We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Astoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astoria Hotel
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“Close to everything!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Very nice hotel in the centre of Malmoe! It was close to everything.
Nice service 24 hours and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast with scrambled eggs and Swedish meatballs!!! We had lovely weather and had our breakfast outside on the porch.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtLoverCph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver P, Receptionschef at Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Google Translation
Hej,
Vad glada vi blir för din härliga recension! Kul att ni också gillade frukosten som vi satsat på och gjort om lite i år! Ni är varmt välkomna tillbaka!

Vänliga hälsningar
Oliver
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    27
    27
    11
    4
See reviews for
10
20
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here for 6 nights and it was lovely and with friendly, helpful staff. I was given a bigger room than I'd booked which was great. Best thing is the breakfast - great quality and lots of choice - cereals, yoghurt, dried and fresh fruit, eggs, cheese and meat, fabulous bread and crispbread and endless tea/coffee. There were even some lovely biscuits at breakfast! Free wifi which is handy and the location was great for everything - university, station and the lovely old town. Malmo is great and definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: My room on the 4th floor at the front was fine. Thought there would be traffic noise but it was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielsk Podlaski, Poland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very poor hotel. It's only advantage is the localization - near the central station, main market square and Lilla Torg. And price was better than in other hotels that I looked for, but not so much better to accept some Astoria's problems.
First of all the hotel looks old and dirty - like it hasn't been renovated for many years. E.g. in my room I had hole in the wall and dirty linens (i mean second set from the closet - I lived in double bedroom and my linen was quite ok but in cold night I needed second one).
Rooms were quite big, but very foolishly planned. I had very small window in one corner of the room - in other parts I had to have lights switched on even during the day. In other room we had wardrobe near the window not at the entrance and with doors wedging the table. In my room window was impossible to open and the room had no ventilation whatsoever, so while it wasn't very warm (but it would be during the summer) I had all the time very unpleasant smell in my room. On the other hand there is no heating in bathroom... They were rooms on the 4th floor, but the only sight through the window was the wall of nearby building and escape stairs.
Contrary to rooms corridors were very narrow and claustrophobic. One goes to the lift from the dining room and literally departes just in front of own room doors.
Breakfast was very, very poor, small quantity and diversity. And nothing warm!!! (ok, one could make a toast, or eat an egg, but no scrambled eggs or even sausages...)
I will never go there again.

Room Tip: not on the 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakub G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malmo hotels

Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice, clean room, quiet by night. Friendly and Helpfull staff, feeling like home. Great location near central train station - easy to travel from/to Copenhagen, Göteborg. Also many restaurants and shopping area are in neighborhood.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in this Hotel several times years ago, and I received a very warm welcome, great location, could not be better to see this lovely Town/City

Malmo is often the poor Cousen of Copenhagen accross the Sound but it should not be.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed two nights in this hotel. The location is fantastic, you can't get much closer to the centre of the old town than here. The staff, a mother and daugher were very helpful and some of the friendliest we met in Sweden - this really added to our enjoyment and wasn't always easy to find in other hotels. Rooms were a little older, but very big, clean and very comfortable. Would recommend booking ahead of time as we were over charged when turned up on the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller59togo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The Astoria is well situated, very close to great restaurants, shopping, park, central station. You can walk everywhere! I believe it is a family run hotel and they do a good job. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and did whatever they could to make us feel at home. We really enjoyed the buffet breakfast that was included... fresh food, good choices, well presented. The rooms are nice and included everything we needed. The Astoria in Malmö is definitely great value and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceg138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Moment Hotels
Moment Hotels
#18 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Gamla Staden
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#21 of 38 in Malmo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Scandic Stortorget
Scandic Stortorget
#27 of 38 in Malmo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Gamla Staden
Elite Hotel Residens
Elite Hotel Residens
#16 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#10 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astoria Hotel

Property: Astoria Hotel
Address: 7 Graabroedersgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Astoria Malmo)
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Astoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer our guests a quiet and cozy atmosphere with Malmoe's fantastic range of entertainment is just around the corner. You will find us in the beautifully preserved district of the Old Town, "Gamla Vaster" with just a few minutes walking distance to Lilla Torg and Malmo Central Station. Our lush courtyard is a relaxing oasis during the warmer months and in our breakfast area tea and coffee is at your convenience. Whether you are visiting us privately or you are traveling for business, we would like you to have a pleasant and comfortable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing