We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location & hotel but watch out for the taxi scam”
Review of Teaterhotellet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Teaterhotellet
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Sydney
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good location & hotel but watch out for the taxi scam”
Reviewed October 30, 2010

The hotel was in a good location just a couple of minutes walk from the main shopping street and the room was fine, comfortable and clean. It was good that you could open a window in the room as it was a little bit stuffy and a tiny bit musty smelling. The internet didn't work which was only a small problem but the breakfast was great. Just a word of warning about the taxi drivers from the central station - my driver told me there was a flat rate of 200 kroner from the station which I naively believed, not thinking I'd get scammed in a country like Sweden. I also had done no research on exactly where my hotel was so when he pulled up ten minutes later the charge did seem extreme. I asked the hotel what the fare should be and ws told between 60 and 80 kroner. They didn't seem fazed when I told them what had happened and indeed my cab driver the next day confirmed that this happens all the time. So just be warned - if they tell you there's a flat rate there isn't!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oz2_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    43
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
12
44
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Teaterhotellet was a good value for our money. The hotel was a 15-20 minute picturesque walk from the Malmo Central train station. The hotel was also clean and in a very safe area. The rooms are small, but just fine for an affordable and cozy European hotel. Just around the corner and down the way is the pedestrian street with the all of the shops, ATMs, and eating establishments that you could want. The breakfast was incredible, with cheese, bread, jellys and jams, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, Swedish sausage, four types of cold cuts, smoked salmon, herring in a sweet sauce, fruit, pickles, four or five types of cereals, three flavors of yogurt, dried fruit, fresh squeezed orange juice, apple juice, milk and coffee. I highly recommend this hotel and Malmo as a whole. If you are looking for the Hilton go to the Hilton, but if you want an authentic Swedish hotel, this is the place. We hope to return one day.;

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wewant2seetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2008

We spent a week at Teaterhotellet in Malmo and we were very pleased. The hotel is small but cozy. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They offer a complimentary breakfast each morning, which comes complete with great smoked salmon. The hotel is only a few short blocks to the center of town and its an easy walk.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DebinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

I found the hotel comfortable and welcoming. Some other reviews are correct - it isn't much from the outside - but inside it is quite pleasant. My room was very clean, refurbished, and very quiet. I slept like a log. I arrived early from the airport in Copenhagen and the manager on duty offered coffee/snacks while she made sure a room was ready for early check in.
It's a short walk to shopping and restaurants. I really enjoyed my stay and would gladly stay there the next time I visit Malmö.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwcii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

The hotel's location is not good (as I found out after a 30 minute walk ;)) if you need to access the Malmo Massan exhibition centre, but it's relatively close to the center of the city and there's plenty of interesting places near the hotel.

The hotel looks a bit dingy, but dont let that fool you. For the price, it's very good. The lobby is very small and the restaurant is next to it. There's no real place to just chill out in the lobby. The breakfast was excellent.

The rooms are small and in typical Scandinavian style very sparse. felt more like an old dorm room than a hotel room. The bed was good though, the room spacious enough. The bathroom was very clean, but also very small. I could hardly fit my toiletries on the small. You are not going to want to spend much time in the room.

The hotel does feature wireless internet, but despite the wifi access point being next to the door of my room, it worked like crap. I had to go down to the lobby to be able to use the net and since there' s only two chairs there, most of the time, I couldn't work down there.

For the price, this is an okay place to explore Malmo, but if you are on business, go somewhere else.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Lack of proper internet access
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RiotPelaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 24, 2006

I have no idea what the other reviewers are talking about. My room was newly refurbished and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The staff couldn't do enough for me - even staying up to the middle of the night to welcome me by name when I arrived. It is such good value for money in a country where hotels are expensive.

And the location is very good - just round the corner from where the airport bus picks up passengers.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank VeroniqueLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2006

Great location, but it's an old building which needs to be upgraded. They accept Hotel Express (50% discount) and it's like they say: you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Astoria Hotel
Astoria Hotel
#32 of 37 in Malmo
95 reviews
Gamla Staden
Moment Hotels
Moment Hotels
#18 of 37 in Malmo
318 reviews
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 37 in Malmo
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#20 of 37 in Malmo
490 reviews
The More Hotel
#25 of 37 in Malmo
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teaterhotellet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teaterhotellet

Property: Teaterhotellet
Address: Fersens vag 20 | Rånngatan, Malmo 211 42, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Teaterhotellet 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Teaterhotellet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teaterhotellet Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing