We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure indulgence for a romantic get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I can highly recommend this hotel for a romantic get-away!
First of all it is easy to reach since it is located in walking distance from the train station. The surroundings with Little Torg, "Folkets" Park and Malmohus (fort from 15th century) is perfect for a stroll, after having enjoyed a lovely late breakfast at the hotel.
The rooms and interior are very modern and yet colours choosen gives you a feeling of relaxation.
I higly recommend having your dinner at the hotel, as it is a gourmet experience and not more expensive, than eating at the nearby restaurants on Little Torg. Service in restaurant is very professional and done with respect for privacy, so that you can enjoy each other and still feel well cared for.
Don't forget to treat yourselves to the hotels famous afternoon tea. Lovely sandwiches and scones accompanied with different local Swedish cakes - don't miss out!

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony facing the side road is quiet and nice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fobian69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thanks for your kind words and rating, highly appreciated!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (863)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Malmo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 863 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

I've had the pleasure of staying here twice in the past month for business. The hotel on both occasions delivered consistently excellent service. The staff throughout your stay are attentive and are very helpful.
The hotel property is in a great location, close to the Central rail station so you can walk, and close to a very cool square (Lilla Torgand) with many restaurants and bars for evening entertainment.
Rooms are very nice size and exceptionally clean. If possible, ask for a room facing the street, although the interior rooms face a inner 'courtyard' with a grassy area that appears to be the roof over part of the lower floor.
Although a bit expensive, the breakfast is good and has a fair (standard European) variety of choices. It would be nice if you could order omelets or fried eggs, but they have scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, and of course, meatballs.
I highly recommend this hotel if you will be in Malmo.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street are nice
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor!
Hope to see you back in Malmö and at the Renaissance Malmö Hotel within the near future.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice and centrally located. Nice ambiance and walking distance from the main square.
Breakfast was poor and amenity rooms poor. Otherwise ok for the price paid. You have to carry you baggage !!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to rate us on Tripadvisor. Would it be possible for you to mail me and specify what you lacked on the breakfast buffet and hopefully we'll be able to adjust it for your next visit with us.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman (Jens.Lyckman@renaissancehotels.com)
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel has a TA sticker in the elevator calling it 'The Best Hotel in Sweden' and I have to agree!!! In a great location steps from both Lilla Torgand (resteraunts) and Stor Targett (main square) this hotel is central and a 5 min walk from the train statio. The reception staff are efficient, friendly and multilingual and the hotel modern in an elegant way. Our room was large (same room both times we stayed) and faced the inner area of grassed roofs over the conference rooms. It was quiet and we had 2 sets of french doors.
Breakfast was excellent with many choices of breads, meats, cheese, bacon sausage potatoes etc and a chef cooking eggs to order. Good coffee as well. Very good value and a lot cheaper than Copenhagen. (90 krona each way on the train - frequent trains to the airport).
Good bathroom and there is a make-up mirror if you look for it.
I would certainly reccommend this hotel and plan to stay there whenever I am in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner area are quieter.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keenvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks for posting your feed-back on Tripadvisor.
We are still thrilled that we got the award for being the best hotel in Sweden on TA earlier this year, now it is up to ourselves and our happy guests to ensure we stay on top!
So whenever in Copenhagen - stay in Malmö and at the Renaissance!

Once again, thank you!

Kind regards,
Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have stayed in Malmo a gazillion times and normally stay in the same area as the Renaissance.

We were in the area and we decided to go on a last minute 1 night getaway. We did not have a reservation, just dropped in and got a good offer (double checked the web site but receptionist gave us the same price).

Like others have said, truly a solid hotel in an excellent location. Nice bed, nice Scandinavian designs and really surprised by the decent room size (not often you get this in Europe).

I didn't feel that breakfast was great though and could be better. Other experiences in Scandinavia have treated me to large breakfast buffets, this felt a little limited. Again, not bad, just not impressive.

Overall a good stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birddogilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks for your post here on Tripadvisor, which means a lot to us.
We try to vary our selection on the breakfast buffet as much as possible and do hope you found something for your taste, when in Malmö next time, let me know if you have any special request and we'll do our utmost to fulfill them.

Once again, thanks for your nice post and welcome back.

Kind regards,
Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A great hotel with an almost tranquil, calm atmosphere. Nice design elements while preserving materials of the original, very old building as well. Excellent bed, spacious room with high quality wooden floor (admitted, you might hear the people above you walking every now and then), very good breakfast. Friendly staff all over. Perfect, quiet location, yet in the middle of the old town. Quickly becoming one of my favorites.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonT58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thanks for your kind post at tripadvisor and really glad you enjoyed your stay at the Renaissance Malmö Hotel.

Kind regards and welcome back,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

What can I say? I love this hotel.

Jens and his staff have a real gem.

If you are in the Malmo, Lund or the Copenhagen area, this really should be your only hotel option.

Thanks once again for a great stay.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are a little quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wembleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thanks for your great support in our strive to be the only choice for business or leisure travellers visiting Malmö!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Address: 15 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range: $115 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing