We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Abslolutely Fabolous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Falkoping, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Abslolutely Fabolous!”
Reviewed May 8, 2009

The best hotel I have stayed in ever! Big rooms, and I mean really big! We stayed in a business room and it had a big livingroom and a big bedroom and a lovely bathroom. It felt more like we stayed in an apartment than a hotel.
The beds were to die for, we slept so well that we didn´t wanna go home at all :-).
Wonderful breakfast with freshly cooked warm food like bacon and eggs.
Free valet parking, though the garage costed 100 SEK per day. Very nice and helpful staff! The location is the best, the hotel is situated one block from "Lilla Torg" - the place to be at night, and about three blocks from the Central station.
I can´t wait to go back there!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pyff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    228
    57
    17
    2
See reviews for
94
378
33
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Hotel Mäster Johan is an elegant, stylish and, for a swedish hotel, luxurious. Service is irreproachable - as well as the rooms. The rooms are delightful decorated and comfortable with high-quality products such as B&O TV-system, Andy Warhol paintings and beautiful marble bathroom. We had a standard room and it was large with a great King size bed. A nice touch is the bath duck as well as the candle light in the bathroom.

The hotel itself is not cool or trendy, perhaps for be a Malmö hotel, but the style is from early 90's - however its not out--dated and but it's not boring. There is no restaurant in the hotel and we was lonely in the bar. We had a complimentary coffee in the atrium, as well as complimentary mineral water in the room. I recommend "Årstiderna" just around the corner, with good swedish food.

During our stay we didn't saw any other guests (we was 4) - in the lobby, floors or breakfast room. We felt very lonely and a totally desolation. Strange that we had to wait for check-in, we went to the hotel around 12, until 15:00 if the was so low occupancy. Breakfast was as the hotel: stylish, delicate and tasteful but desolate!

It's the most expensive and elegant Malmö hotel and I believed its should be more "fun" to stay here. For the half price you got a room at the Hilton, not as elegant or stylish, but with a high pulse and great breakfast buffet.

  • Liked — The stylish and elegant atmosphere
  • Disliked — No pulse
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KamiltonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
292 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2008

We really enjoyed our four night stay in this well situated hotel, just off Malmö’s main square and within five minutes walk of the central bus and train stations. However, the area can be noisy at night and in the early morning, especially at weekends.

The location may not be ideal for all business visitors but It’s an ideal four star base to tour the city and the nearby Skåne and Öresund regions.

The building is a 1990s reconstruction of a four storey town house on a narrow street. The contemporary ‘Nordic’ décor is carefully executed and elegant throughout. The public areas are spacious, well lit through an atrium and have some interesting art. Our top floor bedroom had something of an ‘attic’ feel but it was well sized and well equipped (Paloma Picasso tiles in the large marble bathroom!).

The self service breakfast is exceptional and the hot food is freshly prepared. There is no lunch or dinner service but there is a wide range of eating options close by, including some of Malmö’s best. Room service is available through a local restaurant.

The staff are exceptionally pleasant and helpful. Complimentray WiFi is available throught and there is a public computer. Extras like laundry and the bar are relatively expensive.

Recommended.

  • Liked — Elegance
  • Disliked — Noise at night
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

We stay here everytime when we visit Malmoe during the summers and we simple love it! Everything is fantastic, from check-in, rooms (beutiful), location (just in the middle of the charming downtown), the fantastic breakfast where you can eat for hours...there is nothing bad or average about this hotel at all. It is simply the best hotel in Malmoe and we highly recomend it to anyone visiting Malmoe. This is the place to stay!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank StockholmFamilyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sweden (formerly Los Angeles)
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2007

Master Johan is an excellent hotel! The rooms couldn't be nicer -- luxurious beds, marble bathrooms with inviting bath tubs, flat screen TVs. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant, but they do provide room service and the top dining area in Malmö is just steps away from the front door. The breakfast, however, is absolutely one of the best anywhere, and fresh cooked for you!
Staff are helpful and friendly. I have stayed here many times -- actually lived at the hotel for about four months some years ago -- and highly recommend it to any and every one.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank PurpleAlbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed September 8, 2004

Just so you know - this is considered as one of Sweden´s best hotels, and certainly is number one in Malmoe, when it comes to service and class.
I have stayed there on several occasions, and love it!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 37 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection

Property: Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Address: 13 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden (Formerly Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection)
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malmo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#9 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mäster Johan is a modern boutique hotel with 69 rooms. Constructed following time-honoured guidelines to give our guests the perfect atmosphere for living pleasure. Our goal is to offer the very finest in personal service and consideration. Mäster Johan is centrally located, within easy walking distance to the Central Railway Station and trains to Copenhagen Airport, buses and a wide variety of excellent restaurants. Visit our web page for our best prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmo
Malmö Best Western
Best Western Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing