We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MJ's Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,151)
Filter reviews
1,151 results
Traveler rating
722
314
83
26
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
722
314
83
26
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster johanlilla torgold townperfect locationlovely hotelhome away from homequiet roomboutique hotelliving roombig roomrecommend this hotelamazing breakfastbusiness roomstreet noisestayed two nightsbars and restaurantstrain station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 1,151 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This isn't a trendy hotel. As other reviewers have noted it has daggy marble bathrooms and a pretty dated lobby. However none of that matters in the slightest when the rooms are so comfortable, every little detail has been thought of and the service is so great. We had a superior room and it was probably about 50sqm - it had an entry area, queen bed, a lounge area with lounge + two arm chairs and a separate study. The rooms are elegantly fitted out with Persian rugs, white linen lounges and antique furniture. Rare for Swedish hotels there were tea/coffee facilities in the room. The lighting was thoughtful and perfect for working or reading in bed. The cleaning/presentation each day was immaculate. The breakfast was delightful and a real highlight - beautifully displayed, lovely hand written signs and eggs/pancakes made to order. The lobby area is bright and comfortable, with free tea/coffee - perfect for reading/working in the afternoons. We only stayed two nights at the hotel in transit to Stockholm, but we ended up enjoying this hotel so much more than the overrated design led Hotel Skeppsholmen in Stockholm. Thank-your for such a lovely stay.

Room Tip: The superior rooms are absolutely enormous. Definitely worth the extra if you are traveling with a lot of luggage or plan to work in the rooms. We were only on level 2 but it was absolutely silent and had an adequate amount of light (via windows looking on to a light well).
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Miffy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you very much for this lovely review. We hope to see you again when you return to Sweden.

Best Regards

Nina Ulvinen
Owner
Hotel Mäster Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Lovely centrally located little hotel that is now getting a bit old. On my recent third visit in about 10 years it is now apparent that Mäster Johan is in need of an upgrade. Especially the bathrooms are not on par with what you would expect from a hotel like this.

Nice (not necessarily professionally trained) staff, good breakfast and good fast wifi connections. Bang & Olusen tv set and phones may be fun for designer nerds but start to feel a bit dated as well.

Two of Malmoes best restaurants are on the very same block and street. The meat bonanza Bast*rd and the seafood haven Johan P. Most restaurants around Stora and Lilla Torg are to be avoided for the typical Mäster Johan clientele.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Arneby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 10, 2012

Thank you very much for you review.
I’m sorry to hear that you find us a bit out dated. We try to keep our self as classical as possible and don’t follow trends as much as other hotels. But of course it’s important not to be old fashion.

Best Regards

Nina Ulvinen
Owner
Hotel Mäster Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at the Master Johan this week and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Originally I was only booked in for 1 night, as it is quite busy in Malmo this time of year but upon arrival the reception staff (Kristopher) was more than helpful and managed to extend my booking to the required 3 nights - a brilliant start which helped me out immensely.

The hotel is nowhere near the size of a Radisson or Novotel - but this is to its' advantange. Decor and cleanliness are impeccable. My room was large and airy, with plenty of storage, a VERY comfy bed, and a large bathroom with a window - something I do prefer as there is nothing worse than a stuffy, claustrophobic bathroom. The TV channels are varied, including BBC World News in English.

Breakfast is a hearty one, with a buffet available from a small kitchen, but it feels homely and anything but a hotel! Plenty of choice from bread, rolls, meat/cheese and cereals. Fresh juices and coffee as drinks as well. The lounge area is in an Atrium in the middle of the hotel, with a glass roof giving plenty of natural light - which makes it so nice to sit in and read. If you have chance to explore Malmo, the hotel also hires out their own bicycles.

I hope one day to go back to Malmo - and certainly will have Hotel Master Johan at the top of my list of places to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrPeteUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Master_Johan, Owner at MJ's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Hi Pete,

Thank you very much for this lovely review. We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards
Nina Ulvinen
Owner
Hotel Mäster Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

All around very nice hotel with great staff, great location, good breakfast and with excellent atmosphere.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimhav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Master_Johan, Owner at MJ's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. I hope to see you soon again.

Nina Ulvinen
Owner
Hotel Mäster Johan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We just had a second stay at Master Johan and again it was really very good. We asked for and received the free Tripadvisor upgrade so this time we had a superior room. It didn't really seem very different to the standard room we stayed in last time with the addition perhaps of a sofa and maybe a slightly bigger bathroom. Very comfortable bed, nice bathroom products which included some matches to light the candle! Free bottled water, great sound proofing, really super breakfast and a lovely chilling out "pillar garden" - what more could one want?! Oh yes, GREAT location, five minutes to train station, beside lots of nice bars, restaurants and a great park with rabbits and ducks and geese!

Room Tip: Standard rooms are very high standard.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandM59_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews