We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We had an amazing experience while in Malmö and this hotel is centrally located, priced right and a very trendy way to top of a stay in Scandinavia. The rooms are lovely and very well appointed. The beds were the best I encountered throughout Europe. The staff were fabulous and were catered to our every need and went the extra mile to make sure our stay was comfortable. The breakfast is splendid and totally worth it. If you're in the mood for some more American-style food, it's right next to a TGI Fridays.

Room Tip: The hotel can be a little maze-like, so try and ask for a room near an elevator as it can be very di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thanks for your feed-back and nice words!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    255
    65
    30
    9
See reviews for
95
363
49
203
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Late night Sunday arrival - had to wait 10 minutes for someone to come down to reception at 22:00 to check in. they did apologise so no big deal. I'd requested a high floor room away from the lifts and got a high floor room away from the customer lifts but opposite the service elevator used by housekeeping.... It was late and I didn't reject it and it didn't end up being a problem as I left early in the morning.

Room OK but a little tired, overall nothing too special and I wouldn't rush back. Nothing terrible, but nothing to right home about either and expensive for the money (but then again everything is in Sweden!)

If I was going again i would try the other Trip Advisor top hotel next door, who also lend out bikes for guests which I thought was a nice touch as I walked by it to get to this property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DepDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks for re-viewing us on tripadvisor, I do apologize for the inconvenience upon check in.
As you might have seen we do also have the bikes for rental (although outside by the pedestrian street).
Once again, thanks for taking the time and we do hope you consider us next time you travel to the city of Malmö.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

I am a regular business visitor to Malmo - having completed over 15 trips alone in the last 8 months. The Renaissance in Malmo is a terrific place to stay, the rooms are beautifully decorated, all modern-styled but each with their own individual character. The staff is always very friendly and accommodating to any requests. The breakfast serves high quality hot and cold buffet style food. The hotel is situated in a perfect location, right on the main little square (Lilla Torg) in centre of town, excellent choice of restaurants and bars are only steps away. The main railway station is also not too far - about a 10 mins walk at most.
The only gripe I would have about this hotel is the speed of the free WiFi option in the rooms - too slow for normal use, I normally have to upgrade to the faster connection for a more comfortable web-experience

Room Tip: The prestige rooms offer complimentary robe and slippers plus a Nespresso coffee making function.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thanks for your posted comment here on tripadvisor, will for sure bring up the internet speed with our partner company directly after the Holidays, thanks for bringing this issue to my attention.

Wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is a relatively new property conveniently located in the central city. It is within short walking distance to numerous bars and restaurants. The hotel staff is very friendly and professional. The hotel has a very chic Swedish design and is very appealing. The rooms are very well decorated and have comfortable beds. There is a nice lobby bar and the hotel has a restaurant with good service and food. This property is a winner!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PC_expat_in_AMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thanks for your review here on tripadvisor, very helpful in our strive to be one of the best hotels in Sweden.

Kind regards and season greetings,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 6 Contributor
608 reviews
166 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is a 550m walk from the central train station, which offers frequent trains to / from Copenhagen – the trains also stop directly under the check- in area of Copenhagen Airport, more convenience can’t be asked for. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants, bars and other hotels in the heart of the old town in Malmoe, a perfect location, Lilla torg only 20m from the hotel’s door. The hotel seems to have been made by combining a number of adjacent old restored buildings. Even though the “look and feel” of Renaissance is there, the hallways feature some inclines which transition the floor from one building to the other which had slightly different heights, and some odd toos and fros, giving the place a nice character under the modern veneer. I’ve stayed there a number of times, and none of the rooms has ever been just like the other – again, this lends character.
Staff are very good, very helpful, very professional - the Marriott training shows.
Rooms are generous, modern, well- appointed and have windows which open wide. I like a cool room with fresh air, not A/C, so this is a welcome feature which far too few hotels offer. There are inner rooms which are quieter, but I prefer the outer rooms and hearing the late night footfalls on the cobbled streets below. The bedding is very comfortable. The bathrooms are bright and functional, and have a heated floor which is more common in Scandanavia and should be adopted everywhere else, too! I don't know if there are some rooms with bathtubs but all the rooms I have stayed in had only a shower, so check if having a bath is important to you. Fit and finish are all top- quality and sparkling clean.
There is a small but adequate fitness centre. Breakfast is good, all the basics plus some very nice hand- carved smoked salmon and herrings in three different sauces. One odd thing was that there are no spoons in the place settings nor in the bins – maybe no one takes sugar in their coffee in Southern Sweden? Anyway, stirring with a knife worked well enough. For business or tourist visits, it’s hard to beat this hotel.

Room Tip: If quiet is important, ask for a room on the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thanks for your kind words about our hotel, makes both me and my staff very proud.

Hope to see you back within the near future, wish you a great Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I knew before I arrived that this was a very excellent hotel for one simple reason, the general manger takes the time to read and respond to EVERY TravelAdvisor review! Now that is a manager that is on top of what the “perception” of their hotel!
Your first impression walking into the lobby is bright, colorful, friendly and welcoming! And it IS!
Wonderful bar lounge area, full menu available, great service, the way customer service is supposed to always be done!
The rooms are extra clean. Wonderful amenities await inside. A espresso machine all set up to go with fresh water, cream, cups. Attractive décor in the rooms.
Wonderful location with excellent restaurants within 100 meters walking distance. Great morning coffee stops too. Very nice walking area/park within just a few blocks.
Honestly, a very, very nice place to stay on business or even to just get away for a weekend.
This management team GETS IT!!
Absolutely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jethelopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Sir,

Tanks for your extremely nice comments about our establishment and I guess about myself. Our guests are truly the most important thing and ONLY by your comments can we rate that we are heading in the correct direction! My staff and myself take great pride in representing the first Marriott hotel in Sweden, and it is indeed a great product.

By telling you that I am also a huge Seattle Seahawks fan, I hope you like us even more in the future! Go Russell Wilson!

Season greetings (and do please let me know when you are visiting us again at Jens.Lyckman@renaissancemalmo.se)

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballerup, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

An absolutely great hotel for visiting the central Malmo, right next to the cosy "Lilla Torget" which has a great atmosphere. The hotel it self is beautifully decorated with vibrant colors and the staff is so kind and helpfull. I have only booked a one-night stay, and when I saw the room I was a little sad that I didn't have to stay there for several days.. :) Breakfast was great, everything you would wan't for a buffet breakfast including some traditional scandinavian elements. All together I would absolutely recommend this hotel to others visiting Malmo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thanks for your kind feed-back and kind words, hope to see you back at the Renaissance Malmö Hotel soon and spend as many nights as you wish!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Master Johan Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#11 of 37 in Malmo
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Address: 15 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing