We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel with attentive & friendly staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Malmo, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with attentive & friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a luxurious night at the Renaissance at the beginning of April.
From our arrival at reception until we checked out the next morning we were provided with first class, friendly & attentive service. I can warmly recommend the afternoon tea served in the Rosen bar. The meal we had later in the evening was equally delicious and I don't think I have ever seen such a large choice of food as the one provided on the breakfast buffet.
The rooms are beautifully furnished in funky colours with everything you could wish for. It was so quiet in our room that we could have been the only people staying at the hotel. We were really surprised to find the restaurant full when we when down for breakfast the next morning. How could there be so many in the hotel and yet it was so quiet, I have never experienced that before. The location in the center of the city and only 10 minutes walk from the station makes it the perfect destination for a city break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zippyuk321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Google Translation
Stort tack för de trevliga kommentarerna, verkligen väldigt glad och stolt över det ni beskriver!

Hoppas ni får tillfälle att bo över hos oss snart igen!

Mvh,
Jens Lyckman
Hotelldirektör
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    241
    61
    30
    9
See reviews for
93
341
45
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Renaissance along with our very young baby for one night. Given that this was the weekend and this hotel is right in the center by many bars with outside seating, it was amazing that our top floor room was totally silent at night.

Noticeable pros
- Very friendly and helpful staff; one even dialed out and connected a call for me when I had difficulties using the room's phone
- Ability (for a fee) to connect you're own latop/tablet/mp3 to the TV via a multimedia dock. Given that the hotel has free wifi this means you can stream you're netflix, DVDS or Spotify rather than find something you've probably already seen on the hotel entertainment system
- Variable air-conditioning; air conditioning that can be easily adjusted and even turned off, not like many hotels where you can easily end up freezing at night
- No bright standby 'Blue Lights' getting in the way of your sleep on TVs etc; you know what I mean by this!
- One minute from street to room to top floor via the elevator
- Super breakfast with everything one needs
- Interesting interior
- Great bar

Noticeable cons
- None really...

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room if your looking for a quiet night - that way is way up from the street where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elvisleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Elvisleft,

thanks for taking the time to complete the Tripadvisor survey and thanks for the high rating!

Hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

This has been our second stay at Renaissance, Malmö, and maybe our last. This was a family trip and we were really looking forward to it, since our first stay was wonderful. This time how ever, 3 weeks ago, was different. The service was inadequate upon our arrival. And the personnel seemed like they couldn't care less wether we were there or not. When we came up to the room we realized there was a pole in the middle of the room, and one light was not functioning in the bathroom. There was only soap for one guest, not for three, and when I mentioned it, room service gave us just enough for one more person! One pillow smelled really bad, but we felt that complaining wouldn't really help - as they were probably under staffed.The bathwater in the tub took forever to get drained and we could have used some extra towels. Breakfast was really good, apart from the coffee which tasted not freshly brewed and sour. We couldn't drink it, you get much better coffee down town in one of the many marvelous cafe's. We asked for a latte , which was cold. The tea was however excellent, and that's what we ended up drinking that morning. I told them a few things downstairs upon checking out. But the clerk there hardly responded. And by the way - we were charged twice for our stay. we payed cash, but they had also charged us from the credit card! The money came back about 4 days later, but there was no excuse or notification from the hotel about this. will we come back? I doubt it.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel. And if you do choose this one ask for one without a pole in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patsy0075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Patsy,

thanks for your comments here on Tripadvisor.
It looks like everything that could go wrong during your stay went in that direction, my sincere apologies for our shortcomings. Together with my head of departments we'll go through your feed-back and act on it.

I wonder if you could mail me at Jens.Lyckman@renaissancemalmo.se in order to continue our conversation.

Thanks for taking the time!

Kind regards,
Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
384 reviews
201 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel in all aspects! Spacious room, good breakfast and wonderful customer service. The hotel is right around the corner from one of the main squares. I recommend the Moosehead for a good night of drinks.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, and happy you liked our product!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked this hotel since we were attending an event at Malmöhus and this hotel is very close. Overall the location is very good for the center of Malmö, and the price was reasonable. We found out only after booking that the hotel had just been rated "Best hotel in Sweden" on tripadvisor (early 2012) which might have given us a bit too high expectations.

Overall the hotel was fine, but it is a long way from the best. No specific complaints but there was absolutely nothing special about it, unlike many hotels we've stayed at in Sweden. The room was nice and functional, although a bit small for the price. Internet was available but didn't work very well. Check-in was efficient but definitely not friendly. The breakfast was good, similar to most Swedish hotels in this class but no complaints. We might stay here again for the location, but there are better hotels around.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kymberand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Kymberand,

thanks for your feed-back, it seems like you had an average stay, which is nothing we are aiming for! We'll go through your feed-back and hopefully it should be improved within the near future.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Looking back at my stay in this hotel often makes me think if the name Renaissance aptly applies to the impression I had on my room. There were awful lots of spider webs in the room (see pictures). I don't know if those were deliberately neglected by the hotel personnel so as to have a "renaissance effect".

Mercifully, my experience in this hotel wasn't limited to the unpleasant sight of spider webs on the ceiling. There were plenty of other positive things worth mentioning. Chef of that would be the breakfast buffet staff. Coming from Danmark were customer service is none existent, I highly commend the enthusiastic and quite lively staff that greeted me every morning. It's not only the continental food or the coffee that was invigorating, their staff made it a warmer place to dine in.

As for the room, I got their spacious "Prestige Room". It has a mini bar, a kettle, a nespresso coffee machine, safe vault, radio and TV with decent amount of channels. The drawers, cabinet and wardrobe were adorned with embossed metal while the walls were decorated with stylish art.

As for the internet connection, they gave their guest a limited internet connectivity and they charge extra for faster internet speed. This resonates to all Marriott hotels I've been through which is a bummer!

Honestly, it's a bit hard to recommend this hotel for future travelers for its value and location because there are quite a lot of nearby hotels which are better alternative and has its own individual charm. However, the experience in this hotel depends on the individual, so to all future travelers....enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Google Translation
Hej Ulrick,

tack för dina kommentarer, kan försäkra dig om att min husfru är på spindeljakt "as we speak".

Med vänlig hälsning,

Jens Lyckman
Hotelldirektör
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

There was nothing particularly bad about our stay, but given the price of the hotel we expected more. Best things: Location in the heart of the city, comfort of the bed, and cleanliness. Worst things: Value for money, small gym, snide/stuffy waiters and doormen in the downstairs bar/cafe, and shower. To elaborate on what we'd suggest to improve to make this a better value, we suggest investing in a better gym or not calling it a full gym, training waitstaff in how to treat the hotel guests (for our one coffee there, they wouldn't let us sit at any of the empty tables saying they were reserved, and instead we had to sit in an uncomfortable table in the corner, yet after an hour when we left the lounge seats still hadn't been occupied and the waitress wouldn't let me leave until after she'd verified that I in fact was staying in the room I had charged the bill to), and making improvements to the shower (no door, and the shower head had to be held - the screw that held it in place would constantly slip). To their credit, they were very nice at the front desk, and we told them about the shower head only upon check out. For this price we expected more, but found the hotel room very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danielhead615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Daniel, thanks for leaving comments here on Tripadvisor. Your information regarding our F&B outlet is extremely valueable and my department head will be informed accordingly.

Despite our shortcomings I do hope you'll return to our beautiful and interesting city in the future, as well as staying with us at the Renaissance.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Hotel Master Johan
#2 of 38 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#10 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Address: 15 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing