We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old style hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Kramer

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Kramer
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An old style hotel”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Whenever I am in Malmø on business, I try to get a room at Scandic Kramer. It's an "old style" hotel with grandess that exceeds most of the other Scandic hotels I've stayed at with large rooms and a friedly staff. The location at the large square in the midle of the old town with quite a number of restaurants and outdoor bars within a few few hundred meeters distance and only 5 minutes walh to the central rail station and the horbour, is ideal. Also for shopping there are quite a few opportunities within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geir H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KramerMalmoe, Manager at Scandic Kramer, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for you kind review of Hotel Kramer. As you pointed out it is an old hotel with a charm and story that is hard to find in the modern world. A number of old time celebrities has visited the hotel, such as Karl-Gerhard, Josphine Baker, Maurice Chevalier and King George of England just before he became the King.
We hope to see you here soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    172
    73
    30
    8
See reviews for
45
130
27
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Stayed here for two nights. The Hotel is very convenient for the Railway Station and there are several restaurants and bars in the local area. I ate in the hotel as, at that time of year (February), the town was a bit quiet. I would imagine that in the summer it would be a good place to say.

The room was clean and comfortable although the wooden floors tend to make the whole place noisy, particularly the woman above in the heels! I stayed in a room which was next to the street approaching the square and was woken at stupid o'clock by the dustmen, emptying the shop bins.

Price was okay for Sweden

Room Tip: Try to get one not facing the square or the main street at the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KramerMalmoe, Manager at Scandic Kramer, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your review of Kramer hotel. I hope that you have the opportunity to visit Malmö during the warmer months as the city is a vibrant place with a lot of outdoor restaurants and cafés. For your information the hotel has two styles of rooms, you stayed in our newly renovated Classic side with wooden floor. On the other side we have the Club rooms which goes in a english style with Mahogany and marble, these rooms also has carpet floors.
Welcome back to us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavík
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Stayed there for business and it was nice, friendly, not big of a hotel. The room was clean and I had a good three nights sleep. Breakfast is good and the staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingisund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KramerMalmoe, General Manager at Scandic Kramer, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
We would like to thank you for taking your time evaluating us after your stay and helping us understand what we can do better. During the past months we have done changes to improve our breakfast and give a experience matching the impressive appearance of the building. From what I understand you really do like the fantastic mahogany rooms, I can please you with the information that we will renovate the bathrooms during 2013, however it will be in the same style with marble. We are looking forward to welcome you back at the Kramer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I spent one night. Reception staff was very professional and kind.
The hotel is a hystorical one in the main square of Malmö a stone-throw from a number of restaurants, bars and shops.
My room (in the older wing of the hotel) was rather small but clean. The bed was fine. Negative sides were lack of any kind of amenities (on sale at the reception), and very cold room (outside temperature was warm for a May in Sweden).
Breakfast is average: not outstanding choice but vegetables, fruit and ham/salami were freshly cut. A bit slow replenishment of the trays and caraffes.
Wi-Fi in the room complimentatry but extremely slow.
All in all an average experience but given the price paid (ca. 180 Euro) I would have expected a better room and breakfast. I would recommend it for the great location, but not for the value for money.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the older wing of the building: rooms are not better, but general atmosphere is bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gekokurioso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KramerMalmoe, General Manager at Scandic Kramer, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Google Translation
Scandic Kramer är inhyst i en fantastisk byggnad från 1875 i gamla staden av Malmö. Vi har under 2012 arbetat hårt med både hårdvaran och mjukvaran och tror oss vara på rätt väg mot återskapande av det anrika beryktade Kramer. Vi hoppas att du återkommer till oss och tar del av de förändringar vi har gjort under året. Välkommen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I am staying at the Kramer two or three times per year. I like the location and the building itself, but there is nothing fancy about it, athough the room rates would suggest otherwise. The rooms are clean, but often worn down and, in case of the single ones, very, very small. Breakfast is Scandic standard and staff usually very friendly.

Rates are much lower in the summer and that makes the Kramer an interesting option for families, considering kids are staying for free and breakfast is included.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xpat2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Only thing good about this hotel is their breakfast. Old and worn down it is far from worth it's relatively high price.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrTryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I have stayed at the Kramer for over 250 nights ( I know, embarassing but its business) since 1991.

It has changed owners several times ( independent, scandic, hilton back to scandic, etc.)
The best location, you can walk anywhere.

Get a room in back as the square (Torg) is noisy on weekends. The resteraunt is just OK but the staff is very nice and will do anything but you must ask, its a Swedish thing.

Parking is a real problem however.

Terry M.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terrence64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Elite Hotel Savoy
#12 of 38 in Malmo
475 reviews
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Kramer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Kramer

Property: Scandic Kramer
Address: 7 Stortorget, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Malmo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#12 Family Hotel in Malmo
#14 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Kramer 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotell Kramer was built in 1875 in French neo-Renaissance style with inspiration from the French castles of the Loire Valley. The hotel is situated only 3 minutes walk from central train station and is located on the city square, close to Malmö´s all shops and restaurants. The hotel was partially carefully renovated early 2012 to preserve the charm of the old world.Enjoy drinks on the tea porch or stay for dinner prepared by our award winning chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Kramer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Kramer Malmö
Scandic Kramer Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing