We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and Welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Svärta
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Central and Welcoming”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The hotel building itself and the rooms are a bit tired and dated. However, the hotel is conveniently placed in the old part of Malmö and even has cycles for hire, for those wanting to explore the cobbled streets that surround it.

The hotel has an attractive, roofed-over, central courtyard, with a bar (yes, despite the name of the hotel, alcohol IS available!). We used this area as a place to meet and mingle and the Hotel arranged a delicious Asian noodle dish to accompany the drinks. The rooms were functional, but clean and pleasant. My room (at least) had a work room separate from the bedroom, with windows overlooking the courtyard area for a 'mini-suite' feel, nice for the business traveller. Breakfast seemed to be up to the normal standard in Swedish hotels, but I had an early start and decided to give it a miss.

The one big plus for the hotel, however, is it's cheery, friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. They certainly gave great service and for that reason alone the hotel will stick in my memory for a possible return visit in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rouxbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    264
    92
    31
    7
See reviews for
100
305
45
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Central location. in the middle of the city.
Nearby Central Railway station, and all facilities.
A warm welcome was the first impressions.
Just two Blocks ahed to a cosy small town square, with atmosphere and life! "Lilla Torget"

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Reidar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

The delightful staff at reception and in the restaurant at this comfortable and very well located hotel made my stay a memorable one. I received a lovely welcome basket of treats in my room which really set the tone for my stay. The breakfast was great, and even better was the lovely evening buffet. What a nice touch after a busy day sightseeing. Internet was free and the fastest speed I can recall in a hotel. Note expensive 5 stars with outrageous access prices. This is how it should be done! Bed also very comfortable. Whilst the room was simply furnished, it was spotlessly clean and comfortable. Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: My room in the new section was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLP2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Really nice reading of me as manager of the hotel. I will deliver the positive comments to the rest of the team at the hotel. Thank you and welcome back, Best regards Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Got stuck in Malmo last fall during a storm. The travel agency gave me this option. How very nice of them. Rooms are perhaps nothing special. Breakfast however is very nice. And did I mention the evening buffe included in the price? Very friendly staff too. They really gave me good service during my accidental visit. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Really nice reading of me as manager of the hotel. I will deliver the positive comments to the rest of the team at the hotel. Thank you and welcome back, Best regards Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very good services with included breakfast and even diner meal (outside of the beverages).
The staff provides excellent service to ensure complete satisfaction of the customers.
Well situated in the city center.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank demelio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for writing so good about our service with included breakfast and even diner meal
and the excellent staff. Hope to see you at the hotel again. Best Regards Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Cozy room, nice white tiled bathroom, good family atmosphere and very generous with supper included. Free coffe served in the bar.
Located just near shopping and nice restaurants like Sankt Markus Wine cellar.


  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
II am so glad to read about yor stay. Our room is cozy room, and it is a good family atmosphere and a generous supper are included. Hope to see you again at Temperance. Best regards Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for one night. We chose to book the standard rooms and this was a nice room, safari style. (Please note that the hotel has smaller dbl rooms, so please book the size which is perfect for you and check before you book). We asked for extra pillows and towels (towels for the sauna) - this is the first hotel we have stayed at, where this is not necessary! There are many pillows and towels present. Nice comfortable beds. We used the fitness area and the sauna. This was very nice and newly renovated. There are lots of clean towels down there as well.
Breakfast buffet was nice - and so was the included evening buffet. There was a saladbar as well, and we did not expect this, so we were very surprised and left very full:-)
Another great and important thing - next to the reception there is a small bar, where you can make coffee, tea, cold water and fruits - this is for free!! Every hotel should offer this.
The hotel is situated in walking distance to the old town, Trianglen, Malmøhus and so on. We would definitely go back next time heading to Malmø from Copenhagen.

Room Tip: There are around 4 rooms facing the inner yard. We liked it since it was february, but in the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorthe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thanks for the nice words. Thanks also for the tip to others that you can upgrade to larger rooms for a small fee. Training opportunities are also great, and now when spring is coming, we have great parks, perfect to take a jog in.Thanks again Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Master Johan Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
879 reviews
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#11 of 37 in Malmo
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Address: 16 Engelbrektsgatan, Malmo 211 33, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Malmo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#13 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early-20th century 4-story structure - 35 min from airport, Sturup/Malmc. Free evening buffet 6-9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Malmö
Clarion Collection Temperance
Clarion Malmo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing