We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and cozy but noisy”
Review of Scandic Stortorget

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Stortorget
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice and cozy but noisy”
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Very nice hotel situated in the best part of Malmö. Close to almost everything. We had a nice big room with bathtub, robes, slippers and kettle on the room. The breakfast was amazing, it had everything one can ask for. However, the restaurant/breakfast room was too small. People had to wait to get a table and I even saw people taking their plates to go eat on their rooms because they could not find any where to sit. It was also a bit noisy at night. There is a nightclub (maybe even two?) situated in the same house so we could hear loud music when we tried to go to sleep.

But despite this, Rica hotel Malmö is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. I can warmly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mullibull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    153
    99
    29
    12
See reviews for
47
137
25
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Not to spoil my weekends to much when having to go on a business trip on Sweden I normally take one of the last flights in to Copenhagen airport, just cross the bridge and crash at The Rica for a couple of hours sleep and a good breakfast before I continue with my trip on mondays.

When mondays mornings are generally not the best time of the week, this hotel will smooth things up for your. Friendly and efficient night reception, nice comfy beds and fantastic break fast for Swedish standards will give your monday mornings a little sparkle.

The one-bed rooms are very small but they are located on the side or inner court, so quiet. Front side rooms can be a bit tricky since the hotel is located on the biggest square in Malmö which is used for festivals. So you might want to check that out and book a preference.

Walking distance from the railway station and loads of parking space just in front of the hotel (if there are no festivals)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

What a great location. Wow! the breakfast was great. Our issue was with the soft bed that just sunk in and was so uncomfortable. Also the two single duvets on a double bed, we had difficulty cuddling without one person not having cover. The staff is hard working, specially at breakfast one member was running around doing all the duties. He really tried. However, as he is the only one doing almost everything the tables were not cleared and etc. etc. ect. That was a problem, specially when the Hotel was pretty full.

Room Tip: When you´re given a choice between the noisy room at the front or the quite at the back, choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Round-TW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We arrived at this hotel after spending overnight at Copenhagen. The difference between the hotel and Copenhagen hotel was astronomical. This is a beautiful comfortable hotel, situated in a prime position in the lovely city of Malmo, easy walking to everything - shopping, dining, sightseeing. We wondered why we had stayed in Copenhagen last night, at greater expense, when we could have stayed much more comfortably here, and just had a short train ride into Copenhagen (30 minutes away). Definitely recommended, this hotel rocks!

Room Tip: Saturday night could be noisy - but you can close your windows and have the air conditoning on, so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreacherylkell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My husband and I have stayed in Malmo many times and in our opinion, the Rica Hotel Malmo is by far the most convenient hotel location-wise. It is right on Stortorg (the main square in Malmo) and Lilletorg (the Little Square) is right around the corner. If you arrive by train, it's a very short walk from the station. There's paid parking right outside the hotel if you are traveling by car.

Our room was on the small side but spotlessly clean. The bathroom was really pretty and I love the fact that the floor tiles are heated- pure luxury! The bed was a little soft for us but there were nice bed linens and good pillows.

Breakfast was great! There was a huge spread with everything imaginable. Lots of fresh fruit and veggies, different types of eggs, all kinds of bread ( freshly baked rolls, french bread, Swedish rye, pastries) smoked ham and turkey, sausages, cheese galore, etc, etc. The coffee was great and they even came by our table 2-3 times to fill up our cups.

The employees at the reception desk were friendly and helpful, as were the kitchen personnel.

All in all, a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the square have a great view, but can be noisy at night because of the nearby bars and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel is old, it has spacious halls and small rooms, it's been recently reconditioned.
The room was clean and neat; the bathroom floor tiles are heated and comfortable.
It's great for a party night; there are about 100 pubs and public parking...so make sure you ask for a room somewhere in the back if you want a good sleep.
The breakfast was better than average.

Room Tip: Avoid proximity to the discotheque, ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0CKR0ACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlshamn, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

As I mentioned in the title, Rica Hotel Malmö is located in the very centre of the city, overlooking "Stortorget" with the gorgeous courthouse on the opposite side of the square. If you wish to commute there's only a five minut to walk to the central station standing in your way. If your tummy starts to rumble, it's a mere one minut walk to "Lilla Torg", which is an extremely cozy square with a large range of restaurants to choose between (I recommend "La Roche").

The building is old-school - but that only adds to the charm.

The rooms were ok.

The breakfast buffet was actually designed by the top chefs of Sweden, and my goodness it's noticeable! The fruit assortment is splendid, there are a lot of cheeses to choose between, and there's a juicer available that enables you to make your own freshly sqeezed orange juice. YUM!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasdf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Scandic Kramer
#17 of 37 in Malmo
424 reviews
Gamla Staden
Scandic S:t Jorgen
Scandic S:t Jorgen
#15 of 37 in Malmo
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Master Johan Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
823 reviews
Gamla Staden
First Hotel Mortensen
First Hotel Mortensen
#29 of 37 in Malmo
137 reviews
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Stortorget? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Stortorget

Property: Scandic Stortorget
Address: 15 Stortorget, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Stortorget 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turn-of-the-century beige-and brown brick, overlooking Stortorget - Walk to train station, and bridge to Copenhagen Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Stortorget reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing