We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good hotel with very good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel with very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

The room was excellent, and very big. The bed alone was the size of a normal New York room. It was also very clean. The hotel is located close to the central station, and everything one might need is close by. Breakfast was good, normal scandinavian standard. The staff was friendly and things seemed to be working smoothly. The room faced the street, but it was totally quiet.
The only thing keeping this hotel from getting the fifth star was that there was a bit of a mess at the check out. The receptionist insisted I had only pre paied for one night, and it took about 10 minutes and a bit of an argument to convince her that I had actually paid for the entire stay when booking the room. It's kind of uncomfortable to have to argue in order not to pay twice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fosfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks for rating us on tripadvisor. We aim for a smoother check out than the one you mentioned and despite the waiting time we hope to see you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    233
    60
    29
    8
See reviews for
90
332
44
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed one night on business. Great location, modern furnishing, great bar, and just an all round yes from me.
Stayed in a prestige room - nice, spacious, great bed.
Breakfast was really good too, with excellent scrambled eggs.
So if you are in Malmo, I can't see any reason to look further than this hotel.
I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks for your kind words, see you back real soon ( I guess!).

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holte, Denmark
Level Contributor
167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice new hotel in an old building in downtown Malmo. The reception area is really nice and welcoming and staff is more than friendly. The lounge/bar/restaurant is the place to be in Malmo at this moment. Very crowded, live music but still cosy. The rooms are nice, clean, newly decorated and relatively spacious. I can truly recommend this for both a nice weekend with your loved one and also for business purposes.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hansmiddelburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thanks for reviewing our property on Tripadvisor.
Looking forward of welcoming you back to the city of Malmö and the Renaissance in the near future.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Right on the moment when we stepped into the hotel we were stunned how beautiful it looked. Check in was made by this lovely lady who expanded everything that needed expanding. So the check in was really nice and simple. We stayed in the prestige double room. It was a really nice and big room. I loved the furniture there with little ornaments on them. The brick wall was a really interesting and cool touch. The bed was really big and soft. The breakfast served in the morning was very tasty and had a lot to choose from.

However there were some negative things. We found a pair of underwear and socks in the closet that were left there by the previous quest. There were only one pair of slippers and one bathrobe for two people.
Also the room and the bathroom were really cold and it took very long time to get them warm. Also the a/c started doing really loud noise in the middle of the night so I had to turn it off and of course the room was very cold in the morning. Getting warm water in the shower took forever I felt bad of wasting all that water to shower.

Still we had really good memories from this hotel and we will definitely stay there again.

Ave & Patrik

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aveke123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Ave & Patrik,

thanks for your kind words and thanks for taking the time to review the Renaissance Malmö Hotel. Will look into the issues you had during your stay and hopefully they will not occur during your next visit with us!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed several days here while enjoying events leading up to our son's wedding which took place in Skanor. This was a restored old hotel which kept it's charm. We liked it because it is a Marriott Hotel. It was very conveniently located and we loved Malmo.

Room Tip: If you like old world charm, this hotel is great. The rooms were very varied in size and shape with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hednwest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for reviewing our property, glad you liked it and hopefully you'll return for another occasion soon.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked an early booking internet rate room. De Luxe room. Great price! But... it kind of added up. Bathrobes not included. 9 euros for each bathrobe. Breakfast was included in the price but if you wanted it served at your room you had to pay for it once again. Full price. I am more than willing to pay much for room service but paying for breakfast twice + the room service fee felt a bit too much. We still did it but the breakfast that arrived was cold and had apparently been standing around for at least an hour before serving. The selection was good, but the quality poor. The room itself was lovely but the lighting almost nonexistent. The staff was very sweet but felt unprofessional and didn't seem to know the how the place worked. I find it very strange that this hotel has been rated No 3 in Sweden.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillinea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor.
I definitely need to take a closer look at the things you mention (service and breakfast related), room service is however operated like most international hotels.

Please mail me at Jens.Lyckman@renaissancemalmo.se for your next Malmö visit and I can assure you we'll do our utmost to change your view of our hotel.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I spent two and a half days each in Malmö & Copenhagen as part of our honeymoon in January of 2013. We started in Malmö since it was the weekend and room rates were cheaper than on the weekdays. This is contrary to what we were used to in the US as room rates are more expensive on the weekend. It seems like most people travel on business in Scandinavia which may be why. Deluxe room rates at the Renaissance were around $150 but I was able to find it for $125 when I booked it last June. This also included the breakfast buffet for my wife and myself which is around $25-$30 each.

Location is very good in the northern part of Malmö. Malmö central train station is less than a mile away and taxi fare is $10-$20 to/from the hotel if you have a lot of luggage. Once you step out of the hotel you are nearby by tons of stores, restaurants and coffee places. Malmö Castle/Museum is also not too far away as we walked over to it. Most people walk or bike, you don't see many cars around. It's a nice place to walk around at night as the area is lit up with lots of decorative lighting. We walked farther south on the last day and the area wasn't as nice as where we stayed at.

We had dinner at the Rosen Bar inside the Renaissance the first night. They had a DJ there since it was Saturday night. My wife and I both ordered the veal burger which is one of their signature items. The burger & fries were unbelievably yummy. Drinks were also excellent and it was a really wonderful dinner.

Rooms were very quiet, we were not disturbed by any noise and saw one person on our floor when we checked in during our entire stay. My wife also liked the interior of the room. Rooms were also very clean.

Front desk was pleasant. We were thirsty and asked for a pitcher of water so they brought us one from the bar. When leaving we called their delighted to serve service to call a cab and it was out front before I could finish checking out. If there was one thing to note they did not always have someone at the front desk. Most of the time they were in the office behind the front desk or doing something. This didn't affect our stay but something I could see with other reviewers. Perhaps that is on the weekend when it is slower.

The buffet was really fresh & tasty with a nice variety of foods. The only buffet I enjoyed more was the Radisson Blu Waterfront in Stockholm during my trip which was probably because of the donuts.

We enjoyed just about everything in Malmö. The hotel, food, activities were all such a great time. We would definitely come back here on the weekend if we had the chance and their prices are still reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Wow! So happy to read your review!!!
Thanks for all the kind words. Hope to see you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Elite Hotel Savoy
#13 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Address: 15 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott and Booking.com so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing