405 and I honestly thought they gave us an upgrade because it was so big and spacious and had very high ceilings. We actually paid less for the bigger room and when I asked the front desk they said they were classified as the same booking class. hmmmmmmm.

We would stay there again!!!

Room Tip: Room 405!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiDivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germiston, South Africa
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for a night on a business trip. The building is old and historical but the rooms are modern. Getting to the room required quite a journey through corridors, up two flight of stairs and then back down another 2 or 3 fights. The room was large but the bathroom was pretty small. Sufficient though for the short stay. Great bed with a memory foam mattress but a small old TV. Curtains do not block the light too well which is strange as at this time of the year it is light for about 22 hours per day. The breakfast was really good and the staff were very friendly and efficient. It is well located close to the main railway station and very close to the square where everything happens.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperSpeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

positiv: The hotel is near the main attractions. Old buildings are nice made. Staff is friendly
negativ: curtains against light aren't good enough, don't park your car on the sidewalk or bikeline (nor for 5 minutes, police is very unfriendly

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuTvB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Very nice hotel in an old building (cellar from the 14th century!). Rooms are scattered around the building, mine was on the fifth floor and required a couple of stairs/elevators to go to, but that adds to the fun. Real scandinavian, with lots of wood. Parked my car across the street, cheap and safe. Good breakfast too. Incredible value for money (850 SEK!)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bli Bli, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

An experience to stay here, old historic building,many famous members of Scandinavian royalty resided here. The Beatles stayed here. We loved the old photographs, etchings on the walls. The breakfast was the best hotel breakfast we experienced in Scandinavia, & in the most atmospheric dining area. The hotel is well located close to the train station & within walking distance of most Malmo attractions. The only little niggle was that we had to walk up stairs to reception lugging our cases, we are fairly sprightly, in our 70's, but were flagging after 6 weeks on the road & would have appreciated some help.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twosheas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Malmo Live
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
0.2 mi away
Master Johan Hotel
Master Johan Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Malmo
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#11 of 37 in Malmo
1,249 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Hotel View
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 37 in Malmo
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel Tunneln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel Tunneln

Property: Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Address: 4 Adelgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malmo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#4 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel Tunneln 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfair Hotel Tunnlen, is an award winning hotel, situated in the absolute center of Malmö. 150m from the train staion, and 50m form the main shopping street. The building dates back to 1307 and is full of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Mayfair Hotel Tunneln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing