We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scandic Triangeln

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Triangeln
Ranked #9 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
431 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Good central location”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights- someone had recommended this hotel and done the booking. The hotel is very close to the train station straight from Copenhagen airport- around 15 minute journey. It's also within a short walking distance of the university, in one direction, and town centre in the other. My room was clean, comfortable and quiet. There was an excellent choice at breakfast. There really isn't anything to say on the negative side

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    427
    129
    34
    14
See reviews for
217
247
53
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Karlskrona, Sweden
Level Contributor
222 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Scandic Triangeln (former Hilton) is a perfect hotel in the perfect location for a Malmö visit. Triangeln is the end of the central shopping street starting at the downtown railway station. It's about a 2 km walk full of shops, coffee houses and restaurants. The hotel is only 300 m from the opera house and also close to Malmö stadium. The gym is on the top 20th floor with a marvelous view over the city. Breakfast buffet excellent but rooms are getting worn and a face lift will start late 2013.

Room Tip: Ask for connecting rooms if you book more than one room. Then they open service door in between. Goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbyggeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Scandic Hotel Triangeln has one amazing selling point which is the excellent views from the transparent lifts and from your hotel room. However, the Scandic needs better management. I was not impressed. There are too many annoying things to fix before I can recommend this hotel with confidence. If they upgrade the management team and do some tweaking, then this hotel can earn a better reputation.
From the outside, there is a large advert which has nothing to do with an event at the hotel and it just looks tacky. As you enter the lobby, the decor is a little old-fashion and the reception area lacks any appeal. As you enter any of the 3 lifts, there is an annoying smell of pets; each needs a deep clean and some perfume. The room I had on the 17th floor was very large, but the air conditioning controls were old and basic. It also had a mini bar which did not work. The receptionist said that they had discontinued that service; then why leave the refrigerator in the room? The bathroom had no class to it and the drainage was partly blocked and started to smell. The room had a nice flat screen television, but not much variety; only 18 channels which is not exactly stimulating for 2013. Maybe in 1980 if you had more than ten channels then this was a big deal, but customers need variety.
I could easily include a more comprehensive review with recommendations, but expertise are chargeable.
For breakfast, there was some enjoyable options, but at this level and pricing point a hotel needs to offer a wider selection. Don't expect to find baked beans for breakfast. Cosmetic things like friendly staff and good service is expected at the best hotels, so no extra recognition for those benefits. There is a large shopping complex next door which is great for buying clothes and the train station is at the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: The sun rises from the back of the hotel and rooms on higher floors will have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigsands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Last week I was on my business trip to Malmo and was staying at the Scandic Hotel.
The best thing of this hotel is the location, if you come from Copenhegan by the metro just after one station over the bridge you land at the Triangelin station and from the station its just a 50 mtrs walkand you are the hotel.
Secondly it is located at the centre of the city so along with a good view of the city you have good restaurants and shops around
As it was summer I could take the bike and go around in the city to explore a bit after the office time, just before you catch up to eat of lot of options
All in all a very good place to be in...

Room Tip: Take a room facing the front side to ableto see the sunrise and a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssgee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The walk from the station to the hotel was as seamless as it gets. Pretty much heading immediately south from the station, and you'll finding yourself at the Hilton. Especially so as it acts as the dead-end of the streets and streets of shops and markets along the way.

On arrival, the check-in desk had no problems getting our itinerary up, and along with the pleasantries of greeting and small-talk, then offered to upgrade us to a larger, single bed room, but as my friend and I weren't a couple, we declined - reminiscent of the scene in friends, where the 'smoochy' couple got freely upgraded to first class for their honeymoon.

Any way, the room we did get met all expectations, clean, pleasant, a tv, a fridge, cups and complimentary bottles of water. Down the hall from our room you can find a free-to-use ice machine.

If you head north out of the hotel, you'll find plenty of old-town streets of independent shops and rural markets, including an absolutely fantastic setup of lights guiding your way down the streets, if you visit during Christmastime. Not to mention the parks/ public squares that were also decorated for the season. Heading immediately southeast of the hotel, you'll find big shopping malls, and other larger chains of restaurants.

Room Tip: Lots of construction to be seen with a south facing room - get a north facing room for a fantastic v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samuel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Best thing about this hotel are the rooms. Really big, spacious, sunny and comfortable (which is from what I gather unique in Malmo). I stayed for two weeks, so this was very important. Great pillows and mattresses. Rooms are really high up, so you get amazing views of the city. Lots of restaurants near by (don't miss the genuine thai place round the corner) and a lot of shopping. At the top of the pedestrian street that leads all the way to the waterfront. Modern facilities, good breakfast (yummy swedish pancakes) staff is extremely friendly, and I loved the "mini bar" which apart from an empty little fridge, is actually a little shop across from reception that sells from coffee and sandwiches to toothbrushes and everything in between 24/7. Don't expect room service, there is none.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swan Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
409 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hotel was selected by friends and was very suitable for central position. We were able to walk to various parts of town we wanted to explore. Rooms were wonderful with a great view, but hard to see very well as the windows were a bit dirty. Breakfast was great and parking a little difficult to find, but when we did it was quite suitable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turoar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandic_Triangeln, Front Office Manager at Scandic Triangeln, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
It is realy nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The windows are being cleaned during the summer so next time you stay with us,
the view will be even better.

Best regards
Kristina
Front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Quality Hotel View
#3 of 38 in Malmo
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#10 of 38 in Malmo
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Triangeln? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Triangeln

Property: Scandic Triangeln
Address: 2 Triangeln, Malmo 211 43, Sweden (Formerly Hilton Malmo City)
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Malmo
#7 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#8 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#10 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Triangeln 4*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Triangeln has an excellent location in central Malmo on the city's largest shopping street. Here, you're within easy reach of all that Malmo has to offer. Located on the largest shopping street in Malmo, our hotel treats your to excellent shopping opportunities and popular restaurants as soon as you step outside. Discover Malmo attractions such as Malmohus Castle, Turning Torso, Lilla Torget and Ribersborg Beach, all within easy reach of the hotel. You can also take the train from Malmo to Copenhagen Airport in just 15 minutes or to central Copenhagen in 30 minutes. Malmo Sturup Airport is a 30 minute drive from the hotel. At hotel Scandic Triangeln we have 20 floors of spacious guest rooms with comfortable beds and great views over Malmo. We have 16 conference venues with capacity for up to 450 delegates and a banquet hall suitable for your private events and parties. Our hotel restaurant is a popular meeting spot for both Malmo locals and hotel guests. When you're staying with us you get wireless internet throughout the whole hotel and enjoy free access to our gym and relaxation area with a sauna. For quick and easy parking we have a convenient garage underneath the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Triangeln reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Malmo City Hotel
Hilton Hotel Malmo City
Hilton Hotel Malmö
Malmö Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing