We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”
Review of Scandic Segevang

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Segevang
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Karlstad, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This is a disastrous hotel, which I can not recommend anyone to choose. Of all the hundreds of hotels I spent the night at in my life, this is one of the three most unhygienic. There was dust everywhere, and the bathroom floor was heavily dirty. There were lots of cobwebs on the windows (see picture) and plenty of spiders on the walls and windows. It looked like the room had not been visited by cleaners in months.
Most likely, most of the rooms are better than the one we got, but it says its worse part about a hotel that rents out a room of this standard.
It was generally a shabby hotel with unattractive corridors and environment.
Cleaning routines would really have to be evaluated by the hotel management.
It is not worth a fraction of the cost to live here.
The only positive thing is that the staff were friendly and service oriented.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrUndertun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    94
    85
    34
    18
See reviews for
118
62
13
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This hotel is an ordinary three star hotel in a suburb to Malmö. I can´t understand why the ordinary prices are so high so look for offers to stay there or choose another hotel.

However the hotel is situated so it easily can be reached from the motorway Malmö – Helsingborg and has an own parking lot. Outside there is a swimming pool to be used during the warm summer. The rooms are typical Scandic rooms. Everything you need for a comfortable stay over can be founded but not more than that. If you come to Malmö by train or airplane and not by car, look for another hotel close to the railway station.

The real positive surprise for me was found at the restaurant. Not the food, nor the environment but the staff. During all my visits to hotels and restaurants all over the world, I have never seen so extremely fast and perfect service as here! Two of the male waiters, where all the time looking over the area to find out if some guest would like to order something or to pay etc. I ordered for example a bottle of beer. It took less than one minute to see it on the table. And I heard also other guests comment the good service. Of course, I don’t know if the same staff will work at the restaurant if you go there. But today the restaurant would be a model for other restaurant owners and their staff to visit and learn how to work and handle the guests. There are a lot to learn for most restaurants!

The breakfast was OK with different alternatives for different tastes but not so rich as you can find in Swedish hotels.

Perhaps I also have to say that Malmö today is a town with a high criminality connected to different gangs and unfortunately Segevång isn’t any exception. So if you like to take a walk in the evening, you´d better to choose another hotel or, perhaps, another town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Someishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Good thing with staying in a Scandic hotel is that you know what you get, no frills. Reasonable price pack, including wifi and breakfast. Hotel situated in the outskirts of Malmö so you are dependent on car transport.

Golf course, Malmö-Burlöv GK, adjacent to the hotel. Golf course OK, nothing super duper. Fast check-in as we'd already paid booking via internet. However, check-out took an eternity as staff faced challenges handling the business payment system.

Tried the restaurant. Like it for the breakfast buffet, however a la carte section has room for improvement. Hassles with payment and inattentive service.

Entire hotel and its surroundings is in need of refurbishment. Chafed floors and dated interiors. Probably no uplifts since the early 90s judging from bathroom interior and room phone, for example. But it does its job.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svensktiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

A bit worn hotel in the outskirts of Malmö.
It has got gym, sauna and the rooms are ok, but not fancy.
The best thing is the breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not to far away from the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Swede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlstad, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

The inside of the hotell is a bit better then the outside. This hotel really need a lift up on the exterior! The first impression you get when you park the your car is not positive....! Boring!

But inside it,´s ok and the reception gave very good service. The breakfast is excellent! But remember to be there in time! At 10 am sharp they closed the door for late breakfastguests.
Our room was ok, nothing fancy but for a nigth it´s ok.

A pool both indoor and outdoor if you havethe time for a swim.

Would I come back?
I rather try another hotel in Malmö. Maybe for the location if you are on the road but not for a Malmövisit. Far too long to city of Malmö!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonnon65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gavle, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

+ Outdoorpool with free entrance for hotelguests.
+ Nice price.

- Old and worn hotel.
- Faraway from everything.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanInSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Malmo hotels

Soenderborg, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The Scandic Segevang was cheap, I'll admit that. Thats one of three good things about this hotel. The other two is the staff and the breakfast.

The hotel is very run down, the room felt like it really needed some renovation. Without my GPS I most likely would never have found it, its really on the farthest outskirts of Malmö.

I would have given the hotel 2½ if possible, I still recommend it, but only because its cheap.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Bruns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
2.6 mi away
Scandic Malmo City
Scandic Malmo City
#14 of 37 in Malmo
650 reviews
5.0 mi away
Best Western Malmo Arena Hotel
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Noble House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Quality Hotel View
Quality Hotel View
#5 of 37 in Malmo
751 reviews
3.8 mi away
Good Morning+ Malmo
Good Morning+ Malmo
#23 of 37 in Malmo
524 reviews
3.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Malmo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Segevang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Segevang

Property: Scandic Segevang
Address: Segesvangen, Malmo 212 27, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Segevang 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Segevang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Segevang Malmö
Scandic Segevang Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing