We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel that has issues”
Review of Elite Hotel Savoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elite Hotel Savoy
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A nice hotel that has issues”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel was opposite Central Station and walking distance to the main tourist sights. The lobby and reception of the hotel is very nice and the elevator (lift) is quaint. I was in room 610 which you go up to the second floor and then have to walk down to half a flight of stairs - by time I got to my room I was on the same level as the first floor. The room was newly redecorated and smelt like it. Only one window opened and that was only about 3 inches. No air conditioning - so the room heated up quite fast. There is a bar/night club next door and that keeps you awake until the early hours of the morning! If I was to go to Malmo and stay at this hotel again I would ask for a room higher up and facing the train station.

Room Tip: Avoid room 610!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    229
    89
    29
    8
See reviews for
64
189
48
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel, very friendly staff, the location is perfect. Just across the road from rail station. The Bishops Arms pub is all great. Usually tis hotel is good value.
Recommended.
Great breakfast choice, and early service if you need to be up and out early.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed one night, but did not sleep much. Our room was on the same side as a disco, which blared techno music until 4 a.m. They did offer to move us, but we only got a couple of hours of sleep. Unless you can sleep, a hotel room is just a very expensive place to store your stuff. The manager offered us an upgrade on our next stay, but as there is little chance that we will be back in Malmo, that was an empty gesture.

Room Tip: Stay away from the side facing the canal, which also faces a non-stop disco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antityco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
580 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The hotel has a large variety of rooms. We were offered to choose between two options and were lucky to get a nice room in the corner of the building, with plenty of light, spacious living room and wonderful design. The hotel is ideally located for the discovery of Malmö (Stortorget, Lillatorg) and is just a few hundred meters from the Central Station, from where you can reach Copenhagen in half an hour.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BPwayfarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I stayed 1 night on business and it was great for that purpose.

The hotel is in a fantastic location literally opposite the main train station, I was able to walk to my meetings and walk out in the evening to the local square where there are about 15 restaurant choices.

The hotel lobby is very nice and you can see that it used to be one of the best hotels in the city. The bar is full of character as is the breakfast restaurant. Breakfast is good, all options available and a good quality of food.

The room itself was OK. The beds were comfortable, all the amenities were good and the actual "nuts and bolts" of the room where to a good standard. I felt the room was let down by the bathroom. The bathroom looked tired and when using the shower the whole floor was flooded with water.

I would also comment the prior to booking I had read a couple of reviews regarding the noise from the street, this was bad and if I were to stay again I would request a room at the back of the hotel or higher up.

I would stay at the hotel again.

Room Tip: Be aware of road noise on lower front facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthewwoolf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Staying at the Hotel Savoy during the Eurovision Contest. There is no air conditioning. It's about 25c outside and hot as h*** in the room. All the windows are screwed shut except one which has a child guard and opens about 5cm. For this much money I should sit and sweat? I have the door propped open with the garbage can to get maybe a cross breeze. Crazy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smyth-Beijing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Nice place to stay if you like to explore the South Sweden by train. Lund is only 20 minutes from hotel door, Ystad or Simrishamn will take you 1,5-2 hrs by train. Anyway - nice places for a 1-day trip.
Old hotel, really 4 stars. The only inconvenience- late breakfast on Sundays. Too late for a 4 *! We've got a flight at 9-30 am from Kastrup, so we kept only croissaints and coffee instead of normal breakfast at 6 am or 6-30. But "normal" breakfast was excellent!
Anyway- one of the best place to stay: 2 TV in the family room - 1 bedroom with TV and a little "reception" place with a desk, sofe and TV also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VadimBelousov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
Gamla Staden
Elite Hotel Residens
Elite Hotel Residens
#19 of 37 in Malmo
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Hotel Savoy

Property: Elite Hotel Savoy
Address: 62 Norra Vallgatan, Malmo 211 22, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#7 Family Hotel in Malmo
#10 Luxury Hotel in Malmo
#12 Business Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an intriguing history dating back to the 14th century, the carefully restored Elite Hotel Savoy is well positioned in the heart of Malmo, opposite the Central Train Station. The Bishop's Arms pub guests can experience a wide selection of genuine British whiskies and beers. Elite Hotel Savoy is well known for its beautiful and carefully restored rooms, comfortably equipped with many facilities including cable TV. All guests can enjoy complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elite Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elite Hotel Malmö

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing