We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something's not quite right here.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Good Morning+ Malmo
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Something's not quite right here.....”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Location: easy to find by the highway, but in a residential area, and suspect not the best. Front of the hotel dominated by refurbishment workers dossed out smoking.

Parking: extremely complicated, pay extra for parking, must get code from the hotel receoption. Once in the car park it is difficult to get out as a pedestrian: there is a pedestrian exit but the code pad is so temperamental it takes about 10 goes to get the gate to open. Considering what they charge they need to invest in the car park.

Rooms: ours was newly refurbished in the new Ibis style with wooden floors. Quite nice. However the window was covered by an advert draped over the hotel so didn't really function as a window. I'd rather they didn't do this.

Bathroom: newly renovated and clean. Unusual shower door design. Heating was on in the bathroom and could not be turned off: so unnecessary for August!

Restaurant: the hotel has a large and closed restaurant. Instead a limited range of pre-packaged, expensive, microwaved meals are available. Not much alternative around the hotel.

For a newly refurbished Ibis it is disappointing that the ancillary services are such poor value for money.

Room Tip: Another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n37077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorseHotels, General Manager at Good Morning+ Malmo, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hello,
thank You for Your review. We are grateful for opinions about our hotel, either they are positive or negative.
It is right that our hotel is under construction and we have, during this year, totally renovated all parts in the hotel. We are very proud to soon have a very nice, modern and fresh product in the middle of Malmö area. There are still some work to do, that is why we have workers and also construction material at some dedicated areas outside and in the hotel.

Concerning our code pad at the parking area, we had a look and have fixed this, though it works with pressing the numbers hard and with slow moves.

The banner which hangs on a small part of our facade, is made in a material which lets air flow through the cloth, so even if the guests open the window, it will be fresh air in to the room.

Our a la carte restaurant is open every night Monday to Saturday until 23.00 PM and on Sundays we have the bar open and offers a smaller menue with home made meals. During the summer period this year, we had fresh sousvide food at Sundays. We have changed this from September.

We are happy to hear that You liked our new style after refurbishment. We are always working to be at best service and the guests opinions are very valuable. I wish You warm welcome to us again.

Susanna Bodi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    238
    136
    38
    18
See reviews for
78
195
58
125
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I travel a lot for work and wasn't able to book my normal hotel as it was fully booked so came here. It is going under reburshisment at the moment but this was not on their website.

The rooms are very basic and while I found it on the whole clean, I found that I had to ask for everything I needed and then a lot of time I the answer was it was chargable.

The service wasn't very good and I had to wait 45 minutes for a taxi although I requested one three times and there were lots coming that morning, just not mine, even when I reminded the reception staff.

There was no air-conditioning in the rooms and the windows would barely open. When I asked for a fan I got a very blank look from reception and then given the smallest fan possible which didn't do anything. I found all the reception staff I met not particulary friendly and they were hard work.

I wouldn't stay here again, you get a much better hotel for not much more money available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Norway
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

When the hotel is doing a lot of maintaining work. it would be nice is they informed about it on the net. It was not pleasent that when we slept a little in the afternoon, somebody (worker?) just entered the room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorkva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Rooms were clean but quite ugly and a bit smelly. The bedcloths smelled as if they fell into an ashtray (they propably did). The staff varies: Our checkin lady was neither helpful nor friendly, but her colleagues (later in the evening and the next morning) were.

Ergo: If you spend 10eur more ( and you calculate everything they charge extra in Ibis: Internet, Parking) you can most likely do much better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank effendi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

An above average IBIS located on Stadiongaten outside Malmo City Centre, handy for the nearby FF Malmo football stadium. Good value particularly for Scandinavia i spent three nights here for £44 a night. Rooms are standrd IBIS type, with bed, TV, wardrobe etc with a modern shower. Breakfast is available at extra cost in the restaurant on the ground floor and is buffet style with hot and continental options. The hotel is very close to Malmo's Swedbank Stadium and may attract football fans when Malmo have an home fixture.

The hotel is a couple of KM from Malmo Centrum and the number 6 bus runs from near the hotel to Triangein.

Overall a good value Ibis, no complaints, friendly staff and a good stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clembo1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peasmoldtown
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

In my experience, Ibis hotels in Sweden tend to be a bit more expensive and lower quality than in other countries. But this was a pleasant exception. Actually ALL hotels in Sweden are expensive, so this is not really a valid criticism. You do need to pay extra for the car paring, and the covered garage is even more. It would at least have been helpful to see this as a clear option - with the price - when booking online. LOCATION - Surrounded by dreary 1970s appartment blocks, it's not in the nicest part of town, but the walk to the centre is an easy 20-25 minutes, so it's reasonably well situated. ROOMS - The renovations about which some earlier reviewers complain have at least produced very nice refurbished rooms like the one I was given. VALUE FOR MONEY - Ibis pricing policy is nothing to do with room service or quality, but purely based on how early you book, and whether you do so on a non-refundable basis. This said, I do think it's high time for Ibis to make free high-speed wifi the norm, like most other chain hotels. The hotel trade needs the internet so the favour should be reciprocated! One thing that really irritated me was that, despite my confirmation stating clearly that the room was pre-paid, the check-in assistant asked me to pay by credit card. I obviously refused and asked for the manager, who then backed her up, saying that 'we don't charge your card in advance, whatever it says on your receipt'. My response was that if she felt justified in charging my card I certainly wasn't going to pay extra uo front, and will carefully check my card statement. I have never before experienced anything like this, when checking in to a prepaid room in an Ibis. However, since this is a major chain, I don't think there is anything genuinely fishy going on, just a communications failure between the hotel and the parent company. All the same, it is disconcerting and inconvenient, especially if the card charges that you thought had already been paid start to mount up during a trip. And I WILL check my card statements carefully, of course. <<Ibis, please clean up your procedures. If the confirmation says pre-paid that's exactly what it must be, according to the law>>. On other matters- the beds are COMFORTABLE, the TV channels minimal (but who cares), the breakfast is standard (but still better than in Scandic, a theoretically fancier chain where I stayed the previous night on the trip) and the bathroom was pleasant. Everything was faultlessly clean. On balance, I'd recommend this place, but the management need to sort out the pricing and charging issues promptly, to keep the customers coming and to stay within the law.

Room Tip: go for the high flooor where rooms are refurbished
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeasmoldWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Stopped over a weekend at Malmo, managed to book the hotel at last minute after considering parking, wifi , location , quality and costs aspect, it was a good decision! The hotel is close to the centrum (3mim drive) with secured parking at a fees (10euro ?), but worth it. A code will use to acces the parking , you can leave through a one way out small gate in the car park to leave the car behind.

The staff at reception is friendly and helpful. Hotel room is clean and seems lime just renovated. The location is quiet too. Therr is bar with tv if you would like to hangout there at night for a drink. Breakfast room is also available but it is not included in room. With the price we pay 57 euro per room we are happy with the choice. I have stayed in many Ibis before so far this is the best.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Moment Hotels
Moment Hotels
#18 of 37 in Malmo
332 reviews
Teaterhotellet
#29 of 37 in Malmo
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel View
#5 of 37 in Malmo
824 reviews
Gamla Staden
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#21 of 37 in Malmo
547 reviews
Gamla Staden
Scandic S:t Jorgen
Scandic S:t Jorgen
#16 of 37 in Malmo
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Morning+ Malmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Morning+ Malmo

Property: Good Morning+ Malmo
Address: 21 Stadiongatan, Malmo 217 62, Sweden (Formerly Mercure Hotel Malmö)
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Good Morning+ Malmo 3*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good Morning+ Malmö is a newly refurbished hotel for convenient business travel, productive meetings and special weekends getaways. In addition to elegant hotel rooms and a restaurant that serves up superb culinary experiences, we also provide a personal service beyond the ordinary. Good Morning+ Malmö is located next to the Stadionmässan Exhibition Centre and close to the Malmö Arena and Swedbank Stadium. Only a 10-minutes walk away to the centre of Malmö, where you can relax at the restaurants around Möllevångstorget, shop on Södergatan or simply the city life with all the lovely cafés. The hotel is close to the Öresund region's landmark building, Turning Torso, and an express train will whisk you off to Copenhagen and continental Europe in less than half an hour. Our stylishly refurbished hotel rooms are well equipped featuring a modern and tasteful design. Free WiFi and a generous breakfast buffet are always included when you stay at a Mercure Hotel. The restaurant brings a modern touch of France to both the menu and the interior, while a wide selection of quality wines by the glass takes the dining experience to another level. Visit the hotel bar for an aperitif before dinner or delightful after-dinner drinks. At the Good Morning+ Malmö we are able to host meetings for two people or conferences for larger parties with over 400 participants. We'll tailor the program and our facilities to your specific needs. To recharge your batteries, why not make the most of our fitness and relaxation center with sauna. Our gym is open 05.00 am - 22.30 pm. Parking is available right outside the hotel. Welcome to the great value hotel with the generous spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Good Morning+ Malmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Malmo
Malmö Ibis
Ibis Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing