We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful hotel with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel with a great location”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Location of the hotel is great if you like shopping, since there is an abundance of shops around the corner. If you are at the city just to pop by and are travelling by train, the other Elite hotel in town is more recommendable because of it's location.

Breakfast is very good, just like the Elite-hotels use to have, and hotel staff is very friendly. Room (superior) was spacious but quite dark. Also the room was quite cold and I did not find any device to regulate the room temperature with. Bed was very comfortable and room was very clean with all the new fancy decor.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janna78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    183
    57
    10
    11
See reviews for
45
192
28
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Very nicely decorated hotel smack in the centre of Malmö. All the rooms I've stayed in has been absolutely perfect, very nicely made and decorated, exceptionally clean, including the corridors and surrounding areas. Very good breakfast. No own restaurant but as usual with Elite hotels it seems, directly connected to a pub/restaurant with some good basic meals until quite late. A number of great restaurants within 3 minutes walking distance, so that is all good. The only thing to comment on is the service level at this hotel. The personell often see a bit young, inexperienced, and not with a service attitude one would expect from a hotel this standard. Some personell good, some outright rude.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getitright19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Malmo in mid-November is cold and gets dark early so comfort was foremost in my mind when selecting this hotel; which did not dissappoint.

The initial imprssion was one of freshness with no hints of wear and tear. The reception staff were welcoming as well as helpful although there did not appear to be any porterage if that is something you expect.

Elevator access was restricted to room card holders which gave a feeling of security that was reinforced by substantial doors to the bedrooms. The room itself was reasonably spacious, very bright and offered views over the plaza. Excellent glazing kept out the street noise as well as the draughts.

Furnishings were above standard with good amounts of storage and included a suitcase holder which always helps when making a single night stay that does not justify unpacking.

Wifi is available free of charge in the rooms but I used the ethernet connection which produced blistering speeds of 96Mb download and 11Mb upload.

There is tea and coffee making facilities with a good range of items including loose ground coffee/сafetière and drinking chocolate. There was also a safe and mini-bar.

The bed was simply the most comfortable one that I have ever slept in anywhere - WOW - I wish I had one like it at home. I made the error of taking a pre-dinner nap and didn't want to leave it.

The bathroom is pretty and well stocked with guest complimentaries however it was the only area where I felt design let the place down. The sink does not have any stop or plug of any sort which I found annoying when shaving. The shower was powerful, warm and reliable but uses a loose handset that kept flipping up and wetting the stored towels and flooding the floor. Leaving the shower for a floor soaked in tepid water is not a good experience and a pain if someone is going to shower after you. These were however the only annoyances.

There is a funky retro lounge on the ground floor and a link into the hotel's own bar - The Bishop's Arms - which has an atmospheric lounge/library to the rear.

Overall, the hotel offered an excellent venue for a winter weekend trip and would have been perfect were it not for the water soaked bathroom.

Room Tip: Request one overlooking the plaza. Soundproofing means that occupiers of lower floors are not disadv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Just returned from a two night trip to Malmö to see a concert at Malmö Arena. What can I say about this hotel, it is simply fantastic! I have stayed at the Elite branded hotels before in Sweden and never been disappointed but this is now my ultimate favourite choice for the city of Malmö. The location of the hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Central Station in Malmö or if you carrying luggage you can take a taxi, which will cost around 120 SEK. Ideally, the hotel is located from the main shopping street, there is an abundance of shops, and restaurants close by. There is a typical English pub located within / next door to the hotel called The Bishops Arms.

I was booked into a Superior Room, which was massive with a bed that can only be described as Queen Sized. The room was ready upon my arrival and I was on the second floor. A comfortable bed with a choice of pillows (synthetic ones were in the wardrobe along with a blanket!). Each room has a flat screen TV on the wall and you can hook up your iPod to listen to your own music. There are also tea and coffee making facilities in each room and you can make fresh coffee using the little cafetiere, perfect I hate instant coffee and extra milk can be obtained from reception should you need it!

I also should add a friend of mine was booked into a ‘Standard Double Room’ and this was more than adequate in terms of comfort and space and had all the same facilities as my room did.

The large windows in the room offer plenty of natural light, but once the heavy curtains are shut, you will experience no problems falling asleep as it is so dark. Also in the two nights I stayed here, I heard no noise in the hotel at night so my sleep was good! The wardrobe has plenty of hanging space and shelves; there is an ironing board complete with iron and a safe for storing your valuables! A nice large bathroom with a power shower and plenty of towels and toiletries!

Breakfast was served until 11am on weekends and the scrambled eggs are to die for! I found that the tables were cleared quickly so there was no waiting around for a table for breakfast. We got late check out on Sunday until 6pm, which was an added bonus, as I did not need to be at Copenhagen airport until 4pm! There is a large sized gym perfect if you fancy some exercise and also a sauna. There is also a garage for car parking located in the basement. Free wireless internet or a cable is provided in the rooms is available for three hours at a time by collecting a ticket from reception. I found all the staff to be friendly and helpful, certainly a welcoming stay and a hotel I plan on visiting again on my next trip to Malmö.

Room Tip: The Standard Rooms are perfect, somehow I was booked into a Superior Room for my two-night break but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreedomButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed at this hotel 3 nights and we loved it! We changed room because the first one didn`t have a bathtub, having a shower on the floor is not very comfortable! So we asked for a different one and we changed. The most important thing to me in a hotel is the cleanliness and at this hotel everything was perfectly clean. Nice breakfast, friendly staff and perfect location. The bar Bishops Arms, practically inside the hotel, has a fantastic decor, so lovely. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a bathroom with a bathtub at check in time
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anabela77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
158 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

This is one of the best value hotels I have ever stayed in. It is a large hotel but feels quite personal. Very stylish, very comfortable and very clean. Maybe a little more storage space in the room would be good (there is a reasonable size wardrobe but a lot of it is taken up by minibar, safe, etc) but this is the only (fairly minor) non-positive comment I would make. This really is a great hotel and I would highly recommend to anyone visiting Malmo.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteD_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed there on Aug 26 2011, the hotel was 1 year old then. The place was impeccably clean. The bed was of good quality and it has everything one may expect from a good hotel.

There was a noisy festival going on in Malmo, but the insulation was excellent, we slept real good.
There are 100's of restaurants and amenities nearby.

A bus hub is across the street, it makes it convenient for travelers; the subway station connecting to CPH (Copenhagen airport) is just a few blocks away or an easy bus ride away. Also, connecting to MMX (Malmo airport) is very easy.

Room Tip: I guess any room in that hotel is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C0CKR0ACH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Elite Hotel Savoy
#13 of 37 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo

Property: Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo
Address: 49 Gustav Adolfs Torg, Malmo 211 39, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo > Gamla Staden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo is centrally located on Gustav Adolfs torg, surrounded by restaurants and shops. The property was built in the late 1890s and is also known under the nickname "The Riviera" due to the white facade being reminiscent of the Mediterranean. Our hotel offers 116 tastefully furnished rooms with air conditioning which ensures that the room temperatures is pleasant all year round. The hotel is also equipped with a gym, relaxation area, six spacious conference rooms with a total capacity of 250 people and in-house parking garage. Next door you find our popular pub The Bishops Arms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Elite Plaza Hotel Malmo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing