We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in Malmoe old town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

The hotel is a 550m walk from the central train station, which offers frequent trains to / from Copenhagen – the trains also stop directly under the check- in area of Copenhagen Airport, more convenience can’t be asked for. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants, bars and other hotels in the heart of the old town in Malmoe, a perfect location, Lilla torg only 20m from the hotel’s door. The hotel seems to have been made by combining a number of adjacent old restored buildings. Even though the “look and feel” of Renaissance is there, the hallways feature some inclines which transition the floor from one building to the other which had slightly different heights, and some odd toos and fros, giving the place a nice character under the modern veneer. I’ve stayed there a number of times, and none of the rooms has ever been just like the other – again, this lends character.
Staff are very good, very helpful, very professional - the Marriott training shows.
Rooms are generous, modern, well- appointed and have windows which open wide. I like a cool room with fresh air, not A/C, so this is a welcome feature which far too few hotels offer. There are inner rooms which are quieter, but I prefer the outer rooms and hearing the late night footfalls on the cobbled streets below. The bedding is very comfortable. The bathrooms are bright and functional, and have a heated floor which is more common in Scandanavia and should be adopted everywhere else, too! I don't know if there are some rooms with bathtubs but all the rooms I have stayed in had only a shower, so check if having a bath is important to you. Fit and finish are all top- quality and sparkling clean.
There is a small but adequate fitness centre. Breakfast is good, all the basics plus some very nice hand- carved smoked salmon and herrings in three different sauces. One odd thing was that there are no spoons in the place settings nor in the bins – maybe no one takes sugar in their coffee in Southern Sweden? Anyway, stirring with a knife worked well enough. For business or tourist visits, it’s hard to beat this hotel.

Room Tip: If quiet is important, ask for a room on the inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MunichEricJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Thanks for your kind words about our hotel, makes both me and my staff very proud.

Hope to see you back within the near future, wish you a great Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 452 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

I knew before I arrived that this was a very excellent hotel for one simple reason, the general manger takes the time to read and respond to EVERY TravelAdvisor review! Now that is a manager that is on top of what the “perception” of their hotel!
Your first impression walking into the lobby is bright, colorful, friendly and welcoming! And it IS!
Wonderful bar lounge area, full menu available, great service, the way customer service is supposed to always be done!
The rooms are extra clean. Wonderful amenities await inside. A espresso machine all set up to go with fresh water, cream, cups. Attractive décor in the rooms.
Wonderful location with excellent restaurants within 100 meters walking distance. Great morning coffee stops too. Very nice walking area/park within just a few blocks.
Honestly, a very, very nice place to stay on business or even to just get away for a weekend.
This management team GETS IT!!
Absolutely recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jethelopilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Sir,

Tanks for your extremely nice comments about our establishment and I guess about myself. Our guests are truly the most important thing and ONLY by your comments can we rate that we are heading in the correct direction! My staff and myself take great pride in representing the first Marriott hotel in Sweden, and it is indeed a great product.

By telling you that I am also a huge Seattle Seahawks fan, I hope you like us even more in the future! Go Russell Wilson!

Season greetings (and do please let me know when you are visiting us again at Jens.Lyckman@renaissancemalmo.se)

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

An absolutely great hotel for visiting the central Malmo, right next to the cosy "Lilla Torget" which has a great atmosphere. The hotel it self is beautifully decorated with vibrant colors and the staff is so kind and helpfull. I have only booked a one-night stay, and when I saw the room I was a little sad that I didn't have to stay there for several days.. :) Breakfast was great, everything you would wan't for a buffet breakfast including some traditional scandinavian elements. All together I would absolutely recommend this hotel to others visiting Malmo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camilla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks for your kind feed-back and kind words, hope to see you back at the Renaissance Malmö Hotel soon and spend as many nights as you wish!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's the little things that make a Good hotel a Great hotel. You can have the most wonderful hard product in the world but if you don't couple that with a phenomenal service, it will never become a Great Hotel. It's the attention to detail that matters and having staff that are both knowledgeable and service minded. The Renaissance Hotel in Malmo is in my mind a Good Hotel with the potential of becoming a Great Hotel. The property itself is a beautifully restored former warehouse building right in the heart of the old town of Malmo; the rooms are all slightly different in shape and sizes but are nicely furnished and decorated in a modern and contemporary style. The breakfast was good with an excellent selection of hot and cold items; however and this what differentiates a Good hotel from a Great hotel; breakfast staff were not proactive in walking the floor offering coffee refills to guests or clearing away dirty dishes. Similarly we were not impressed by the staff at the Front Desk who seemed to lack the ability to resolve problems effectively or even to offer a "welcome to our hotel" greeting when arriving. Saying that, despite the little shortcomings on the service front, this is a Good hotel; we enjoyed our stay here and it is probably the best choice of hotel in Malmo at present. It just needs a few minor tweaks to improve the competence level of the staff to become a Great hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FirstTravellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on Tripadvisor.
Will look at the comments you gave us and that is indeed valueable information for our Front Desk and myself!

Once again, thanks for taking the time to review Renaissance Malmö Hotel and please use our services for your next visit to Malmö.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Once more another great stay at this hotel. The staff everywhere and especially on front desk bend over backwards to make it excellent. Especially impressed with the wonderful breakfast staff who remembered my latte obsession and my kids hot chocolate preference. Thanks to all!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Thanks for rating us on Tripadvisor and giving us such high marks!

Welcome back to the Renaissance Malmö Hotel!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I can highly recommend this hotel for a romantic get-away!
First of all it is easy to reach since it is located in walking distance from the train station. The surroundings with Little Torg, "Folkets" Park and Malmohus (fort from 15th century) is perfect for a stroll, after having enjoyed a lovely late breakfast at the hotel.
The rooms and interior are very modern and yet colours choosen gives you a feeling of relaxation.
I higly recommend having your dinner at the hotel, as it is a gourmet experience and not more expensive, than eating at the nearby restaurants on Little Torg. Service in restaurant is very professional and done with respect for privacy, so that you can enjoy each other and still feel well cared for.
Don't forget to treat yourselves to the hotels famous afternoon tea. Lovely sandwiches and scones accompanied with different local Swedish cakes - don't miss out!

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony facing the side road is quiet and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fobian69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thanks for your kind words and rating, highly appreciated!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I've had the pleasure of staying here twice in the past month for business. The hotel on both occasions delivered consistently excellent service. The staff throughout your stay are attentive and are very helpful.
The hotel property is in a great location, close to the Central rail station so you can walk, and close to a very cool square (Lilla Torgand) with many restaurants and bars for evening entertainment.
Rooms are very nice size and exceptionally clean. If possible, ask for a room facing the street, although the interior rooms face a inner 'courtyard' with a grassy area that appears to be the roof over part of the lower floor.
Although a bit expensive, the breakfast is good and has a fair (standard European) variety of choices. It would be nice if you could order omelets or fried eggs, but they have scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and of course, meatballs.
I highly recommend this hotel if you will be in Malmo.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor!
Hope to see you back in Malmö and at the Renaissance Malmö Hotel within the near future.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 36 in Malmo
1,109 reviews
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 36 in Malmo
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Address: Master Johansgatan 15, Malmo 211 21, Sweden (Formerly Renaissance Malmo Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range: $140 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing