We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and cold rooms”
Review of Scandic Stortorget

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Stortorget
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Small and cold rooms”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I stayed there for 5 days while attending a course "on-site" at the hotel. The location in the middle of Malmö city is great. Large selection of restaurants and stores within 2 minutes walk.

However the hotel itself is worn and tired, the rooms were freezing cold and so small there was hardly any room beside the bed. No designated place for the suitcase, which meant I had to place it on the desk for the entire week.

The course facilities was ok, except that I missed a larger "relaxation" area outside the conference rooms. There was only a hall with three barstools to sit on.

Pluses:
- Very good dinner the one time we ate there
- Location
- Nice breakfast buffet
- "Brunch" delivered outside the conference room

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the renovated part of the hotel (they were renovating on the 1st floor when we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina L, General Manager at Scandic Stortorget, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
First and foremost, I would like to thank you for taking the time and effort in writing a review of Rica Hotel Malmö. We appreciate both direct and indirect feedback on our product and services as this enables us to continually improve the level of service we deliver to our guests on a daily basis.
I´m pleased to read that you were satisfied with several things during your stay at the hotel.
We have several different room categories, budget, standard, superior and delux rooms. I suppose that the room you hired was a budget room and it is small. I always recommend a guest to choose a higher category if the guest stays more than one night.
I´m sorry to read that your room was freezing cold. It shouldn´t be. Did you tell the Front Office so that we could repair the heating?
During this period we are renovating bathrooms on the first floor and painting some other rooms. We are also planning to renovate our conference area in April.
Yes, we don´t have any large area for coffee breaks directly nearby the conference rooms. Therefore we always tell our conference guests to use our restaurant area on the same level as the conference.
Once again, I appreciate the feedback about the hotel and please contact me directly so that we can sort out the questions.
With best regards
Nina Lund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    150
    98
    28
    12
See reviews for
46
133
24
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Most of the hotel personnel were quite friendly and knowledgeable. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast had a good variety of food. Bathroom was "cold". Not much heat wasted in any part of this hotel!! Very expensive for the size of the rooms. Originally when we booked, we booked for 3 people but when we checked in, we told the lady at the desk that we were only 2 people. She said that was fine and gave us the room designed for 3. Lots of people were checking in at the same time. On checkout, we were charged as if the 3 persons were in the room. The difference in rates between 2 and 3 in the room is way too much. We know of another similar situation where they were charged for only the 2 people occupying the room. We wonder why the same rules do not apply to all guests.

Room Tip: Do not book rooms at the front of the hotel as the flag flapping in the wind is quite noisy and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdmcdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina L, Front Office Manager at Scandic Stortorget, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time in writing a review for our hotel. We appreciate feedback, whether it is positive or negative, as a means of ensuring we deliver on Rica Hotels vision of being the hotel chain which is best at giving each and every one of our guests a positive guest experience.

On this occasion, it would seem from the information provided in your comments, that we fell short of delivering on this vision. It is chiefly the number of guests and of course the room category that determine the price of the room and it would seem that our receptionist missed the opportunity to correct the price on check-in.

Whilst Rica hotels, as an environmentally friendly labelled hotel, does work extensively with waste reduction and smart energy solutions, it is of course not in our interests to save energy on areas where it can negatively impact on our guests hotel stay. I can assure you that we do all we can to ensure our rooms and bathrooms are warm as well as clean and nicely decorated.

Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our breakfast. Our breakfast concept, which we have developed together with the Swedish Culinary Olympic team is an important part of our service offering and one that we have now developed even further with the launch of our new improved Good Morning breakfast concept from the month of February. Central to the development have been the increase in variety of fresh breads, healthy smoothies and wider selection of special requirement foods such as gluten-free and lactose intolerant varieties.

I apologise for our shortcomings on this occasion. You are welcome to contact me personally on 0046406609552 or colin.barry@rica.se and I would gladly look into the specifics of your stay with us and ensure we rectify the situation to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Great breakfast! Nice personnel and very central location. On the bad side really small room for the price with a double bed like a hammock. "Exercise room" a joke. Three bad bikes, an old tv and sauna in a room nobody cared about in 30 years...

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Skommis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Located in the heart of the vibrant Stortorget area of the city this hotel gave us a great base for a 3 day stay in the city. The hotel was good, we had selected one of the cheaper rules so as expected our room was quite cosy and the beds weren't huge but the room served a purpose. The staff were kind and very helpful, offering us suggestions of things to do around town.

The only downside we found was the noise. During the Friday and Saturday nights the partying in the central square went on in to the early hours. This was very noticeable from the room and made sleeping quite difficult. In hindsight it would have been better to join the partygoers than trying to get an early night!

My girlfriend and I loved Malmo. Couldn't recommend it enough in the summer months for fabulous weather, beaches, atmosphere and more. Like all of Scandanavia it is not cheap so come armed with a fair bit of spending money. This hotel gave us a central base camp in this great city and therefore no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxFox1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stopped overnight due to a business trip and it was a comfortable hotel... Basic furniture but with a good quality sleep! The bathroom is simple but well disposed with basic amenities. The breakfast is good, with good variety of food... The personnel is very kind. I think it's a little bit expensive for what it has to offer. The location is good for visiting the city center.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaMilano_Italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
152 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Great and charismatic - I am not using "charismatic" as a substitute for "shabby". In fact, this used to be called Hotel Anglaise - and you can still read the name on those big brass keyholders you get at the lobby...I think this is first time in many years I got a hotel with a normal key, not a keycard...and this had some warm feeling to it.

Room was small (1 person room), but very functional and clean, modern amenities. Great selection of food for breakfast and very warm service.

Location is very central, and there is plenty of restaurants around Lillatorg to take dinner or lunch.

One note - if you are easily disturbed by noises - right next to hotel there is a nightclub, open until 3am and I could hear house beats in my room on the 3rd floor. Personally, I am not disturbed by this, and it was not overly loud - but if you are sensitive - ask for a room NOT facing the main square.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise - ask for a room not facing main square, otherwise you willl hear the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Norski_Rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I loved this cosy hotel in the heart of the city. The rooms and bathrooms were lovely, the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and it was a really great location, near the hub of city activity, restaurants and shopping! Enjoyed the wide selection at the breakfast buffet as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Scandic Kramer
#17 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Gamla Staden
Scandic S:t Jorgen
Scandic S:t Jorgen
#15 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
First Hotel Mortensen
First Hotel Mortensen
#29 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Gamla Staden
Moment Hotels
Moment Hotels
#19 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Gamla Staden
Elite Hotel Residens
Elite Hotel Residens
#18 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Stortorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Stortorget

Property: Scandic Stortorget
Address: 15 Stortorget, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Stortorget 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn-of-the-century beige-and brown brick, overlooking Stortorget - Walk to train station, and bridge to Copenhagen Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Scandic Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Stortorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing