We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast and Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This is perhaps the best hotel I've ever been to as far as morning, accommodations - BREAKFAST. My wife and I (both in our 30's) stayed here for a few nights before going over to Copenhagen. The morning meal is served in the hotel basement that is hundreds of years old. Options are almost unbelievable.

Don't get me wrong, a great breakfast is not something you really expect in a hotel. This is one that if you are in Malmo, you can't miss.

Great staff, good location....

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank taprince101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (878)
There are newer reviews for Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 879 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2012

Well, not quite, but the location is great and the rooms were recently renovated, this was our second time there. The hotel has a romatic charm. It's a 1-minute walk from the central station and it's close to everything. We've stayed in many hotels in Malmo because we party there often, this is one of our favorite hotels.

Room Tip: There is a discotheque downstairs in the front side that goes on until 5 AM during the weekends, so...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank C0CKR0ACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Comfortable hotel with great atmosphere, as centrally located it may be in Malmö. Try to get up early to enjoy their rich breakfast buffet in the caves.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerK16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Have stayed here twice recently on business, it was reccomended by my boss, due to it being different from the standard chain hotels that we normally stay in whilst travelling !! Was not disappointed at all ! Great location, close to the train station and close some of the great bars and restaurants of Malmo; the place is steeped in history , and there are lots of pictures, maps and stories on the walls, you could spend hours just going around and reading them all !! Definitely reccomended for your stay in Malmo !! (the staff are pleasant and very helpful also)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ST2007Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Hotel Tunneln is conveniently located close to Malmo train station, but on a quiet street. The building is very nice and has plenty of character.
Service was always very good (didn't really need anything in particular anyway), staff were always friendly and ready to help.
My room was nice but I would have liked a bit of extra space, the shape of the roof made it feel pretty small. Bed was a bit soft for my liking.
Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice, very good quality.
Generally speaking a good hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel (my wife and I stayed there earlier this year) and it's become my absolute favourite. It's extremely convenient to the train station and major shopping area and very reasonably priced for such a great location. More importantly, the staff is the friendliest and most accommodating I've ever encountered anywhere. I agree what other reviewers have said about the great breakfast the hotel serves. The rooms aren't huge but they're certainly okay (mind you, the shower in the room I had was triangular and tiny!! This may cause some people a bit of discomfort if they plan to spend a lot of time in the shower). You probably won't care for this hotel if you're looking for a 'cookie-cutter' one like those of the big chains. However, if you want a really enjoyable stay at a great and unique hotel, you'd be wise to book a room at the Mayfair Hotel Tunneln. However, I ask that not everyone do so when my wife and I plan to return to it. Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scurtis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

This place is a gem. It is less than a 5 minute walk from Malmo Central railway station. If you want a modern hotel you would probably miss it. Inside, however, the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room the first night was large, overlooked the square but was noisy. We asked for another room for the second night and were very pleased: it was quiet, had a nice bath and bathroom, was very comfortable bed and had loads of character. The best part of the hotel and a big surprise was the breakfast. It was the best breakfast we have ever had anywhere. The scrambled eggs were perfect (unlike any other hotel we have stayed at). The yogurt was rich, the orange juice was fresh, the jams were tasty, the bread was addictive and the taste and freshness of the different dishes was amazing. The hotel had free internet connection. And the price was great. This place is faded glory. As long as you are not looking for a modern hotel, you cannot beat it.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street might be noisy--those facing the courtyard are very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Congress Malmo Live
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
0.2 mi away
MJ's Hotel
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Malmo
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#13 of 37 in Malmo
1,381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Noble House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Hotel Tunneln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Hotel Tunneln

Address: 4 Adelgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Malmo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#4 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: $106 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mayfair Hotel Tunneln 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mayfair Hotel Tunnlen, is an award winning hotel, situated in the absolute center of Malmö. 150m from the train staion, and 50m from the main shopping street. The building dates back to 1307 and is full of history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mayfair Hotel Tunneln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayfair Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing