We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel in the heart of Malmö let down by poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The hotel itself has been refurbished, and the rooms are smart and modern. As others have commented, the parking is underneath the hotel, and accessible only with a hotel room key, so you have to park out in the street, go in to the hotel, get a key from them, and then park. Unfortunately, I had to wait five minutes for a receptionist to turn up and when she did, she did not feel the need to apologize for the delay. Since there was no Executive Lounge, I was told that I could choose one soft drink and one snack free from the mini-bar (!). Predictably, I was charged for this after I left, and three days after complaining, have still not received a reply.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DylanWadol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Dylan,

thanks for your feed-back, as you mention the Renaissance Malmö is a smaller hotel with only 128 rooms, and unfortunately no Executive Lounge, however we do have a wonderful restaurant and bar, the Rosen Bar & Dining. Please do consider us for your next stay in Malmö and put a mail to me before at Jens.Lyckman@renaissancemalmo.se and we'll do our best to deliver a better service.

Kind regards,
Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 887 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in January. The interior of this hotel is beautiful, fresh and modern. We had a small room, but it was clean and functional with a comfortable bed. Bathroom were spacious and nice as well. First we got a room with only a shower, but it was no problem to change to one with a bath tub.
We had one issue with the bath tub where something was missing to keep the water in the tub during bath, but this was solved by the hotel within 5 minutes from our call to receiption - 5 star service!
The only thing that didn't lived up to our expectations were the breakfast buffé. The cheeses where standing under a warm spot light so it was dried out and not tasty at all (the edges were curly and dry), and when we asked for some fresh cheese we got our own plate on the table (thank you!) but the others had to eat the old cheese that had been under the spot for several hours. The hot part of the buffé could also been better; either it was over cooked or it was not warm. Beakfast is not good enough for a hotel that is aiming to be the best in Malmö.
By the way - a coctail at the Rosen Bar on the ground floor is a must!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malin_o_Jonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear Malin & Jonas,

thanks for your comments, we discovered that the position of the cheese was wrong as well as the watt in the lamps above, so this problem is now solved.

Once again thanks for all your feed-back and welcome back to our establishment!

Kind regards,
Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel was renovated quite recently. Everything looked brand new and nice. The location is central but we had some issues with our car. They have a garage but a parking space can not be reserved in advance.( For this purpose Hotel Elite Plaza is a better option). Well, the garage was full when we arrived and so we had to empty our car completely to avoid possible theft. And we had a lot of stuff after a two-week-holiday across Europe... A big minus for that.

Our room was modern with nice furniture and spacious enough. Good, spik and span clean bathroom but no slippers in that category which a minus.

The breakfast was typical Scandinavian with no surprises. The space having breakfast was cozy and quiet which we like.

Overall this hotel was very good but nothing special. The staff was very helpful and the spoke Swedish even if they noticed that you are a foreigner. Sometimes people in Sweden speak English even if you start in Swedish... That is strange.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelManiaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thanks for your kind words and thanks for completing the survey on tripadvisor.
We do have a limited number of parking spaces, however it's extremely rare that it's fully occupied, do apologize for the inconvenience caused.

Please let us know if there is anything we can help you with, prior to your next stay with us!

Kind regards,
Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel in the center of Malmö. The room was big and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was clean and modern with plenty of space.
Don't miss out on the best part of this hotel- the Rosen Bar on the ground floor! They serve the best coctails in town and a lovely breakfast for the morning after.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zendikite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thanks for discovering the Renaissance Malmö Hotel!
Glad you went to Rosen Bar, we are real proud of the product and the Cocktails, next time you should try the great food prepared by our chefs!

Welcome back to Malmö and the Renaissance!

Kind regards,
Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

To start of with i found the ladies at reception most unfriendly, which is not typically Swedish at all. The rooms are attractive enough yet they smell musky as do the corridors (I stayed there twice and this was the same on both occassions)
A decent breakfast to enjoy
Wouldn't return

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esilenna8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Esilenna,

thanks for completing the tripadvisor survey. Of course I would be interested in receiving more information regarding your previous stay with us, could you possibly mail me at Jens.Lyckman@renaissancemalmo.se. Would be highly appreciated!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The room was excellent, and very big. The bed alone was the size of a normal New York room. It was also very clean. The hotel is located close to the central station, and everything one might need is close by. Breakfast was good, normal scandinavian standard. The staff was friendly and things seemed to be working smoothly. The room faced the street, but it was totally quiet.
The only thing keeping this hotel from getting the fifth star was that there was a bit of a mess at the check out. The receptionist insisted I had only pre paied for one night, and it took about 10 minutes and a bit of an argument to convince her that I had actually paid for the entire stay when booking the room. It's kind of uncomfortable to have to argue in order not to pay twice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fosfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thanks for rating us on tripadvisor. We aim for a smoother check out than the one you mentioned and despite the waiting time we hope to see you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed one night on business. Great location, modern furnishing, great bar, and just an all round yes from me.
Stayed in a prestige room - nice, spacious, great bed.
Breakfast was really good too, with excellent scrambled eggs.
So if you are in Malmo, I can't see any reason to look further than this hotel.
I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thanks for your kind words, see you back real soon ( I guess!).

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 37 in Malmo
975 reviews
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Address: 15 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range: $149 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing