We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continues to Offer The Best Choice in Malmo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Wembley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Continues to Offer The Best Choice in Malmo”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

What can I say? I love this hotel.

Jens and his staff have a real gem.

If you are in the Malmo, Lund or the Copenhagen area, this really should be your only hotel option.

Thanks once again for a great stay.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wembleygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Thanks for your great support in our strive to be the only choice for business or leisure travellers visiting Malmö!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    248
    64
    30
    9
See reviews for
95
354
46
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Situated right in the heart of the restaurant district in down town Malmo. Great hotel with smart modern rooms, good friendly staff and a knowledgable barman. Had a great time on business here. Next time in Malmo I know I will stay here.

Room Tip: 4th floor away from the street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thanks Mr Tubbs for your kind words, and thanks for becoming a regular guest with us!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
245 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have stayed in many Renaissance hotels and this was by far the best. A chic, modern interior, large rooms, very central. Our room had wooden floors with rugs, comfortable bed, a feature brick wall, all that lighting you see in design magazines, a luxurious bathroom and a Nespresso machine. Lovely themed rose carpet throughout the hallways. The Rosen bar is full of comfy sofas and attracts a mixed clientele from twenty-somethings to the more mature, enjoying cocktails or wines by the glass and the bar menu. Lille Torg with all its restaurants on the doorstep, though we weren't disturbed at all thanks to the good insulation. Likewise the bar is anything but rowdy, even on a Saturday. Excellent buffet breakfast served in the bar area too.

We had flown into Copenhagen on a stopover and decided to take the train from the airport across the Øresund to Malmö for a change. The journey only takes 20 minutes and you get to experience one of the great engineering marvels of the world on the way. We really enjoyed Malmö and the Renaissance. We'd unhesitatingly do both again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks for your kind words, really appreciate all your comments, and indeed travelling to Malmö from Copenhagen is tremendously easy!

Please spread the word about Malmö and the Renaissance and nobody will be happier than me!

Kind regards and welcome back,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Malmo Marriott is a real find and an oasis for the tired traveler. We are Marriott Gold members and stayed there for two nights before our cruise left from Copenhagen, Denmark. The train ride from the Copenhagen Airport was seamless, and was made even easier by a U-Tube video. The hotel should consider doing its own U-Tube video as the one we saw was directed to incoming students at the local university. The hotel was very well designed and the staff all spoke English, with many having spent time in the USA. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet: the food, as well as the casually elegant ambience. The train station is 3 tenths of a KM from the hotel. Turn right out of the hotel front door and you are in a large courtyard with two dozen cafes and restaurants. Good for food and people watching. Our room was full of all of the high-quality amenities you expect at a Marriott Residence facility.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawton1osuedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks for re-viewing our establishment!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Level Contributor
79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Introduction:
Malmö is a quite unexpected destination for me. I’ve been in Stockholm quite often but Malmö, it was my first time.
Actually, I came here on my own, without my lover, for a watch collector annual gathering.
There are no Starwood hotels so I had to pick up another brand hotel this time. I checked Trip Advisor, as usual, and made a decision to go for Marriott’s Renaissance.
Prior to book, I called the hotel to make sure I could have a balcony that would allow me to smoke as the hotel is 100% non smoking.

Dates of stays:
From July 27th to July 29th, 2012

The Area:
At zero minutes walking from a very busy and trendy square, you will find all you need from bars, restaurants and shops.

The Interior:
It’s looking very “intimate” and I must say that the first impression is that it is a “small” hotel. And, in fact it is.

Check in:
As usual, I called the hotel prior booking to confirm I could have a balcony because I’m a smoker. There are only 4 bedrooms with a balcony and I was lucky because one was assigned to me.
Checking in was fast but I must say I was the only guest to do so and only one person/position was available.
My primal request was fulfilled.

The room:
I would call the room an average superior room in terms of space and features. But with the tiny balcony it made the trick: I was able to enjoy a smoke from time to time and still didn’t feel oppressed when staying at my desk in the room.

The Air Conditioning/Heating in the room:
Perfectly working.

The Bathroom:
A nice space, large enough, with a single sink, a bath with hand shower
Amenities are not the best one I got but it was OK.

The Bed:
I would rate the bed 3/5.

Check out:
Fast and easy because I used in room check out.
If not, there was a line and still only one person on duty on the Sunday so it might be a pain sometimes.

I really liked:
The area and the hotel in general.
It is rated Trip Advisor best hotel of Malmö but I think it is a good, even really good hotel, but nothing special that deserves such a badge.
I don’t think I would pick this one again if I ever go to Malmö again.

I really disliked:
Nothing…just average in general.


All the best,
Stephane

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephaneBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for your feed-back!
The google translate version is not 100%, but do think I'll get the most important things out of your stay with us! I do hope you'll stay here next time you visit Malmö!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marne, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We chose this hotel because of hotel points that we had available. I was concerned about getting there from the airport in Copenhagen, but that turned out to be no big deal. We had 3 nights before a cruise that we needed a room. I investigated the price of hotels in Copenhagen and was amazed at the cost. We decided to use the points from our Marriot card for this one. It also got us the buffet breakfast every morning.

It was a good choice. We got into the airport at 5 in the afternoon from our overseas flight. We were tired. I easily found the ticket office for the Oresund train and got tickets. Also found out that everything you hear about credit cards needing a pin number is true. Luckily I was able to change some US cash for Danish cash. The train station got Danish cash. It was a 30 minute ride to the Swedish side of the tunnel/bridge. Then it was 3 stops until the center of Malmo.

We started walking in the direction that I thought was Lily Torg and I was correct. We circled the cute little square, pulling our suitcases on the cobblestones, and looking for the Renaissance sign. We finally saw it a little bit down one of the sidestreeets. Checking in was a breeze. Very good English spoken and our Marriot credit card was (of course) good as gold.

Our room was very nice. It was on the second floor overlooking MasterJohansgatan. That turned out to be a very noisy location late at night. There was the thumping bass note from some restaurant on the Lily Torg square until 2 AM. We were so tired that night that we both woke from it, recognized what it was, and then went right back to sleep. It was not there on Thursday night. It was back on Friday night. We slept in spite of it. If you have trouble sleeping, be aware of this.

The buffet breakfast was wonderful. We got complimentary breakfast because we used our points, so I don't know how many kroner it would be. The breakfast had great breads, jams, butter, cold meats, cheese, many cereals, yogurt, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, juices, milk, tea and coffee. A lot of people used this buffet, so it was a hit with other guests too.

The staff at the hotel were great. We mostly saw one young lady at the front desk who had a great smile and a very helpful personality. She is a real asset to the company.

Malmo has some great parks and gardens that are only a couple of city blocks from the hotel. It was beautiful weather while we were there, so a walk in the park was fun. The natives were also enjoying the sun and many adults and children were playing, riding bikes, laying in the sun, walking on the paths and, in general, enjoying the day.

We spent one day exploring Malmo and one day looking over Copenhagen. The train ride back and forth to Copenhagen was so easy. The train ticket machines are in English and they did take our Marriot card (with the pin number).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, family, couples, business, friends. It is easy to find in Malmo and in a good location for parks and restaurants and access to the train.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on Johansgatan because of the noise from the Lily Torg Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marymich55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for your re-view!
Hope to see you back in Malmö real soon and of course you should stay with us at the Renaissance Malmö Hotel.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with very comfortable rooms, wonderful breakfast buffets, and excellent service. Anything missing was quickly and cheerfully supplied. Those desiring social experiences will be delighted with its location in central Malmo. Those appreciating the historic dimension of the city will appreciate its location in Gamla Malmo, the Old Town .... be sure to look for the stone rose in the floor of the foyer. The hotel has used it as an inspiration for much of its decor design - a great idea!
This hotel is a good choice for anyone visiting Malmo, unless you are accessing the city with your own vehicle. The drawback of being in a historic district is that the streets are also historic - narrow, one-way, changing names often and quickly. It is extremely difficult to access by car and that begins the stay at the hotel on a frustrating down note. Parking is remote, but available. If you are arriving by train, plane, or taxi, you will not be disappointed with this choice.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet stay, away from sounds of the energetic night life, explain that when you reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor.

The hotel is indeed in the middle of the "old town", if you are driving here please consider the garage in the hotel, which is the easiest way to park your vehicle.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Master Johan Hotel
#2 of 37 in Malmo
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Quality Hotel View
#4 of 37 in Malmo
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Address: 15 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing