We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good central location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Arrived by plane into Copenhagen then took the train to Malmo central. I was surprised how easy the journey was for a first timer like myself. The hotel is easy to find and a 7-8 min walk from the station. Check in was fine and all the staff i encountered were very friendly.

My single room was very small but being there on business for two days only it was fine. It was an internal facing room and as some others have mentioned, fresh air was a bit of an issue. If I had been staying for longer I would have requested a move, but again for a two night business trip it was ok.

I was out enjoying the city both nights so did not eat in the hotel, but breakfast was excellent with a great array and variety of foods and drinks.

Right in the middle of the bars, restaraunts and shops this is certain a great place to stay for a short break. I would ask for a larger or external facing room if staying longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoopsHarwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. Yes it's very easy to get to Malmö from Copenhagen. We had been able to change the room into something that suits you. Hope you get the opportunity to try the eveningbuffe another time. It's worth a visit. Best regards Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    243
    86
    25
    6
See reviews for
87
277
42
221
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The hotel was booked by my client and I didn't look it up before travelling. By the way - if you're going to Malmo from UK, fly into Copenhagen and catch the train across to Sweden - dead easy.
Malmo is quaint, but I would not pick it unless on business.
The Temperance Hotel isn't "dry" and is centrally placed near a square teeming with outside table restaurants each attempting to stay warm in the pouring rain by burning litres of propane per table.
I walked in said pouring rain to Google's recommended Restaurant "Fatherless Child" (good website begins with B and ends in D and Trip Advisor won't let me write the name even though it has reviews!) only to find it heaving with happy diners and no room at the inn for me. I then walked back to the hotel BECAUSE it has a hot buffet included in the price! (I fancied a steak - hence the walk).

The hotel also has an atrium with free coffee and cakes at tea time, the aforementioned buffet in the evening and breakfast in the morning - all included in the hotel price. Very glad the "Fatherless Child" was full - this is a serious buffet. Lovely mushroom soup with chunks of fresh bread personally cut off the stick with lashings of butter. A meat loaf with buttered potatoes and the delicious orange coloured sauce they make in Scandiwegia. A substantial choice of salads including home-made olive tapenade if you fancied a cold alternative to the meat. A delicious selection of cheeses and biscuits with grapes and home-made pear marmalade as one of the chutney choices. Super coffee - as it was at teatime - and a 50cl Carlsberg for £4 - about the same as UK.
Having recently been ripped off in Copenhagen by both a hotel and a restaurant, this was a very pleasant surprise. The other restaurants in the town square look reasonably priced, but bring a raincoat - the natives seem immune to a howling gale and just put on an extra layer and turn up the gas heaters.
Almost forgot - the room is "bijou" - cat swinging is not an option.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saymwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
THANKS! What a fun read and nice comment. Malmo is a nice city to travel to even privately. I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you again. Best regards Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

A group of friends and myself stayed in this hotel for Eurovision 2013 and found the hotel to be excellent value for money and very good quality. The location is close to local squares and shops/bars, and only a short 10-15 minute walk to Malmo Central station, probably quicker once you have done it a couple of times. The food provided as part of the cost was excellent particularly the evening meal, with a very good selection of food and drinks. The breakfast and coffee/tea and cake served throughout the day were also of a very high standard. The only downside was the lack of coffee making facilities in the room but given that take-away cups were provided in the lounge this was not an inconvenience. The staff were very helpful and informative and overall a highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks for the comments. how great that you felt so good at the hotel. It was amazing days in Eurovision Song Contest. It felt like it was celebration throughout Malmoe and the beautiful weather also proved its best. Best regards Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffle, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Wonderful hotel in the centre of the old part of Malmö. You´ll find Shoppingareas, Restaurants and Bars just around the corner. The rooms are nice and cozy. Breakfast and buffé gives you a lot to choose of. The Staff are service-minded and know what they are doing. We had our little dog with us and there was no probles at all. Parks 2oo m. away. I highly recommend this hotel to all travellers.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anders1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thanks for the nice review. We are genuinely pleased that you enjoyed the service.Hope to see you soon again. Best regards Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night, while in Malmö for work. The hotel is in a nice location in the centre of the city, close to restaurants and shops.Check-in was quick and pleasant. The room was quite small, but comfortable, clean and quiet. Nothing very special, but nice. The breakfast buffet was large and should satisfy most tastes - I was certainly happy! I didn't get a chance to try the complimentary evening meal, so I can't say anything about that. Overall I was happy with my stay and can definitely imagine staying there again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JacobLinda_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
We really appreciate when our guests take the time and talk about their experience at the hotel.
What fun you enjoyed breakfast but pity you missed eveningbuffet. Then you must simply come back. Hope we see you here again. Best regards
Therese General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Highly recommended hotel!

They main thing I would like to point out is the prominent service mind of the staff! They catered to all your needs and allowed us to change room (even included a small upgrade) TWO times until we were completely satisfied. The same goes for the staff in the dinning which had a brilliant attitude, admitting a mistake made and compensated by bringing us some extra fruit, a small gesture that means a lot!

Other things worth pointing out is the good food and the central location! I would also like to say in contrary to other reviewers that this is a good value hotel since both breakfast and dinner + afternoon coffee with excellent quality.

What are you waiting for? Go to Malmo NOW and stay at Clarion!

Ps. They have the best pillows (HUGE) I have ever experienced in a hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new part of the hotel are less noisy since the face the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for the amazing comments. It is so fun to read that we have so satisfied guests who also are our ambassadors. I am a big fan of the pillow too. Hope to see you soon again as our guest in our hotel. Welcome Best regards Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Located in-between the little(lilla torg) and big square of Malmo,in the heart of old and posh part of the city!Nice hotel design with a relaxing dinning room.The main part of the bar/cafe are has an impressive dome.The internal rooms have also a view of it.Quality of the breakfast is quite good with a huge variety of cereals,fruits and cheeses.Dinner is not bad but not something special.

I was staying for a couple of days in an internal room,it was SO TINY!Also no fresh air could enter my room as a result I didn't never manage to have a proper sleep throughout all my stay while the room was so warm!

Ι also considered overpriced for what they offered to you. Definitely you can find a better room in Malmo in much lower price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temperance21133, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. What a shame that you had such a small room when you stayed many nights. We had maybe been able to help you with a larger room if you had drawn attention to your wishes. Hope to welcome you back again and we get the chance to show that we have bigger and better rooms. Greetings Therese
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#10 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Address: 16 Engelbrektsgatan, Malmo 211 33, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Malmo
#6 Romantic Hotel in Malmo
#13 Family Hotel in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Early-20th century 4-story structure - 35 min from airport, Sturup/Malmc. Free evening buffet 6-9 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Malmö
Clarion Collection Temperance
Clarion Malmo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing