We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great experience in Malmo.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A great experience in Malmo.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here in August 2013 while attending a conference in nearby Lund. Hotel was a convenient 5-10 minute walk from the Malmo central train station. Also a short 5-10 minute walk to the two main squares with restaurants and shopping. The room (a regular room) was gigantic (and we're used to North American room sizes!). Tons of space, we were very pleased. Bed was comfortable, the room was clean, the bathroom was a good size. Our rate included breakfast every morning and it was always tasty with a good selection of hot and cold items as you'd expect in Sweden. Only negatives were some noise due to renovations of nearby rooms, but not the hotel's fault. Our first room had a dysfunctional TV but we were moved to a new room quickly. Nothing particularly fancy, but the staff were always very pleasant and helpful, the place was clean and in a good location, and it had a good price. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee_west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVD, Hotelldirektör at Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback and for staying at the Radisson Blu Hotel Malmo. The renovation was from the nearby shopping mall Caroli, and I do apologize for any inconvenience caused. Welcome back next time you plan to vivit Malmo.

Regards
Christian Herslow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    430
    108
    13
    3
See reviews for
212
289
36
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kalix, Sweden
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Clean and fresh rooms with a very lot of space, and a good working spot. Modern style and furnishing.Close to the city and public transportations, shopping, restaurants and everything you need. Nice and kindly staff . A big breakfastbuffet was included.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVD, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback from your recent stay with us. I appreciate your comments and will share them with the rest of my team. Welcome back next time you visit Malmö.

Regards
Christian Herslow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I noticed some mixed reviews, but our family's experience was very good when we stayed for four nights in August.

This is a smart hotel convenient for the city centre and the central rail station.

The bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious and promptly serviced each day. Reception staff were friendly, efficient and helpful.

Free wifi was good.

Breakfast was excellent, with a large and frequently replenished buffet choice - both cold and hot items were included in the room rate which set us up for the day.

They had obviously been upgrading rooms and this will probably add to the experience when this
programme is completed but in any case we would recommend the Radisson Blu for a good value and comfortable stay in Malmo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myopinionWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVD, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Hotel Malmö and for sharing your feedback with us. Welcome back next time you plan to visit Malmö.

Regards
Christian Herslow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I spent 2 nights here together with my elderly mother! The staff were extremely kind and helpful, the situation very central, the business class room was ideal for us and the breakfast Smorgasbord was fabulous! All in all very satisfied

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVD, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback during your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Malmö. Welcome back next time you plan to visit Malmö.

Regards

Christian Herslow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We, a family of 4, were spending 2 nights at the hotel recently.
The location of the hotel is good, in walking distance to all the attractions. Unfortunately this is the only positive thing to mention!

Room
The size of the room on the 6th floor was big. But as apparently the sofa bed did not work anymore, the staff put an additional bed for the children in the middle of the living room, with the effect that you could hardly walk around anymore.
The air condition was so lousy, that we preferred to open the window in the night to benefit from the outside temperature (which were are record high level during our stay...). During the day the temperature clearly rose to close to 30 degree in the room.
The bathroom is full of light, which is great.
Unfortunately impossible to use the bath tub, as the plug was missing.

Service
Not good at all. Nobody notices you when you are trying to check in (staff too busy with other things).
We left our room at 11am to visit the attractions, and we were back at around 5pm. Room not serviced. I called the reception (which was difficult as one of the telephones was not connected properly) which told me that they will send someone. I asked what was the problem? "Oh you know, we have over 200 rooms". No excuse which I found quite rude.
The service in the restaurant which we used only for breakfast is good.
Unacceptable service though in the bar. We were sitting on a nice sofa next to the bar. The guy behind the bar had no interest to serve us, so I walked there to aks for a drink menu. Apparently they have no interest in the hotel to serve the tables in the lobby bar (quite many of them), you always have to walk to the bar if you want to order something. In my view just poor service and lazyness of the staff. We were deciding for the summer promotion (pink champaign), which is announced everywhere in the hotel. "Oh, we don´t have that anymore". I was really upset and not ordering anything. But of course that didn´t matter to the service staff at all.

Check out was fast and efficient. However, I wanted to pay the parking and handed over the garage card. "Oh, you have to pay at the machine down there, that is the least expensive way". Is that good service?

I stay at least 100 nights per year in hotel rooms. This was one of the poorest stays. Clearly a lack of management capabilities visible here. Radisson should take consequences.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwissTravellerone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a business class room on highest floor at a very good price through Booking.com. Huge room with desk, sofa and flat screen. Bathroom with tub and floor heating. Very nice! Service could be a lot better, though. We asked for extra shower gel and shampoo (there was none) extra towels, pillows and hangers and this was brought by a rude lady that showed almost no will to do her job. At breakfast I had to wait for ages for an espresso because the staff didn't speak English, in the bar the bartender was a non service minded fellow with an unfriendly attitude and the first time the reception sent me to the 5. floor even though I had especially asked for highest floor when I booked. Breakfast is good. Bed is good. View from room is not good (inner yard and buildings). Location okay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spirits-in-the-night
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVD, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Hotel Malmö and for sharing your feedback with us. I do aplogize for what you experienced during the breakfast. I will look into this urgently. Let me know next time you plan to visit Malmö.

Kind Regards

Christian Herslow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
116 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Location is very good, just a short walk to the town hall and main shopping street (and railway station if you come by train).

If you arrive by car and have light luggage you may head to the "Caroli Garaget", from where you have direct access to the lobby via a short ramp of stairs (no lift).
The garage entrance is on Kattsundsgatan: if you have the hotel on the left, you turn left and find the garage entrance on the left after the church.
You can swipe your credit card on entry and exit or take a ticket and get an exit ticket from the hotel.
Check in was quick and I was assigned a business class room on the 6th floor.

The room was enormous, approximately 45 sqm I would say.
There was a king bed with scandinavian ultra-thin mattress (which was more comfortable than expected), an wardrobe with electronic safe, a large luggage stand, a 37" TV with some international channels, Nespresso machine, minibar with drinks and a few snacks.
The TV could be rotated to be viewed either from the bed or from the two armchairs on the opposite side of the long room.
A large ceiling lamp provided light in the central part of the room while a floor lamp was between the armchairs together with a small round table.
A large desk with lamp, telephone and armchair (no wheels) was in the corner near the other armchairs, also in good position for watching the TV.
There were shuko sockets both at the desk and on the nightstands.
The room appeared recently renovated and sufficiently clean; the outside of the windows may have used some cleaning.

The bathroom was large enough but unfortunately the shower was in the tub with a glass screen.
There was a strange tap for tub/shower where you have to rotate the spout to switch water from the spout itself to the shower.

Wireless internet was available, free per Radisson policy, and worked well, VoIP included.

The room service menu was really extremely limited; service prompt.

Breakfast in the restaurant was good enough, although there was no packaged yoghurt nor pastries, as in most scandinavian hotels.
Melon and water melon were available in slices with full outer skin on trays.

Although the general ambiance may deserve 3.5 stars, the large renovated rooms and the helpful and very professional staff justify the 4 tripadvisor stars.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberto P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerVD, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Radisson Blu Hotel Malmö. I am very happy to read your feedback related to your stay. I will be delighted to share your comments with the rest of my team. I would alos like to welcome you back next time you plan to visit Malmö.

Regards

Christian Herslow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Master Johan
#2 of 38 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Quality Hotel View
#3 of 38 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo

Property: Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo
Address: 10 Oestergatan, Malmo 211 25, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Malmo
#3 Family Hotel in Malmo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo 4.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated contemporary seven-story Hotel located just minutes from the Central Station and close to shopping districts and restaurants. 229 Rooms, 25 meeting rooms, lobby bar, wine lounge and a restaurant with eco-local food. We have the largest hotel rooms in Scandinavia with an average of 43 square meters in size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Rezidor, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Hotel, Malmo Hotel
Radisson Hotel Sas Malmo
Radisson Hotel Malmö
Radisson Malmo
Malmö Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing