We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant and centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed a 2-night-stay at this hotel. Without exaggerated luxury but with good vibes all the way and very very friendly staff it fulfilled and exceeded our expectations. And it is pretty much as close to the city centre as you can get. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thanks for recommended us. We try to fulfill and exceed our guests expectations. Hope to see you at our hotel soon again. Best regards. Therese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 843 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2013

We had a very nice weekend here.
Helpfull staff and kind service. They helped with wifi and tried with our HDMI cabel though the TV hadn't an input.
The restaurant had an acceptable selection of food included in the stay. A cozy atmosphere and you didn't have the feeling of staff breathing down your neck ish. ;-)
A normal size, clean and cozy room. Double bed - nice it wasn't two single beds. TV, chair, table nice bath.
It has a good location for us, 'cause it was close to the town.
We had our car with an could park it close by.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mona R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked the room and the food. We welcome you gladly back again. Best regards Therese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed here one night with my wife, and was not impressed. We ordered a double-room, but we only got a single-room. Even though we made the reservation for 2 ppl, we only received 1 towle and 1 pillow. There was no place to hang shirts etc.

Location is good, and the evening-buffet is nice. Nothing special about the breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a big room if you have to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sondrenorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thanks for your comments. Very unfortunate that you got a room that was just for one person? We would have helped you and may even have been able to switch to another room. We hope to welcome you back again at Temperance. Best regards Therese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We asked for our regular room, the service from reception was good and we got the room. The hotel is located in the city centre in a quiet street. They arranged for parking close to the hotel. "Free" light dinner, an excellent choice if you want to relax. The breakfast is based on organic food.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helge Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. So glad you enjoyed the hotel and that you liked the service and food (both breakfast and the eveningbuffet) Hope to see you at the hotel again soon. Greetings Therese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Arrived by plane into Copenhagen then took the train to Malmo central. I was surprised how easy the journey was for a first timer like myself. The hotel is easy to find and a 7-8 min walk from the station. Check in was fine and all the staff i encountered were very friendly.

My single room was very small but being there on business for two days only it was fine. It was an internal facing room and as some others have mentioned, fresh air was a bit of an issue. If I had been staying for longer I would have requested a move, but again for a two night business trip it was ok.

I was out enjoying the city both nights so did not eat in the hotel, but breakfast was excellent with a great array and variety of foods and drinks.

Right in the middle of the bars, restaraunts and shops this is certain a great place to stay for a short break. I would ask for a larger or external facing room if staying longer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoopsHarwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Thanks for your feedback. Yes it's very easy to get to Malmö from Copenhagen. We had been able to change the room into something that suits you. Hope you get the opportunity to try the eveningbuffe another time. It's worth a visit. Best regards Therese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel was booked by my client and I didn't look it up before travelling. By the way - if you're going to Malmo from UK, fly into Copenhagen and catch the train across to Sweden - dead easy.
Malmo is quaint, but I would not pick it unless on business.
The Temperance Hotel isn't "dry" and is centrally placed near a square teeming with outside table restaurants each attempting to stay warm in the pouring rain by burning litres of propane per table.
I walked in said pouring rain to Google's recommended Restaurant "Fatherless Child" (good website begins with B and ends in D and Trip Advisor won't let me write the name even though it has reviews!) only to find it heaving with happy diners and no room at the inn for me. I then walked back to the hotel BECAUSE it has a hot buffet included in the price! (I fancied a steak - hence the walk).

The hotel also has an atrium with free coffee and cakes at tea time, the aforementioned buffet in the evening and breakfast in the morning - all included in the hotel price. Very glad the "Fatherless Child" was full - this is a serious buffet. Lovely mushroom soup with chunks of fresh bread personally cut off the stick with lashings of butter. A meat loaf with buttered potatoes and the delicious orange coloured sauce they make in Scandiwegia. A substantial choice of salads including home-made olive tapenade if you fancied a cold alternative to the meat. A delicious selection of cheeses and biscuits with grapes and home-made pear marmalade as one of the chutney choices. Super coffee - as it was at teatime - and a 50cl Carlsberg for £4 - about the same as UK.
Having recently been ripped off in Copenhagen by both a hotel and a restaurant, this was a very pleasant surprise. The other restaurants in the town square look reasonably priced, but bring a raincoat - the natives seem immune to a howling gale and just put on an extra layer and turn up the gas heaters.
Almost forgot - the room is "bijou" - cat swinging is not an option.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saymwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

THANKS! What a fun read and nice comment. Malmo is a nice city to travel to even privately. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again. Best regards Therese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

A group of friends and myself stayed in this hotel for Eurovision 2013 and found the hotel to be excellent value for money and very good quality. The location is close to local squares and shops/bars, and only a short 10-15 minute walk to Malmo Central station, probably quicker once you have done it a couple of times. The food provided as part of the cost was excellent particularly the evening meal, with a very good selection of food and drinks. The breakfast and coffee/tea and cake served throughout the day were also of a very high standard. The only downside was the lack of coffee making facilities in the room but given that take-away cups were provided in the lounge this was not an inconvenience. The staff were very helpful and informative and overall a highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thanks for the comments. how great that you felt so good at the hotel. It was amazing days in Eurovision Song Contest. It felt like it was celebration throughout Malmoe and the beautiful weather also proved its best. Best regards Therese

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#13 of 37 in Malmo
1,444 reviews
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel View
#5 of 37 in Malmo
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance

Address: 16 Engelbrektsgatan, Malmo 211 33, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Malmo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#13 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price Range: $108 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early-20th century 4-story structure - 35 min from airport, Sturup/Malmc. Free evening buffet 6-9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Malmö
Clarion Collection Temperance
Clarion Malmo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing