We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good choice in Malmo, Sweden.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Certificate of Excellence
Marne, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“very good choice in Malmo, Sweden.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We chose this hotel because of hotel points that we had available. I was concerned about getting there from the airport in Copenhagen, but that turned out to be no big deal. We had 3 nights before a cruise that we needed a room. I investigated the price of hotels in Copenhagen and was amazed at the cost. We decided to use the points from our Marriot card for this one. It also got us the buffet breakfast every morning.

It was a good choice. We got into the airport at 5 in the afternoon from our overseas flight. We were tired. I easily found the ticket office for the Oresund train and got tickets. Also found out that everything you hear about credit cards needing a pin number is true. Luckily I was able to change some US cash for Danish cash. The train station got Danish cash. It was a 30 minute ride to the Swedish side of the tunnel/bridge. Then it was 3 stops until the center of Malmo.

We started walking in the direction that I thought was Lily Torg and I was correct. We circled the cute little square, pulling our suitcases on the cobblestones, and looking for the Renaissance sign. We finally saw it a little bit down one of the sidestreeets. Checking in was a breeze. Very good English spoken and our Marriot credit card was (of course) good as gold.

Our room was very nice. It was on the second floor overlooking MasterJohansgatan. That turned out to be a very noisy location late at night. There was the thumping bass note from some restaurant on the Lily Torg square until 2 AM. We were so tired that night that we both woke from it, recognized what it was, and then went right back to sleep. It was not there on Thursday night. It was back on Friday night. We slept in spite of it. If you have trouble sleeping, be aware of this.

The buffet breakfast was wonderful. We got complimentary breakfast because we used our points, so I don't know how many kroner it would be. The breakfast had great breads, jams, butter, cold meats, cheese, many cereals, yogurt, scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, juices, milk, tea and coffee. A lot of people used this buffet, so it was a hit with other guests too.

The staff at the hotel were great. We mostly saw one young lady at the front desk who had a great smile and a very helpful personality. She is a real asset to the company.

Malmo has some great parks and gardens that are only a couple of city blocks from the hotel. It was beautiful weather while we were there, so a walk in the park was fun. The natives were also enjoying the sun and many adults and children were playing, riding bikes, laying in the sun, walking on the paths and, in general, enjoying the day.

We spent one day exploring Malmo and one day looking over Copenhagen. The train ride back and forth to Copenhagen was so easy. The train ticket machines are in English and they did take our Marriot card (with the pin number).

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, family, couples, business, friends. It is easy to find in Malmo and in a good location for parks and restaurants and access to the train.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on Johansgatan because of the noise from the Lily Torg Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marymich55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for your re-view!
Hope to see you back in Malmö real soon and of course you should stay with us at the Renaissance Malmö Hotel.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    241
    61
    30
    9
See reviews for
93
341
45
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Simsbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with very comfortable rooms, wonderful breakfast buffets, and excellent service. Anything missing was quickly and cheerfully supplied. Those desiring social experiences will be delighted with its location in central Malmo. Those appreciating the historic dimension of the city will appreciate its location in Gamla Malmo, the Old Town .... be sure to look for the stone rose in the floor of the foyer. The hotel has used it as an inspiration for much of its decor design - a great idea!
This hotel is a good choice for anyone visiting Malmo, unless you are accessing the city with your own vehicle. The drawback of being in a historic district is that the streets are also historic - narrow, one-way, changing names often and quickly. It is extremely difficult to access by car and that begins the stay at the hotel on a frustrating down note. Parking is remote, but available. If you are arriving by train, plane, or taxi, you will not be disappointed with this choice.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet stay, away from sounds of the energetic night life, explain that when you reserv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to rate us on tripadvisor.

The hotel is indeed in the middle of the "old town", if you are driving here please consider the garage in the hotel, which is the easiest way to park your vehicle.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Great location in central Malmo, easy walk to the Central train station and all the major museums and attractions, including the central squares filled with shops and dining options. Comfortable, modern, clean rooms and an incredibly good breakfast service--but perhaps only for free if you're a Marriott platinum client. Fast wireless service. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. The so called premium turndown service is ho hum. Overall, a very friendly, clean and helpful place to stay in the center of a city worth exploration.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thanks for your kind feed-back!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband has been staying in this hotel for business for many months. This was our first time as a family joining him. Absolutely fantastic hotel with great location, lovely decor and rooms. Above all, the staff are wonderful, looking after us all and making our stay so easy. He loves this place and so do we! Totally coming back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Elizabeth,

thanks for your kind words and feed-back, makes me especially happy and proud that our staff made your stay extra memorable.

Looking forward of welcoming you and your family back to Malmö and the Renaissance hotel.

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
377 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Hotel is very trendy, it is a great location, there is a TGI Friday's even in the same building (didn't eat there). The hotel is a mix of traditional and modern Swedish design.

Likes
- Speedy Internet (free to Gold and Platinum members)
- Breakfast buffett
- Decor
- Location

Dislike
- sometimes there is a little bit of street noise, but would stay here again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scherzva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for your kind feed-back, hope you'll stay with us in the near future again!

Greetings from Malmö, Sweden,


Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Spent the wedding night at the Renaissance, and all I can say is "Holy smokes! Awesome!".
Great service, grand rooms, perfect location and great breakfast!

Sorry, I can't really elaborate much more on the stay.. only spent one night there, but would love to stay there more times, without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PontusMadsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for putting one of the nicest reviews of this year! You just gave yourself the best reason to come back to us within the near future!

Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

I only stayed here one night in transit between Copenhagen and Stockholm, but everything about this hotel was great. The rooms are really nice, and the service was great. Also, the morning breakfast layout was very nice. It's a very easy and convenient walk from the train station, and it's located on Lilla Torg, a very nice, trendy square with lots of pubs and hangouts. In addition, it's less than a block from what I would estimate is the best restaurant in Malmo (reviewed elsewhere). This is a great place, and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms either face the interior courtyard (really a landscaped roof) of one of the outside streets. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glamberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jens L, General Manager at Renaissance Malmo Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Greg,
thanks for your kind words, and thanks for giving us the nice rating!


Kind regards,

Mr Jens Lyckman
General Manager
Renaissance Malmö Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malmo hotels
Gamla Staden
Mayfair Hotel Tunneln
Hotel Master Johan
#2 of 38 in Malmo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gamla Staden
Clarion Collection Hotel Temperance
Comfort Hotel Malmo
#10 of 38 in Malmo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Malmo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Malmo Hotel

Property: Renaissance Malmo Hotel
Address: 15 Maester Johansgatan, Malmo 211 21, Sweden
Phone Number:
Location: Sweden > Skane County > Malmo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Malmo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Malmo Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Malmo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing