We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

After making a reservation at a less expensive but well regarded hotel, I cancelled that and opted to pay significantly more to stay here, thinking it would make for a nicer vacation. It was okay, but disappointing. Service was erratic. We had an ordeal trying to get our room cleaned the first day we were here. It required many calls and much wasted time. On numerous occasions when we telephoned the front desk, nobody answered, which is maddening.

The room was okay, but standard chain hotel fair. The beds were comfortable and made in the Swedish way, which I grew to like. The breakfast buffet was large, but grew monotonous in six days spent here. The food was the same every day. The same heavy, watery scrambled eggs, the result of sitting too long on the buffet. The only other eggs were hard and soft boiled. They have make-your-own Belgian waffles, but no maple syrup (maybe that's a North American thing, but they they offered syrup for our oatmeal at a hotel in Copenhagen and solid it at a grocery near the hotel). All there was to put atop the waffles was jam, Nutella, and whipped cream. Strawberries or some other fresh fruit would have been preferred if syrup wasn't available.

Our room was unbelievablyl inconvenient to access. We had to use two different elevators and walk down endless hallways with poor directions to get there. Our room was isolated on a floor with four other rooms in a different building than the rest of the hotel. Getting there each time was like going through a maze intended to torture travelers. I've never experience anything like that before.

I wouldn't stay here again and next till will opt for a smaller hotel, preferably not owned by a chain.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    181
    56
    10
    11
See reviews for
42
191
26
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location couldn't be better, the staff was very nice and helpful, great breakfast, nice rooms. Just a really, really great hotel. You're right smack in the middle of the shopping district, but it wasn't too noisy or busy. Great big lounge in the hotel that connects to a Bishops arms bar, with a great selection of bourbons :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelika O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Beautiful hotel and excellent staff very reasonable in price would definitely stay again they even accommodated our 2 year old son at the last minute lovely breakfasts and lots of choice very close to train station and the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotteross82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Level Contributor
203 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel Elite Plaza on Gustav Adolf's suare in Malmoe for two nights. This apeared to be a very central spot in Mablmoe. Walking distance to almoust everything. Our room was nice and overlooking tje square. Bathroom was like new with a bathtub. Breakfast was wonderful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ClausLiisbergKamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The Elite offers a rather beguiling prospect. The Hotel accommodation is everything you'd expect from a 4* business style hotel, with everything you need and want , plus a couple of nice touches such as an iron and ironing board already in the wardrobe. th only niggle here is a robe would have been nice.
What sets the Malmo apart from it's competitors is the bar. It's more of a pub, with lots of cosy nooks and crannies to hide in while you cuddle your pint. Yes it is a pint, of real ale, some Swedish some British all good. The food is good/very good pub food and a really nice change from the obligatory room service club sandwich. And then there is the Whisky. I know about Whisky, I have to, it's my job. The range that Maja, who runs the bar has on offer is truly exceptional and one of the best I have ever seen, anwhere in the world.

Room Tip: Great burgers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bowbutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

I booked a room at this hotel for the weekend. Unfortunately one of my friends died and I was suddenly presented with the need to go to his funeral. I asked the hotel if I could get a refund and they didn't even reply. I then sent a second message via another channel and they sent back a rejection to be passed on via another channel. Unusual behavior to say the least.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MistyPool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

The location of this hotel is very good as it is in the city centre. The service at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Our room was tidy, peaceful, cozy and spacious enough. Breakfast was excellent with lots of goodies to choose from. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helpyourselfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Elite Hotel Savoy
#14 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo

Property: Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
Address: 49 Gustav Adolfs Torg, Malmo 211 39, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo is centrally located on Gustav Adolfs torg, surrounded by restaurants and shops. The property was built in the late 1890s and is also known under the nickname "The Riviera" due to the white facade being reminiscent of the Mediterranean. Our hotel offers 116 tastefully furnished rooms with air conditioning which ensures that the room temperatures is pleasant all year round. The hotel is also equipped with a gym, relaxation area, six spacious conference rooms with a total capacity of 250 people and in-house parking garage. Next door you find our popular pub The Bishops Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing