We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel has a TA sticker in the elevator calling it 'The Best Hotel in Sweden' and I have to agree!!! In a great location steps from both Lilla Torgand (resteraunts) and Stor Targett (main square) this hotel is central and a 5 min walk from the train statio. The reception staff are efficient, friendly and multilingual and the hotel modern in an elegant way. Our room was large (same room both times we stayed) and faced the inner area of grassed roofs over the conference rooms. It was quiet and we had 2 sets of french doors.
Breakfast was excellent with many choices of breads, meats, cheese, bacon sausage potatoes etc and a chef cooking eggs to order. Good coffee as well. Very good value and a lot cheaper than Copenhagen. (90 krona each way on the train - frequent trains to the airport).
Good bathroom and there is a make-up mirror if you look for it.
I would certainly reccommend this hotel and plan to stay there whenever I am in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner area are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keenvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks for posting your feed-back on Tripadvisor.
We are still thrilled that we got the award for being the best hotel in Sweden on TA earlier this year, now it is up to ourselves and our happy guests to ensure we stay on top!
So whenever in Copenhagen - stay in Malmö and at the Renaissance!

Once again, thank you!

Kind regards,
Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

424 - 430 of 881 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

Have stayed in Malmo a gazillion times and normally stay in the same area as the Renaissance.

We were in the area and we decided to go on a last minute 1 night getaway. We did not have a reservation, just dropped in and got a good offer (double checked the web site but receptionist gave us the same price).

Like others have said, truly a solid hotel in an excellent location. Nice bed, nice Scandinavian designs and really surprised by the decent room size (not often you get this in Europe).

I didn't feel that breakfast was great though and could be better. Other experiences in Scandinavia have treated me to large breakfast buffets, this felt a little limited. Again, not bad, just not impressive.

Overall a good stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birddogilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks for your post here on Tripadvisor, which means a lot to us.
We try to vary our selection on the breakfast buffet as much as possible and do hope you found something for your taste, when in Malmö next time, let me know if you have any special request and we'll do our utmost to fulfill them.

Once again, thanks for your nice post and welcome back.

Kind regards,
Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

A great hotel with an almost tranquil, calm atmosphere. Nice design elements while preserving materials of the original, very old building as well. Excellent bed, spacious room with high quality wooden floor (admitted, you might hear the people above you walking every now and then), very good breakfast. Friendly staff all over. Perfect, quiet location, yet in the middle of the old town. Quickly becoming one of my favorites.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonT58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thanks for your kind post at tripadvisor and really glad you enjoyed your stay at the Renaissance Malmö Hotel.

Kind regards and welcome back,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

What can I say? I love this hotel.

Jens and his staff have a real gem.

If you are in the Malmo, Lund or the Copenhagen area, this really should be your only hotel option.

Thanks once again for a great stay.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wembleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

Thanks for your great support in our strive to be the only choice for business or leisure travellers visiting Malmö!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Situated right in the heart of the restaurant district in down town Malmo. Great hotel with smart modern rooms, good friendly staff and a knowledgable barman. Had a great time on business here. Next time in Malmo I know I will stay here.

Room Tip: 4th floor away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisTubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thanks Mr Tubbs for your kind words, and thanks for becoming a regular guest with us!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have stayed in many Renaissance hotels and this was by far the best. A chic, modern interior, large rooms, very central. Our room had wooden floors with rugs, comfortable bed, a feature brick wall, all that lighting you see in design magazines, a luxurious bathroom and a Nespresso machine. Lovely themed rose carpet throughout the hallways. The Rosen bar is full of comfy sofas and attracts a mixed clientele from twenty-somethings to the more mature, enjoying cocktails or wines by the glass and the bar menu. Lille Torg with all its restaurants on the doorstep, though we weren't disturbed at all thanks to the good insulation. Likewise the bar is anything but rowdy, even on a Saturday. Excellent buffet breakfast served in the bar area too.

We had flown into Copenhagen on a stopover and decided to take the train from the airport across the Øresund to Malmö for a change. The journey only takes 20 minutes and you get to experience one of the great engineering marvels of the world on the way. We really enjoyed Malmö and the Renaissance. We'd unhesitatingly do both again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thanks for your kind words, really appreciate all your comments, and indeed travelling to Malmö from Copenhagen is tremendously easy!

Please spread the word about Malmö and the Renaissance and nobody will be happier than me!

Kind regards and welcome back,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Malmo Marriott is a real find and an oasis for the tired traveler. We are Marriott Gold members and stayed there for two nights before our cruise left from Copenhagen, Denmark. The train ride from the Copenhagen Airport was seamless, and was made even easier by a U-Tube video. The hotel should consider doing its own U-Tube video as the one we saw was directed to incoming students at the local university. The hotel was very well designed and the staff all spoke English, with many having spent time in the USA. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet: the food, as well as the casually elegant ambience. The train station is 3 tenths of a KM from the hotel. Turn right out of the hotel front door and you are in a large courtyard with two dozen cafes and restaurants. Good for food and people watching. Our room was full of all of the high-quality amenities you expect at a Marriott Residence facility.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawton1osuedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thanks for re-viewing our establishment!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
MJ's Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#12 of 37 in Malmo
1,452 reviews
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 37 in Malmo
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Address: 15 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range: $110 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing