We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good traditional hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elite Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Elite Hotel Savoy
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good traditional hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Excellent hotel (it would be as being part of the Elite Group). It is an old building so obviously has it's faults compared to a modern purpose built building.

Great place to stay - only criticism I would have would be lack of aircon in the rooms which is unacceptable for a 4* these days.

Breakfasts are fantastic.

It is needing a slight upgrade I think. I prefer at the sister hotel the Plaza.

The beds and pillows are fantastic.

Room Tip: Get a front facing room if you want a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edinpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    213
    77
    28
    8
See reviews for
54
168
44
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
262 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Really disappointed stay. My colleague and I were looking forward to staying here and it turned out to be a big disappointment. The chap on reception was extremely kind and helpful and we almost felt sorry for him having to tell us that the lift wasn't working and that the hotel was in the middle of refurbishment.

My room was tiny and very dated and the wifi non existent (apparently that was being renovated too!). No international TV channels other than CNN either.

Breakfast was actually OK but don't come here until the work is finished as currently it's pretty shabby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Located in central Malmo, close to the train station. Traditional hotel, but rather run down. My room was nice, large windows, beautiful decor but a bit run down. The gym was small and had few machines. The breakfast was ok, with many options. The price was decent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 34h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

have stayed here on numerous occasions over the years. Staff always pleasant and helpful, b'fast buffet above average. easy walk from the central station. rooms are not standard as it is a historic hotel..some are smaller and less convenient than others (up and down steps within and/or without the room). the elevator at this time is out for SIX MONTHS…inquire before you go if this is important., and ask for a room on the 1st floor (in US terms, the 2nd floor). mattresses old and soft, in general…be prepared!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeregrinMundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We chose the Elite Savoy because it was next to train station and we needed to take an early train. The lobby is welcoming and the personal very friendly. The breakfast is one of the better ones I have had in Sweden with a lot of choice.

Unfortunately the room was a big disappointment. Upon entering the room, we were met by a bad smell coming from the drains. The room (both the bedroom and the bathroom) looked old and tired and in desperate need of renovation. The room face the main road and even with the windows closed, the traffic noise was still rather loud.

The elevator was out of order. This posed no real problem for us but I can imagine that this might be difficult for elderly persons.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 762 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

No problems finding this hotel, located just metres from & directly opposite the city’s central railway station. Entering the foyer felt like walking into an old style grand hotel. Check in was quick with a minimal amount of information & the journey to our 6th floor room meant changing lifts on the 2nd floor. Our non smoking room was good, a nice size, clean, bright & comfortable. In the room, laminate floor, large wall mounted flat screen tv, good sized wardrobe, safe, minibar, iron & ironing board, hairdryer, workstation, folding luggage rack, tea/coffee/hot chocolate, tall mirror, good quality blackout curtains, desk lamp & bedside lamps. The bed linen was good but we found the bed to be a little uncomfortable with it being a spring mattress covered with a 75mm (approx) foam cover. No problems with noise from inside or outside of the hotel, plenty of natural light & room temperature was okay but maybe just a little bit too warm.
The bathroom was a nice size, clean, bright & modern with heated tiled floor, fully tiled walls, large shower enclosure & shower curtain with height adjustable shower head with good water pressure & plenty of hot water, good quality toiletries, plenty of towels, telescopic shaving/make up mirror, ceiling vent but no shaving socket.
Breakfast on Sunday till 11.00 was excellent with a massive choice. Self service, buffet style with sausages, bacon, meatballs, scrambled & boiled eggs, pancakes, cereals, yoghurts, nuts, seeds, grapes, fresh orange, grapefruit, pineapple, melon & kiwi slices, a selection of cold meats, cheeses, numerous salads, toasts, breads, biscuits, crackers, pastries, croissants, peppers, tomatoes, cucumber, coffee, flavoured teas, hot chocolate & fruit juices.
We went to the hotel’s Bishop’s Arms bar for drinks. A nicely designed bar which was busy with a nice age mix but quite expensive with 400mls of strong lager costing 64 Swedish Krone & half pints of light lager costing 49 Krones. Be sure not to sit close to the main entrance as the cold air that blasted in whenever somebody entered or left was not pleasant.
I went to reception in the mid afternoon to ask for some extra coffee & milk sachets & a bottle opener. No problem for the friendly receptionist on duty who gave me more coffee & milk than was needed & a bottle opener as a present. We didn’t have to check out until 1800 which was perfect for us seeing as our flight home from Copenhagen was at 21.30. When we did check out it was quick & friendly.
The hotel’s location is very good being, as already mentioned, very close to Central Station & also very close to The Stortorget & old town, numerous shops & restaurants. It wasn’t possible to change currency at the hotel but there is a forex office in the Central Station & a few more in the vicinity of the hotel.
We found a nice Indian Restaurant called Indian Side at Lilla Torg, just a few minutes walk from the hotel. We had a pleasant meal there with reasonable food & drink prices & it seemed to be popular with the locals. There is a supermarket in Central Station with very reasonable prices for snacks & beer, maybe a good option if a quiet night in the room with a beer or soft drink is the preferred choice.
All in all, a one night stay which was okay without being exceptional as my personal preference is for less formal hotels. The location alone makes it a great choice for a stay if visiting Malmo.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaildorfblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The hotel has a perfect location. Centralstation for trains to Copenhagen is just right across the bridge. The room(202, corner) is bigger than everage size of a hotel room in Europe. The room is well equipted and decorated. The bed is comfortable and the down pillows are so soft. There are a suana room and a small gym in a relax zone with complimentary fruit and drink in the hotel. Breakfast is pretty good for the price we pay. If you like traditional yet elegant style hotel with a cozy atmostphere on the best location with a reasonable price, Elite Hotel Savoy is definately the best choice for your Malmö-Copenhagen visit!!
We are also happy to share pictures from hotel and hope our review and photos will be useful for you and hope you have a nice trip as we do too! :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pichika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
Hotel Master Johan
#2 of 38 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Savoy

Property: Elite Hotel Savoy
Address: 62 Norra Vallgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#7 Family Hotel in Malmo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#12 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an intriguing history dating back to the 14th century, the carefully restored Elite Hotel Savoy is well positioned in the heart of Malmo, opposite the Central Train Station. The Bishop's Arms pub guests can experience a wide selection of genuine British whiskies and beers. Elite Hotel Savoy is well known for its beautiful and carefully restored rooms, comfortably equipped with many facilities including cable TV. All guests can enjoy complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Elite Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing