We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly good value in central hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
First Hotel Mortensen
Ranked #29 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazingly good value in central hotel”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed here while at a conference in Lund - the hotel was a third of the price of any in Lund and it's only 10 mins by train between the cities. I would guess it's a 19th century building, so high ceilings and rather faded, but clean with helpful friendly staff and plentiful buffet breakfast. No, it's not swish, but it's right between the two main squares (yet quiet in the evenings, even though the Malmo festival was on when I was there) and, as I said, a VERY low price for Sweden. I paid about £300 for 7 nights - incredible.

Room Tip: If you value aesthetics over price, avoid rooms looking onto the inner courtyard - it's just a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professor_Null
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    62
    25
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
57
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is an old hotel - with the slowest lift I have seen for long - but what a nice place it is. Friendly staff, good well-sized single-room, pretty fast wi-fi, fine cleaning, great bed and a good breakfast. What more to expect?. If you are in for a pizza there's a nice pizza-restaurant going out of the hotel - to the left -and then turning right at the first corner. The hotel is located very close to all restaurants in Malmö in a nice setting.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank henningn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just returned back from Malmo, the hotel was in a perfect position, excellent breakfast, room was basic but very clean and comfy bed. Don't expect a view from a single room - good value

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillericayBaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very convinient hotel in the old town, a short walk from Central station, easy to find. The staff were wonderful, I asked for a quiet room (I didn't mind small as long as it was quiet) and I didn't hear any noise for my entire stay. Air conditioned room as well to keep me nice and cool. Room was cleaned every day with fresh towels provided. Fantastic buffet breakfast that included cereals, porridge, juices, hot food (including swedish meatballs), cheeses, fruits, salad and a choice of bread. The reception and breakfast area are clean, bright, new and comfortable. Free wi-fi. I really enjoyed this hotel and the staff looked after me well.

Room Tip: Internal rooms are very quiet and airconditioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runitloveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
255 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

We spent a night here, enroute from Copenhagen to Lund. It's a 10-minute walk from the train station - and easy to find - and two minutes away from both Stortorget (the main square) and Lille Torg (the smaller, and nice square, in my opinion). Check in was quick and friendly; the room was spacious clean and comfortable; breakfast was good with a wide enough choice to suit most palates.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prufreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

A small welcoming hotel in the centre of Malmo's old town. A short walk from the Central Station.

Wecoming receptionist. Speedy check in.

The ground floor houses reception and breakfast room which doubles as a lounge and bar. . Clean, traditional rooms, free wi-fi, comfortable bed, work area, shower (no bath).

Room Tip: Ssk ofr a higher street view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woimble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

A very conveniently-located hotel in the historic centre of Malmö, and in a building with character. Friendly reception and we were given a spacious room on the 1st floor (1st above ground-level) with an adequate bathroom (shower only – although the shower-door leaked out water). The elevator seemed very slow but we had no real need to use it being on the 1st floor. Although a “4-star” hotel it didn’t have the expected “extras” (found in chain-hotels), but that didn’t really matter, especially when only a weekend stay of 2 nights. The buffet breakfast was very good (and happened to be included in the pre-booking). There was also a free internet terminal + a mini-library on our floor hallway. Sound-proofed windows kept out the street noise, and the absence of air-conditioning wasn’t an issue at that time of year (and no need of heating either).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexyleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Moment Hotels
Moment Hotels
#19 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Duxiana Malmo
#24 of 37 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Gamla Staden
Scandic Stortorget
Scandic Stortorget
#27 of 37 in Malmo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Gamla Staden
Hotel Garden
Hotel Garden
#21 of 37 in Malmo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Mortensen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Mortensen

Property: First Hotel Mortensen
Address: 45 Baltzarsgatan, Malmo 211 36, Sweden (Formerly Hotel Baltzar)
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — First Hotel Mortensen 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your First Hotel Mortensen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baltzar Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing