We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Master Johan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Master Johan
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

I went there with two kids, staying in a family room, which was spacious and well appointed. Everything was clean and the service was great, I did not feel that travelling with children was an imposition. The location is unbeatable and the hotel is actually way bigger than expected. I would most definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vvalplage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    212
    56
    17
    2
See reviews for
85
354
32
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed here for a week during the cold wintery weeks of January and found the rooms spacious and comfortable, the service friendly and prompt with a superb location. While the hotel only serves breakfast, it is within walking distance to many excellent eateries. Stayed at the Marriott Renaissance across the way on previous trip and while also a pleasant stay, preferred Master Johan.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freja3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmestrand, Norway
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

We had a very nice one night stay at this lovely hotel at Christmas 2014. We went by train to visit Malmö for the first time, and this hotel was very well located. Not far from the railway station and in the middle of the city centre. The service was very good and the rooms excellent. A beautiful bathroom too - held in blue, white and gold! And the breakfast was really excellent!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Torhild115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I stayed at this nice Boutique Hotel in Malmo Sweden for 2 nights in January and found it to be very nice. It is also central to Lilla Torg (Little Square) and the train station is only 10 minutes walk away. A Great breakfast is to be had in the morning and the staff were very helpful. I was in a small suite which was perfectly adequate and had a TV in both bedroom and main room. Also nice and quiet at night. No fridge in the room, so no mini bar or milk for a cup of coffee, but they will bring it to you. Only down side was that the TV had very poor BBC World service as it was very crackly, all the other channels were fine. A great pub was only 3 minutes walk away in the Scottish Bar; The DrumBar in Lilla Torg, the food is excellent.

Room Tip: The small suites, say room 216 / 316 are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mirren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
232 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Great location, cosy hotel, friendly service, and really good breakfast buffet. The room are however quite basic and the gym in the basement nothing to write home about. Still my favorite hotel in Malmö! Would also stay here for a weekend with my wife.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Joachim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

In planning a surprise birthday/Christmas trip for my husband, I booked a Junior Suite room at Master Johan for one night. Being that it was a special occasion, I was prepared to splurge on an extra special room for him - unfortunately the room was not extra special. While large in size, the room is quite dated. The technology was probably impressive ten years ago and the bathroom is in dire need of renovation. The corners of the bathtub had mould growing in them, the shower temperature nozzle didn't work and there was noticeable wear and tear on everything. When I went to use the face cloth in the shower, it was full of soap, as if the last guest had rested the bar of hand soap on it.

The cost of this room was on par with a couple of other hotel stays we've had this year including a Waldorf Astoria in Versailles and a luxury hotel in Brussels. While I know Sweden is expensive (we live in Norway,) I was expecting much, much more for this price tag. I was really disappointed to have spent that much money on a really average room.

But, it wasn't all bad and our stay certainly wasn't terrible. The staff were really welcoming and friendly and they were helpful whenever we had questions. We appreciated the complimentary wi-fi and breakfast and we liked that the rooms had a bit of character (like the brick wall.) If we were coming for a regular weekend and staying in a regular room, I'm sure we would have had a perfectly fine stay but upgrading to the junior suite really was not worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJReid1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Master_Johan, Owner at Hotel Master Johan, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I’m sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the junior suite.
I would very much appreciate if you would contact me so that I can get a better picture of what you experienced when you were here.
I´m really sorry about the cleaning problems. That is unacceptable and I have talk to the persons in charge so it won’t happen again.

Please call me at +46-406646400

Best regards
Nina Ulvinen
General Manager/ Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed here on a small week end trip away from home - and found that this is the place to stay.
Brilliant service all over - reception, breakfast/kitchen staff - you name it - they were there for us.
Room (stayed in 303) large but still cosy with huge bed, small livingroom arrangement with good chairs and table to sit and relax in and a large cupboard.
The bathroom was large with a great tub ( candles and a small rubberduck no less ) and all the essentials you needed.
Breakfast was super: The breakfast area perfectly sized with a small manned kitchen that made the hot food while you waited - great. And kitchen and breakfast staff was so friendly and accomodating to your needs/wishes with an eye on every finger to make sure that everything was in tip top order.
I can't recommend this hotel enough - have stayed several other places in Malmö before but this hotel beats them all - period.
If I had to move away from home - I'll go here.
Thanks for a great stay - we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bastian87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Master_Johan, Owner at Hotel Master Johan, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you very much for you kind Words.

I'm so happy that you enjoyed you stay with us,
I hope to see you here again soon.

Best Regards
Nina Ulvinen
General Manager/Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Elite Hotel Savoy
#14 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Master Johan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Master Johan

Property: Hotel Master Johan
Address: 13 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden (Formerly Master Johan Hotel, BW Premier Collection)
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Malmo
#2 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#3 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#9 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Master Johan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mäster Johan is a modern boutique hotel with 69 rooms. Constructed following time-honoured guidelines to give our guests the perfect atmosphere for living pleasure. Our goal is to offer the very finest in personal service and consideration. Mäster Johan is centrally located, within easy walking distance to the Central Railway Station and trains to Copenhagen Airport, buses and a wide variety of excellent restaurants. Visit our web page for our best prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Master Johan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmo
Malmö Best Western
Best Western Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing